Interview logo

Want to hear what Bipolar sounds like?

it's techno, EDM, electronic, underground... at its best!

By mysoundMusicPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Jan Koehler

I am 25 years old and born in Rostock, Germany. I started producing electronic music when I was 13. Later, my style of music was shaped by underground minimal techno parties in my hometown. When I lived in Berlin for 3 years, I was also very much inspired by the techno scene and the people I met unconsciously navigated my style, how I produce and feel the music. Despite my perfectionism, I'm now at the point where I can finally share my music with you guys. Hope you enjoy!

- Jan Koehler

Recently, Jan Koehler released his 1st EP, Symbiosis, featuring the songs: Bipolar, Big Boy, Shirkan Cave, and Cazador.

Below is mysoundMusic's 21 Q&A with Jan.

Q . What 1st drew you to music?

[Jan Koehler] At the age of 10 my mother took me to a piano lesson. Instantly I was in love with music.

Q. Tell us a little bit about yourself. Your (music) background.

[Jan Koehler] I compose music according to my feelings and depending on my mood. I process experiences and store my memories in my music.

Q. Do you have a preferred or chosen genre?

[Jan Koehler] My preferred genre is Techno.

Q. Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

[Jan Koehler] I compose every song by myself.

Q. As a producer, how do you approach a song? do you collaborate?

[Jan Koehler] Sometimes a melody comes randomly into my head and I hum it into my cell phone. Mostly I start playing around with sounds and melodies.

Q. Do you create and release or do you plan each release?

[Jan Koehler] As soon as I feel that the album can no longer be improved, the release is scheduled.

Q. Tell us about your latest song, EP, or album.

[Jan Koehler] 2018 in Berlin, I started with the first song Bipolar. The song is dedicated to a person and at the same time to a major change in my life. All further songs off the EP describe the time from 2018 until now in chapters.

Q. How has the reaction been?

[Jan Koehler] The reaction has been very good and only positive so far.

Q. Do you have any other plans relating to this release? A video?

[Jan Koehler] For the first track Bipolar there is already a music video online:

Q. Do you create music for yourself or for fans?

[Jan Koehler] I create music because its my language to communicate with people and my air to breathe.

Q. Which of your songs is, or do you think would be, fun to perform live?

[Jan Koehler] All

Q. What song do fans seem to favor?

[Jan Koehler] Bipolar

Q. What music do you listen to ‘for fun’?

[Jan Koehler] Music made with the heart.

Q. Are there any musicians who inspire you? What qualities do you admire about them?

[Jan Koehler] Paul Kalkbrenner, he was and is my biggest idol. He lives the music.

Q. What's the craziest thing that has happened to you on a gig, the road, in the studio?

[Jan Koehler] A drunk guest tripped over a cable, destroyed the sound system before my dj started.

😳

Q. Is there an instrument which you would like to learn and why?

[Jan Koehler] Cello because I love the tone color.

Q. If one artist were to perform at your party, who would get the call?

[Jan Koehler] Anfisa Letyago

Q. How do you feel the Internet has impacted sharing your music?

[Jan Koehler] Good so far but I would like to use the internet more efficient.

Q. What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

[Jan Koehler] Spotify

Q. Are you currently working on any projects we should look out for?

[Jan Koehler] My second EP is almost done. Release day will be 22th February 2022

Q. Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say, that I did not address.

[Jan Koehler] Thank you 😊

mysoundMusic will keep music listener's up to date on Jan Koehler's next release.



Musicians
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.