Interview logo

Talking With: Díana Bermudez from Marvel’s “Moon Knight” on Disney+

Interview with actress Díana Bermudez, since her breakout role in the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

By FierceScribePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Actress Díana Bermudez (photographer: Ivan Weiss)

This edition of “Talking With” focuses on actress Díana Bermudez, who portrays the Indigenous Latin American character Yatzil, an Egyptian goddess reincarnated in human form, in the latest Marvel series “Moon Knight” on Disney+.

The series stars Oscar Isaac as Steven Grant, a good-natured man that discovers he has dissociative identity disorder and shares a body with mercenary Marc Spector. In the story, Yatzil agrees to help Marc, believing the accusations against Arthur Harrow (Ethan Hawke).

A proud British Colombian actress, Díana previously appeared in the Sylvester Stallone’s "Rambo: Last Blood," Mindy Kaling's series "Four Weddings and a Funeral" on Hulu, the ITV movie "Karen Carpenter: Goodbye to Love," Erik Poppe’s film "The Emmigrants," and the BBC show "Shakespeare & Hathaway."

To learn more, we are Talking With Díana Bermudez.

Why did you want to be part of the new series “Moon Knight”?

DÍANA: To enter any facet of the Marvel Universe is a huge deal for an actor. I think the most fun you can have as an actor is on a fantasy or science fiction show, as you really get to let your imagination run wild! I love how detailed and expansive the Marvel Universe is, and to be able to be a part of it is really amazing. With “Moon Knight” I was particularly excited to get to work with fellow Latin American actor Oscar Isaac, who’s work I have admired for a long time.

Díana Bermudez and Oscar Isaac in "Moon Knight" (photos courtesy: ©MARVEL/Disney+)

As an actor, what helped you the most in bringing Yatzil to life?

DÍANA: Researching Egyptian mythology was a starting point for me, and then specifically looking into the goddess Hathor. Being the goddess of music and love I knew that Yatzil as her avatar would possess many similar qualities to Hathor, so that became the basis for creating her. The most useful thing that really helped bring her to life however was the set. When I walked onto the epic set which was built for the chamber of the gods, it really made everything sink in.

Where do you start when preparing for a role? And does that change depending on the genre or other factors?

DÍANA: It’s always a very similar process to start off with for me. I figure out who this person is, what she wants and what part she plays in the story. From there it then changes depending on the role, the genre, or if the character has a particularly skill.

How was it acting with Oscar Isaac and Ethan Hawke?

DÍANA: It was an incredible experience. As an actor, I’m always growing and learning from my peers, so being able to work with actors as talented and experienced as Oscar and Ethan was a real gem. I was mesmerized watching them performing together and felt I really didn’t have to do much as they made the scene so real, which meant I was 100% engaged - and that, I feel, is when the best acting happens!

What was your favorite moment from working on the show?

DÍANA: There’s so many favourite moments! I think the first one was when we - the avatars - were first introduced to the set of the chamber of the gods. Marvel is super secretive so we were all only given the scenes we were in, and while there was a small description of the chamber of gods, I don’t think any of us were prepared for what it would actually look like! We thought it would be mainly green screen, so we were shocked and awed when we stepped onto the epic set with its grandeur and such intricate attention to detail.

Were you a Marvel fan prior to booking the role?

DÍANA: I’ve always enjoyed Marvel and followed the films and shows but I wouldn’t call myself a fan. Marvel fans are hardcore!

Why do you think Yatzil is an important character in the Marvel Universe?

DÍANA: In the world of “Moon Knight,” Yatzil is the only avatar to actually listen and want to help Marc Spector. Her goddess Hathor is also the only one to have had a good relationship with Khonshu, who is disparaged by all the other gods. I think it’s a really interesting relationship and alliance. On top of that, being able to channel the power of an Egyptian goddess is quite significant in a universe with so many villains trying to bring everything down!

Any attributes of Yatzil’s that you want to bring into your real-life?

DÍANA: I think that knowing that she has a goddess on her side, and that she can tap into Hathor’s powers makes Yatzil very self-assured and confident, and that’s definitely something I’d like to embody a bit more!

What inspires you the most creatively?

DÍANA: Watching my peers creating and performing really inspires me. Whether that be on a set or on stage, I absolutely love watching other talented creatives at play.

Finally, is there anything else you’d like to share with us?

DÍANA: I feel really honoured and proud to be able to have brought an Indigenous Latin American character to life on a world-renowned stage like Marvel, and I’m really thrilled to be able to represent my culture and community in this way.

Follow on Instagram: @dianabermudez

Díana Bermudez (photographer: Ivan Weiss)

Actors
Like

About the Creator

FierceScribe

I write about entertainment and the inspiring people who create it. Interviews with actors and filmmakers revealing their latest projects and what influences them creatively.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.