Journal logo

2022: Resilience

Resolution

By Khana S.Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Mt. Trashmore, VA

As 2021 comes to a close, I sit contemplating what 2022 will bring. I sit, as I recover from my mild bout of Covid, and think on what my wants and needs are for the upcoming year. Of course, I’d like to lose the weight that I put on over the last two years. Of course, I have perpetual goals to increase my financial stability. Of course, I want to travel more, see family and friends, have career growth, I want all the things that we all want each year. Yet, as I sit with only one day left in 2021, I think and contemplate my physical health and my mental well-being.

In Early December, I convinced myself to get a head start on my 2022 goals. I told myself, starting anything on January 1st is so cliché and bound to failure – start earlier and you’ll succeed. I did start earlier. I picked my pre-Covid habits back up. For the first three weeks of December, I did my morning Yoga routine, and completed my nightly weight training. I set a schedule for myself and kept to it. Then life happened. We plan, and life happens. I attended a work event on December 14th. On the 20th I received an email, alerting me to the fact that I had been in close contact with someone who had tested positive. By the 24th, I was positive myself. This last week of December has been for resting and healing. I had a lot of time to sit and think. What came to my mind over and over is one word, resilience.

The word resilience holds a lot for me. It is the one word that reminds me this is temporary; tomorrow will be better. It’s the one word that reminds me, no matter the fall, I can pick myself back up. It’s the one word that reminds me, sometimes you need to rest and do nothing at all, to have the energy to do all that you need to do, every day. As I look toward 2022, I will choose resilience.

Resilience will guide me into my goals and allow me to meet them, whether I maintain a daily routine or whether I take some down time and pick myself back up, when I’m good and ready. Resilience will allow me to pick my morning yoga routine back up, once I can breathe through my nose again, that is. Resilience will allow me to go as hard or as mellow within my yoga practice, as I need to. Perhaps one morning it will be a Vinyasa Flow full of sun salutations, and the next will be Yin Yoga with restorative deep stretching. Perhaps my yoga will just encompass meditation on some days and finding my center and breath.

Resilience will allow me to spend a day relaxing with a good book, and know that it’s ok to relax and unwind, that there is no need for guilt to take over. Resilience will allow me to enjoy my downtime and sleep and know that I can pick up where I left off, whether it’s work, chores, a book, a workout, a movie or series, resilience will show that tomorrow will allow for a fresh start. Resilience is going to allow me, to care for me. Resilience is going to allow me to tune in with myself each day and really figure out what it is that I need. Resilience is that five minutes we can take, before we get out of bed in the morning, where we center ourselves, tune in to ourselves, listen to our bodies and minds, meditate - if you will, and find our tune or tone of the day. If I had to choose one thing as my goal for 2022, it will be to be resilient.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Khana S.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.