Interview logo

My experience as a sikh woman

Most beautiful religion

By DevilherePublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Way of life

W

M

0

9

B

Disclaimer: I'm nobody to educate anybody. I'm simply articulating my thoughts and voicing my manner of thinking. That being said, appreciate and compose back to me about your viewpoints!

Dear siblings,

Brought up in India, I come from what I feel, is a standard Sikh family. Since when I can recall, each prior day going to class, my father had us sit with him and do Nitnem of 5 baanis. I was instructed that doing way implied that Vaheguruji favored me with astounding things like dresses, toys, and chocolates and accordingly, I strictly did the morning supplications with my father. In case I knew, he was setting me up for later days; his examples would eventually assist me with having my existence.

Subsequent to finishing my undergrad in India, I moved to the US for graduate school, where I finished my Ph.D in the field of Bioengineering. At the point when I moved to the US, I understood nobody realized I was a Sikh young lady; I was only an ordinary "earthy colored shaded Indian young lady" and individuals normally thought I was Hindu. Nothing bad can really be said about that, in any case, I recognize myself as a Sikh and needed to be known as a Sikh. All things considered, young ladies as a rule don't wear turbans like our kindred Sikh men. By and by, I feel there is no personality of a Sikh lady. On the off chance that I am strolling in swarm, I don't stand apart as a Sikh lady, then again my kindred Sikh siblings champion for their brilliant shaded turbans and valiantly streaming whiskers. I was going through kind of personality emergency. I pondered, "What can recognize me as a Sikh?" The response to my inquiry was "Tie a turban". In any case, me being a quitter, I concluded I would begin covering my head with handkerchief from the outset. Then in the end to be more "ladylike" I began to utilize printed scarves to match my dresses and shirts. It gave me some of solace. For instance, when I put my scarf on head and pin it, it takes me through the psychological course of figuring out the significance of covering my head. It continually helps me to remember the commitment I make ordinarily to be modest, honest, cherishing, mindful, helping, striving to have an effect on the planet… … . every one of the standards which my Master shows me through his astonishing baani.

I'm composing my contemplations as they are emerging, so you might feel, I'm out of control. However, isn't that our life? One second I am contemplating my school or my schoolwork and next, I'm pondering last time I did kirtan. Then, at that point, I'm thinking, "I couldn't want anything more than to become familiar with another dance structure!" or "What I will make for supper?" and afterward to considering on Gurbani. My considerations are out of control

At any rate, my other experience I couldn't want anything more than to share is, my encounters at Camp Gian in 2012 and 2013: seven days of astonishing tomfoolery and finding out (about my Master). I would agree that my point of view of Sikhi is consistently developing in the wake of being at Camp Gian. First time in 2012, I was simply one more camper sitting in classes and conversations to widen my point of view. At the point when I say widening my viewpoint, I mean at first being a Sikh for me implied I was doing my Nitnem, perusing gurbani routinely from the Master Granth Sahib, learning kirtan, going to gurudwara and do seva. Furthermore, many will say, "OK, that being a Sikh is." In any case, presently I accept, assuming I do my Nitnem consistently, however don't in any event, attempting to comprehend everything my Master is saying to me through the Bani, there isn't exactly a mark of indiscriminately doing my Nitnem. I have discovered that every one of my activities in this living thing need to make them mean and helpfulness to me or my local area or the world. Thus, presently when I'm doing Nitnem, on the off chance that I could comprehend the significance of one expression or line, I think "I did approve for that movement". Be that as it may, at some point assuming that I neglect to comprehend, it doesn't mean I ought to quit doing my Nitnem, it simply implies I'll attempt to improve tomorrow.

Another viewpoint I'm attempting to consolidate in my life is to being modest. Presently it's extremely simple for me to say, that I am attempting to be unassuming, yet I can't do this is one day. Being unassuming means I have no self image (that is my definition or way of being humble=no self image). I'm still in process, I'm continually gaining from my family, companions and climate. For example, this demonstration of composing a letter to the perusers of Kaur Life, is approach to pondering and exhibiting my deficiencies (in light of my perspective). I will proceed to attempt to deal with my self, so I could be only 1% of what my Master is. I could proceed to endlessly compose… ..yet I believe its as of now been a lot about me.

Benevolently give me your criticism, so I can keep on learning (SIKH).

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.