Interview logo

"One Million" Muse(s): Ft. Miriam

Interview//Conversation// Muse 002

By Isabella D'AlessandroPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 6 min read
1

Project Description: “One Million” Muse(s)

This project is a series of conversations/interviews, released once a week, (Mondays) highlighting people in my life who inspire me. In each exploration, I will dive into specially curated questions for each of my muses. We will investigate a wide variety of topics including: sexuality, self-care, personal characteristics, styles, art, music and more. While having a moment to relish in my own curiosity, I hope to highlight the unique qualities of each of my muses – invite conversation based on similarities, and eliminate being overly critical of oneself.

:: Introducing Miriam

2017 - Go Bears

It was a transitional time in my life, I had just transferred to UC Berkeley, my dream school, to pursue my Landscape Architecture degree. My first landscape studio experience was nontypical– we all waited around for our professor to (not) show up*.

All of us stood around awkwardly, tense, trying to reconnect/meet new people. So, I scanned the room in search of potential friends. As my eyes glazed around the studio, I saw many wonderful young women, but my eyes landed directly on Miriam. She had brown curly hair, dark eyebrows and features, she was stunning! As I start to gesture towards her, she calls for everyone’s attention– “shit, of course, I am trying to befriend the teacher" haha…

Miriam, was a graduate student instructor or GSI, she would work alongside my studio professors while providing guidance to us undergrads. Miriam provided words of wisdom and inspiration; yet, kept it so real by giving us the tea on the industry, what we should look out for etcetera. Over the next two years she served as an integral part of my educational experience. Day after day, I would admire her dedication, drive and let’s be honest her really cool outfits, haha. Not only was she completing her Masters in Landscape Architecture but she was offering a substantial amount of support.This included: hosting office hours to further explore various students' studio concepts, participating in mid-term and final reviews all while delivering her own deadlines– it was, to say the least, incredible.

I am not sure where our friendship outside of school first started, but, I am positive it was over a hot cup of coffee (ya girl loves coffee). As I began to weave together pieces of Miriam, I continue(d) to be fascinated by her charm AND secondly, her ability to pair Converse sneakers with any outfit, a serious skill in my book.

Miriam:: is a woman of action. Someone who is constantly creating and deeply evaluating each unique outcome as it presents itself. She is extremely ambitious from her educational endeavors to her powerful career pivot. She moved on from the Landscape world and found her way to UX/UI. She is vulnerable, original, powerful, passionate and committed + effortlessly cool. Miriam has pushed me to be a better designer and constantly challenge the outcome to my own story.

*our professor didn’t show up the first day of school and left our GSI, Miriam to deliver the news. It was actually quite anticlimactic and funny. He also decided to purposely fail many students because he didn’t feel like giving out good grades to everyone… but that’s another story.

Muse 002: Miriam

Muse: Miriam

Interview Date: 28 November 2022

Location: Snow White Cafe

Miriam and her cool tulip flowers earrings

Q: State your name and your preferred nickname:

“ My name is Miriam and I don’t have a nickname! I just go by Miriam...

I don’t have a nickname even with my parents and I don’t have a middle name either. My cousin, when she was very young, couldn’t pronounce my name, so she called me “Mimi”, that stuck around for a bit, but now, no one calls me that.”

Q: Do you feel like you missed out on not having a nickname?

“No! I like my name, I feel like it is a pretty “unique” name. I guess it’s not very unique in the hispanic world, like it is super common in Mexico. But being here in the United States, people seem to always be surprised by my name.”

Q: Do you know your favorite art style and how it has influenced some of your work?

“I don’t think I particularly have a favorite art style, I like to go with the flow and actually, my emotions lead my art. I will say that I always approach my work with three words in mind. These words are:

Minimal – because less is more.

Empathetic – I like to consider the people who are going to be looking at my work.

Whimsical – something that will evoke joy to whoever experiences it.

But of course this changes depending on how I feel. I also want to note, that I wouldn’t say I am very minimal, I just like to draw certain principles from that style of design”

Q: Could you describe how those principles of design have influenced your personal work for your jewelry business?

Terra Arte Studio

“Yeah! I think when it comes to jewelry, I use color to introduce a more whimsical aspect. When it comes to actual shapes and styles that’s where I like to be more minimal with the introduction of clean lines. Even if it’s waves or something more abstract, I prefer it to be more minimal so the color really enhances the character. It might not be described as minimal looking at the jewelry itself, but, it is the concept and idea that come together to create a very distinct form…

And because it is jewelry, I want it to be a personality! Jewelry represents us in a very different way than clothes do. Your outfit can be very simple and your jewelry can be extravagant or large, and that, to me, is a very different way of expressing yourself.

When you think of jewelry, you think of silver, gold, and or some precious metals, but I wanted to ask the question, “how do you make jewelry more fun?” Instead of wearing your typical gold hoops, I think it could be fun to add something more decorative to a party or event. I am excited to be a part of that experience.”

LINK TO TERRA ART STUDIO: Check out Fun Jewelry !

shop Terra Arte studio || Fun objects to complement your personality

Q: Favorite song // song on repeat? *cue the dance break

“I’ve been listening to Ocean Alley, they are modern indie music and I have “Feel” on repeat. Feel by Ocean Alley

My favorite song right now is: No Me Conoce by Jhayco

Q: When you feel like the world is really fucked up and you are pissed about it, what do you do to regain your power?

“ I like to go through my photos, I like to remind myself of the good times. There are photos that I forgot even existed. Some of them are silly, and I like to relive that moment. Going back through those images reminds me that good days exist and it’s ok to have a bad day… Either that, or i’ll go work out haha”

Q: If your younger self were to see you now, what would she think?

Young Miriam

“You know, I’ve always thought about that, I think she would be very happy to know that I am not the person I thought I was going to be, for the better. I think younger me was expecting to have a job, get married and go about life in the very traditional sense. But I am not doing that, and I am enjoying myself.”

To Miriam: Thank you so much for participating in this project, I truly enjoyed having this conversation/ interview with you. I am so honored to call you my friend. I hope you enjoy your moment in the spotlight. XO

Creators
1

About the Creator

Isabella D'Alessandro

I am a curious individual writing about incredible people & experiences. In the process of learning, growing and exploring myself and the relationships around me, I hope to inspire and evoke feelings of curiosity amongst my readers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.