Interview logo

Why I’m Not Ready to Date a Nigerian Girl - Kayvee

Kayvee gets honest.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

A lot has been said, a lot has been sung about, a lot has been written about Nigerian women. What have we not already heard about Nigerian girls? Which name have they not been called? It seems though that Nigerian girls are a group that people can never ever stop talking about and today the person talking is ex-Big Brother Naija housemate, Kayvee.

Kayvee

In case you've forgotten who he is, Kayvee is the housemate who was famously sent out of the last Big Brother Naija cycle in the middle of the season. Now, he sits down with the people at TVC's Reality Check and when the topic of relationships came up, Kayvee had a lot to say. Here's what happened.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Kayvee on Reality Check

During an appearance on TVC's Reality Check alongside Gulder Ultimate Search's Oreva, Big Brother Naija housemate Kayvee, the hosts, and Oreva were talking about a couple of recent reality TV show moments.

During the segment, the topic of a conversation that happened during the OWN TV show, Ready to Love came on. In an episode of that show, one of the women looking for love named Kamil (42) asked during her date with fellow love hopeful Na'im (40), "how much money do you make? It's over 6 figures right?"

On Ready to Love, Na'im didn't answer Kamil's question as he thought it was inappropriate. Then during Reality Check during a conversation about this clip, Kayvee said:

You know for me, I feel like Nigerian girls expectations are so high. Maybe like 70% of Nigerian girls. I used to tell somebody that I'm financially not ready for having a relationship. There are some expectations like you have to have a car, you have to live so comfortably in a sense. Make I tell you, for Nigeria, e bad. Because of that aspect, you won't be able to get someone that will love you. I've been in several relationships and I've been heartbroken like 2 times and it was about this financial aspect. She wasn't really asking me for anything but she left me for someone that had more than I did at that point. That's why I keep saying Nigerian girls.

The men on the show sided with Kayvee's point while the one woman on the show bantered with him about it asking when he did a survey to confirm that 70% of Nigerian women have high expectations. People reacting to his comments were also divided. Some people said that his statistic wasn't correct and that he was doing too much, while some other people agreed with Kayvee. One commenter under the video wrote: "That's the truth the same thing for me right now..... Nigerian woman sees relationship as marriage you will provide everything for her else she will cheat

What do YOU think? Do you agree with what Kayvee is saying about this? Do you think Nigerian women have way too high expectations? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment on my Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

Celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.