Interview logo

North Carolina Native Launches Independent Record Label, We In Action Entertainment to Support Rising Artists

DerriQ J Is On The Mission To Put NC Talent On The Map

By Tammy ReesePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

“Lights, Camera, Action.” It’s a phrase frequently repeated by film crew members, but this saying is taking on a whole new meaning. Jordan King, also known as DerriQ, is the founder and CEO of We In Action (WIA) Entertainment, an independent record label based in Greensboro, NC. Launched on November 24th, 2020, WIA helps promote and market artists to reach their maximum potential.

Part of the company plan is to become one of the leading record labels in North Carolina and compete with entertainment business leaders in the United States and on the global stage. Growing up in a church-raised home with his grandmother, DerriQ was 3 years old when he first found his love for music when introduced to the drums at church. "Sometimes, I think about that little boy on the back of the church pews with broken-off fan handles and using them as drumsticks," DerriQ said. "I knew right then I would be a drummer. But I never imagined having my label." 

The goal of WIA is to work in tandem with established and upcoming artists. The label wants to support independent artists who seek to make their dreams a reality. WIA offers exceptional services from a highly experienced team of producers, engineers, photographers, and videographers to help artists climb up the ladder of success. 

"We will exceed our clients' expectations whenever they contract with our label and will fulfill their musical needs," DerriQ said. "At We In Action Ent., we live by our values A.C.T.I.O.N- Accomplishments, Community, Trustworthiness, Innovation, Opportunity, Networking, and our organizational motto, 'Always Forward, Never Backwards.' We give you that musically inclined feel, high-quality videos, confidence, and satisfaction at all times by the protection of our resources."

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Please tell us about yourself and the work that you do?

DerriQ: My name is Jordan King, also known as DerriQ. I am a US Army veteran from Kinston, NC, and I graduated from NC A&T in 2014 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in music. I own an independent record label that focuses on developing artists in North Carolina and making their dreams a reality.

In what ways do you use your resources to empower others?

DerriQ: I use my resources to support artists by providing the best audio engineers, photographers, songwriters, voice coaches, and videographers.

What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

DerriQ: I met Pierre "P" Thomas, the CEO of Quality Control Music Group, on Sept. 11 on my way to Lil Baby's concert in Charlotte. I told him about my label and how I loved what he was doing for QC. I also shared that he was one of my biggest inspirations and that we would meet again soon.

What was your childhood like?

DerriQ: I grew up as an only child in a single-parent household during the early '90s and lived in several hoods located in Kinston, NC, with my mother. My father was incarcerated for the first few years of my life. I remember going to my fraternal grandmother's house every weekend. I always looked forward to it because that's where I spent most of my time hanging out with friends in the neighborhood. I went to church every single Sunday with my grandma, and that's where I found my love for drums.

What services do you provide?

DerriQ: We In Action Entertainment offers management, recording studios, photographers, and videographers for artists. We have everything you need to help take your career to the next level. We don't only build artists; we build brands.

What is a quote that you live by?

DerriQ: "All a man has is his word…" is a quote my father told me at a very young age, and I have lived by it ever since. Another quote I live by is "See it Through," a poem written by Edgar A. Guest. The title is mentioned throughout the poem to remind readers to never give up.

What are you currently working on?

DerriQ: First and foremost, we're always working with independent artists by helping them build their brands.

We have a couple of community service projects coming soon. On Nov. 25, we are delivering dinners to homeless shelters in Greensboro and Kinston, NC. On Dec. 1, we will kick off our winter clothes drive in Greensboro.

What else would you like our readers to know about you?

DerriQ: We provide opportunities for freelance creatives to work with many artists. If you are a creator and would like to join a community that offers many networking opportunities, contact us at [email protected].

To learn more about updates and see what WIA has in the works, visit the company's website and DerriQ's page. Additional information about WIA is available on the label's social media platforms and check out the label's upcoming artist Shamika Chantaè.

Keep up-to-date:

Instagram: @weinactionent

Facebook: We In Action Ent.

YouTube: We In Action Ent

Web: www.weinactionent.com

About DerriQ:

Jordan King, nicknamed DerriQ J, is a native of Kinston, North Carolina. DerriQ is the founder and CEO of We In Action Entertainment. He's been in the music industry for over 25 years. In his tenure, he received his Bachelor of Arts from North Carolina A&T State University. DerriQ was a member of Cold Steel, NC A&T Blue and Gold Marching Machine's drumline, and currently a life member of Kappa Kappa Psi National Honorary Band Fraternity Inc.

Creators
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.