Interview logo

Swiss Rapper MLEM is about to release Magic

sharing with listeners the beauty of combining languages through music

By mysoundMusicPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

MLEM is an emerging Swiss rapper who raps in English and his native Swiss-German. He likes to play with words and bringing the language to a wider scene.

MLEM is about to drop his new single called Magic. Magic follows his earlier album release Helvetia Flow.

What 1st drew you to music?

I just like the nice tones and to combine them. even in my birth certificate it already predicted that I'd understand music well! I had a ear rupture and found musical sounds a great way to recalibrate and specify my ears.

What drove me to rap is because I always engaged much in talking and I like to rhyme things, so that was only natural I think. I was inspired by big artists that have made much content in the last years.

Tell us a little bit about yourself. Your (music) background?

Up to now, I produced all my beats on my own and have all my production currently set up on my mobile with some equipment. What has brought me into the Hip-Hop genre is the beauty of language and it has kept me in it since. A spoken word or singing can be much stronger than an instrument in my opinion.

I want to show the world the beauty of the English and the almost undecipherable Swiss-German, which are both great to rap! Swiss-German is an own language and has some words and sayings much older than in German. It uses a broad variety of special vocals and consonants and I hope it's interesting to listen to!

May I ask how you arrived at your artist’s name? Give us the scoop.

I thought of a universal sound to display the thing what happens when you try to speak more words than you can at the moment!

Are you signed to a label, or would you like to be?

No, I haven't found a profitable arrangement or partnership yet. But I'm up for offers, unsure yet if I want to stay alone in the production. If I can collaborate with the beats producing I surely could work under a label. Sometimes, I produced even two songs in one day! (In my head having some setting of course)

Do you have a preferred or chosen music genre?

I personally rap and there are many genres out there. I'm affine to all kinds of music and would be glad to work with people from all genres that sound good to put a voice on it! I also like electronic music fit to dance and would surely enjoy DJ's scratching some of my stuff!

Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

I wrote and produced everything myself so far. I'm up for collabs, if somebody fits well! Looking for a good singer is always a thing on my list!

It looks like you started the year off with a new album called “Helvetia Flow”? Can you tell us a bit about this project?

Sure, I just produced beat after beat, song after song and soon I realized I'd like to make an album out of the first seven! The title tells the tale! I want to use my native language to fit into rapping well, while using English to tell all the audiences, what it is about internationally.

In this album, I focused more about the Swiss-German in most songs and had much fun with the language!

And now you're about to drop a single called “Magic”?

Yes, it's the first single that comes out on Friday, 25th Febuary from the new album which I don't have a definitive name for yet. There are many to follow and I will bring them out in the next months so keep up with my updates on Instagram, Twitter or TikTok!

Magic is inspired by the desire of relative perfection and musical affection, it was fun to make and I hope, you enjoy it!

Do you have any other plans relating to this release? A video?

Yes, I'm planning on releasing a video as well, but the choice on the right format has not fallen yet, as I have never made a real music video yet.

Do you create for yourself or for a fanbase?

I like to create it for myself while being enjoyable music for enthusiastic people and the deeper thinkers.

What is the best song you ever released and why?

I'm not sure! It may be this one because before I shared my music less seriously in the genre. My personal favorite up to now is "Chefmade" I think, because of some fast lines. But I like my songs quite alike, the newer ones that are up to come especially because I changed the way of beat-making to a more personalized one for this album!

What song do fans seem to favor?

I'm not sure. I think it's "Real", because it's more calming than others!

Do you, or would you like to, perform live?

Yes! I know and train all of my songs and can perform most of them quite well. I'm up for gigs, also online streaming gigs if there is request!

Which of your songs is, or do you think would be, fun to perform live?

I think it's "Helvetia Flow", because it's the first rap I've ever wrote! But I think, others and especially the new ones coming, including "Magic" would be great in the future!

Playing live or recording in studio?

Both, I just like to rap and create music!

Do you have a preference… vinyl records, cassettes, CDs, or downloads?

Up to now I've settled in online availability of my music. You can purchase it of iTunes or listen to it on Spotify and it's searchable in many services like TikTok-background music etc.!

What would be your ideal press headline, either now or in the future? In which publication? Why?

"Newcoming rapper from Switzerland shows you the beauty of the native language with its many consonants, fused with English!"

Would you like to travel to other countries to perform your music? If so, what would be your first stop?

Yes, I'd like go visit America or Asia! Wherever there is a huge enough fanbase for me to be able to perform there sure!

What's the craziest thing that has happened to you on a gig, the road, in the studio?

One time I just wanted to record my music and was arrested by the police for a few minutes in handcuffs, because they where searching a friend of mine I've met randomly an hour before!

Is there more to come in 2022 we should look out for?

I produce new music, coming out from 25th of February on and I'm looking forward to reach as many new listeners from all around the world on the way as possible!

Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say, that I did not address.

No, great questions! I hope you enjoy my music and rap aswell and i wish you!

Find MLEM on these platforms:

Spotify: open.spotify.com/artist

iTunes: music.apple.com/ch/album/helvetia-flow

YouTube Music: music.youtube.com/channel

TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMLj7MLXb/

Musicians
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.