Journal logo

2023 Resolutions: A hit or a miss

A brand new year with new resolutions

By Veena VijayanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
2023 Resolutions: A hit or a miss
Photo by Planet Volumes on Unsplash

Well, well, well... It is a new year. Like every year I'm made a list of resolutions. Unlike every year, I'm trying to be realistic this year and have put some thought into it.

Here it goes.

    52 Weeks-52 Books:

    I have already posted about the list of books on Vocal. Reading was something that I used to enjoy a lot until I stopped. It used to bring me happiness but I stopped doing so after an incident. But, I decided to get back to reading. In 2022, I read 10 books in 2 months and the joy I got from it was incredible.

    Learn 6/12 skills this year:

    I want to learn a minimum of 6 and a maximum of 12 skills this year. Something that I'm looking forward to. Now, I have decided on 3-4 skills. My criteria when I'm deciding on these skills are they should bring me joy, I should be able to use my skill and earn money and it should be a fun learning experience. Currently, I have decided on learning to play ukulele and learning about photography and video editing.

    Save money & start investing:

    I already started investing with the help of one of my colleagues. I have already set up a SIP. But, I want to learn more about investing and do the investments by myself. The reason being my goals and preferences doesn't necessarily have to be the same for another investor and these have some sort of influence on the selection of asset and how much we invest.

    Stay fit and healthy:

    I was diagnosed with PCOD in 2016. I underwent treatment for 6 months after which my doctor asked me to stop taking the medicines. It did have an impact on my health and it wasn't a positive one. I went for a diagnosis in early 2022 again. I took the medication for a good 6 months and then stopped. This time I decided not to go further with it. This took a toll on my physical and mental health. I gained all the weight that I lost. But now I want to take my life and health seriously. If I'm sick all the time then how am I ever going to achieve any of my dreams? So this year is about getting healthier.

    Start at least 2 passive incomes:

    As much as I love a stable 9-5 job, I learnt the importance of having a passive income. Multiple sources of income are always better than depending on just a single source. During Covid Pandemic, so many lost their jobs and it took a toll on their finances. It did have an impact on my dad's business. The constant stress of not having enough money or barely scraping by could have been avoided by many if they built passive income sources. So, need to start earning passive income.

    Consistent Journaling:

    I started a journal quite young. I always liked the idea of putting all my thoughts and what happened through the day in a book. It was nice way to reflect on my thoughts, ideas and decisions made. Over the years, I was journaling less and less and I could see how it was impacting me too. This year, I want to go back to Journaling consistently and stick to the habit.

    Unlike other years, the list is quite small actually. We mostly make a list of things that we want to do with very less thought put into it. We don't consider the time and effort required to do each of the things and whether we can do it or not either. So, this year I want to do things that help me mentally and grow as a person too.

    Happy Reading!!

    V.

list
Like

About the Creator

Veena Vijayan

A passionate reader with the dream of becoming a writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.