Interview logo

Pondering with Rick's If's

My Take on If's

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
11
Love his poem!!!

If I were a rich man (woman or person)

Health (physical/mental/spiritual). That would be my first priority for my family. Then education. Then we would pool all that knowledge together and reach out to help others.

If I could fly

I would do that often when life below got a little too crazy, a little too loud, or I wanted to get closer to God. Looking down from above makes below seem bearable and orderly.

If I were a dog

I think I'd want to be a wild one. I would want to live free and become part of a pack that took care of their own. There are no pretenders amongst them. Everyone has a role and they learn to survive. (see Jack London's works, please, as my influence)

If I were the moon

I would bring more love and less craziness in my shine. As every nurse has learned to be true and come to respect, death comes in threes, and all the crazies come out on a full moon.

If I were the king (queen or ruler)

I would have to be strong enough to make hard and unpopular decisions, but I would be fair. I would surround myself with diversity but make up my own mind. I would not self-doubt, but learn from my mistakes.

If I could be at two places at one time

I would be in the clouds looking down and you would also find me looking up at the Northern Lights in full blown color cascades.

If I were a car

I would be a jeep bopping around the plains of Africa or Australia and finding myself in awe of God's creations.

If I was money

I would come with a warning label. "If you love me you are in danger of losing your soul."

If I were a painting

I would be modern, bright, and blue...with splashes of every other color that doesn't cause discord with blue. I would make you think of waves that tickle and are gentle. But somehow you would still know that those waves could be forceful enough to take you under and drown you just the same.

If I were to go insane

I would pray it wasn't criminally insane.

If I were the President

I would uphold the Constitution of the United States and serve my people with honor and fairness.

If I were a good man (woman, person)

I would read my Bible daily and then live by that teaching daily, as well.

WoW! RHC you made me think and get to know myself a little better. This year I will strive to be a better woman. I have always loved Rudyard Kipling's poem and advice to his son. He is someone from past or present I would love to have dinner with and discussion, but with whom I probably would have very little to offer in return. My input would be more of the "If ifs and buts were cakes and nuts, then..." type of worldly wisdom. There would have to be others at the dinner table so I could escape the disparity I would find myself in. Maybe that would include Jesus, Jack London, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Vincent Van Gogh, Patrick Henry, Peter, the disciple of Jesus because although he cussed a lot and was a coward, Jesus saw beyond that in him and called him a "rock." Maybe Peter would help me gain my composure and enjoy the dinner.

Thought LeadersHumanityHeroes
11

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    What lovely idea! What a wonderful thing to share, and a fun way to self reflect

  • Back again... Kipling's poem is so powerful. I just reread your Pondering with Rick's IFs... I can't choose a favourite answer, they are all so good. If I was money "I would come with a warning label. "If you love me you are in danger of losing your soul."... so true!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Ah now, this is beautiful Shirley! Very you. From the little I know of you. Very pragmatic at times with some answers, but also lots of heart and soul. I also loved that you mentioned Peter as being a dinner guest you've like to have. Peter and David are the most flawed, Paul too, but also were very much loved, despite their flaws. Well done for taking part in this...I loved the looking up and looking down thing too and flying when the world gets too crazy!

  • My favourite was your answer for if you could be at two places at once! I enjoyed reading this!

  • This was wonderful Shirley!!! Each time I read something you write I come to respect you just a little more. I like the part about the painting... That you would be modern, bright, and blue with splashes of every other color. I like that you included every other color along with your prime color of blue.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    This is on my wall, many years now. My favorite poem. Very altruistic values here. Good work.

  • Great job, Shirley... I just read Rick's 'If'... and was tempted to have a crack at answering his questions. "If I were a car... I would be a jeep bopping around the plains of Africa or Australia and finding myself in awe of God's creations." Great thought... I too would love to travel in Africa... and as I live in Australia I've been blessed by seeing some of God's awesome creation in this part of the world. Wonderful conclusion: "If I were a good man (woman, person)... I would read my Bible daily and then live by that teaching daily, as well."

  • Test4 months ago

    I love Kipling's poem. It's been a bit of a guiding force. I really enjoyed reading your 'Ifs' I was contemplating them myself but then got distracted by your notification. the idea of looking up and down at the same time is a beautiful concept. Happy New Year to you Shirley, I hope it brings you what you need 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.