Interview logo

Why Humility Does Not Pay in Nigeria - M.I. Abaga Explains

"E no dey work for here."

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian rapper M.I. Abaga is still undoubtedly one of the best MCs to come out of Nigeria. M.I is not only talented, he's also intelligent and very articulate. Now, the rapper is addressing something that he needs to get off his chest and bring to the public forum for discussion - humility in Nigeria.

Unlike a lot of rappers, M.I is not known for showing off and flashing his money everywhere he goes as seems to be customary with rappers. But now, the rapper is questioning if that is even worth it in a place like Nigeria. I would love to hear your thoughts on this matter as well so without further ado, let's just dive in.

Here is everything M.I said about humility in Nigeria.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

The conversation started on the 19th of January when M.I. tweeted out saying:

Having experimented with Humility for over a decade within these shores I am here to report my findings.

*clears throat*

E no de work for here. Carry your shoulder hop!

After his post on Twitter, M.I was not done talking about the topic of humility. During a conversation he had with The Punch, M.I Abaga was quoted as saying:

Don't be humble. It does not work. How many humble artistes are 'big'? Who are the big artistes and who are the humble ones?

After that, he went again on Twitter to say about the conversation with The Punch and his thoughts on humility:

Still facts..

And isn’t complicated.

In our society wealth and power are treated higher than moral values and integrity.

The cardinal sin here is poverty.. not pride.

After reading his thoughts, a number of people had their own thoughts on what M.I was saying. One person wondered when M.I himself was humble writing, "you were humble?" to which another user said, "He is actually. The few times that I had the opportunity of getting close to him as an entire stranger, he treated me and others with utmost respect. I really adore his level of humility as a superstar. A True Chairman!"

Another user named OdaneOki responding to the issue of humility said, "It's an established fact that, the humble are despised most times. However, humility is more about the inner peace of the humble fellow than whatever spite outsiders mete on him. It's a blessing indeed." Another user named Dike Izu said, "If you are humble for the sake of being paid, it doesn’t work, if you’re humble cos it gives you peace of mind and personal gratification, it works."

I'm interested to know your thoughts on the issue. Personally, I don't know about saying "don't be humble", but it is no lie that Nigeria can sometimes make it difficult for one to be a good person because from what we often see, the good and humble people hardly get respected or rewarded. I agree with the person who said one has to be humble for personal peace of mind and belief not worldly validation. If validation for being good is what one is seeking - Nigeria is not the place for you. I agree with M.I on that.

But those are my thoughts. Now, I would love to know what YOU think about this topic. Please let me know what you think by leaving a comment on my Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

Celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.