Interview logo

"Sugar Free" is Krystal Brown's latest album

featured song: Defective (The Slap House Remix)

By mysoundMusicPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Krystal Brown is a singer/songwriter who creates indie-pop music. She has been writing songs since she was 15 years old and is currently promoting her latest EP "Sugar Free".

Q: How long have you been creating music?

I have been creating music for about 5 years now.

Q: Do you have a preferred genre?

I like dance, pop and world music.

Q: Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

I write all of my own music.

Q: Tell us about your latest song, EP, or album.

"Sugar Free" is my latest album. It is an indie dance album.

The lead single is about someone who portrays someone who they are not... they pretend to be nice and sweet to others but are mean and cold to their family. That's what the song "Sugar Free" is about. I am basically asking the person "why are you putting up this front...why can't you just be who you are and stop pretending to be a nice person when you are not?".

The whole album is a blend of dance and world music. I have a few "lo fi" and hip hop elements as well.

Q: What is the best song you ever released and why?

This is a hard question. I love all of my songs because I crafted them from the beginning like they are my children. But if I had to say, I would say "Defective" (the slap house remix version) is my favorite.

Defective is about me constantly being compared to my absentee father. It was cathartic to write. And I love the slap house remix version because it brings an extra hard hitting element of passion to the song.0

Q: Do you, or would you like to, perform live?

Yes, I would like to perform live. I haven't had the opportunity to because I released my first real album during Covid. But now that things are getting better, perhaps I will have the opportunity to do so in the future.

Q: Which of your songs is, or do you think would be, fun to perform live?

I think the carnival remix version of "Sugar Free" would be awesome to perform live. It could be like a real carnival.

Q: What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

I am on almost all social media platforms. They can follow me anywhere. Here are some links.

Q: Are you currently working on any projects we should look out for?

Not right now. I am focused on promoting "Sugar Free" and giving it the attention I feel it deserves.

When it comes to promotion and publicity, interviews can be one of the most fun and gratifying ways to spread the word about your music — since they're all about your biggest passion: your music!

mysoundMusic is a fresh music blog for music fans to browse, listen & discover new music and add to their playlist. It is also an excellent resource for both emerging and seasoned unsigned & independent musicians.

Be sure to visit mysoundMusic and catch up on all the Artist interviews.

Here is a list of our more recent artist interviews:

Jambow Jane: Pop-Rock

Gionathan: Pop / Funk / R&B

Organa: Funk, Jazz, Pop & Blues, Rock

JD Roan: Acoustic, R&B, Reggae

Orca: Hip-hop

Tony Marino: Jazz, Latin Jazz, World Music

PIKA: Disco, Drill, Exp., Funk, Lo-Fi, Pop, RnB, Trap

with more in the queue:

LIPH.T, TAMWAH, Tiny Music Man, Xtof ft Zara Sykes, masmore, MP Grey, Emmanuel Della Torre, Lumidya, Rafaël Dato

Musicians
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.