Interview logo

Talking With Kruz Valero from WE TV drama series ‘KOLD x WINDY’

Interview with Venezuelan actress Kruz Valero, talking about her exciting new role solving a murder case.

By FierceScribePublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Kruz Valero (photo by Dwayne Boyd)

This edition of Talking With focuses on Kruz Valero, who portrays the relentless Detective Sandoval in the newest hit WE tv drama series, “Kold x Windy.”

This heart pounding, eight-episode series comes from creators Kenny Young, Phil James, Vernon ‘Xtreme’ Brown, and producer, Lisa Diane Washington.

The storyline follows rising female rap duo, Malika ‘Kold’ Wise (Sh’Kia Augustin) and Renee ‘Windy’6000 Johnson (Nijah Brenea), as they navigate the dangers of the drill music game and the streets in Chicago. Their sisterhood is tested as one yearns for a better life and the other yearns for street credibility.

Kruz steps into the action as the driven, passionate, and yet complex Detective Sandoval to investigate the murder of a young girl caught in the crossfire of the hip hop movement. Throughout the season, the Detective’s persistent drive for justice is both notable and inspiring.

You can also catch Kruz on the groundbreaking Netflix series Orange is the New Black, ABC’s mystery drama Emergence, and CBS’s crime drama The Equalizer. In addition, she emerged alongside Oscar winner Helen Mirren in acclaimed film The Leisure Seeker, the heart wrenching dramatic film A Question of Faith, and gained accolades and awards on the film festival circuit for Made in America.

To learn more, we are Talking With Kruz Valero:

Who is Detective Sandoval in “Kold x Windy”?

Kruz Valero: Detective Sandoval is here to make a difference in the streets of Chicago and put the person who murdered her brother be behind bars.

Kruz Valero and Fred Thomas Jr in WE tv series 'Kold x Windy' (photo courtesy: WE tv)

What helped you the most in bringing this character to life?

KV: My Brother helped me a lot, on the show, my brother died to Drill Music in the streets of Chicago. It hurt me so much that I could not stop this before it happened. After his death I wanted to make a difference and I wanted to find the people who murdered him. I didn’t want any other person to go through what my family and I did.

Where do you start when preparing for a role? And does that change depending on the genre or other factors?

KV: I start preparing for a role by reading all the information, doing research on the show, the genre, the writers, and the producers. I started working on my story and what matters to me as a character on this show. It all depends on the genre from drama to comedy. I can create two completely different characters and factors depending on if it's a feature film, a tv show, a short film.

Why did you want to be part of this show?

KV: Because it had a story that intrigued me. I never heard before of this story taking place in Chicago and girls going through all of this trouble just to make it in this industry. We can all learn and be inspired by people who have dreams about what they want and what they have to do to make things happen in their life. They might get us in trouble but in the end, you know what matters to you in life. When I saw the name of the writers and producers that wrote “Kold x Windy,” I decided I wanted to be part of a special project because they do it for love and it's very inspiring.

What was your favorite moment from working on it?

KV: My favorite moment was meeting everyone a on set, getting to know everyone's story, learning why the universe brought us together on this project, and how we can all make a difference in people's lives. I really loved how different everyone was and how everyone was cast. I loved seeing this process every day I went to set.

Why do you think fans are enjoying these characters so much?

KV: Because I never played a detective in the past, it’s a different character with so much drive and passion, she is always serious and ready to get her job done. My fans and I wanted me to play a detective for years. Now that I am, it feels amazing.

You’ve worked on a lot of high-profile projects; what have you discovered or learned from any of these experiences?

KV: Yes, I've learned to always know my lines, always be creative with my character, and share how I feel as my character. I have also learned to never be afraid to try something new and always trust the process and the people you are working with because creating art is so special and like nothing else.

What inspires you the most creatively?

KV: What inspires me are characters that I never played and look up to, characters that make me feel something. I am also inspired by a story that has never been told, a story that changes people’s lives.

Finally, is there anything else you’d like to share with us?

KV: Yes! I want to inspire people to follow their dreams and know that everything they want is possible.

Connect with Kruz Valero on on Instagram: @KRUZVALERO and Facebook: /KRUZVALERO

Kruz Valero (photo by Brandon Clifton)

Thought LeadersFilmmakersCreatorsCelebritiesActors
Like

About the Creator

FierceScribe

I write about entertainment and the inspiring people who create it. Interviews with actors and filmmakers revealing their latest projects and what influences them creatively.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.