Interview logo

Monti Kelly—Ceo of 6 figure business “Flavor Beauty Bar”

Monti Kelly—Ceo of 6 figure business “Flavor Beauty Bar”

By Jason James Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your name, where are you from?

My name is Monti Kelly, I’m originally from Vallejo, California. Born and raised. I moved to Atlanta, Georgia in 2016.

Also tell us a little about your background?

My professional background is the medical field. I worked in the surgery field for 5 years before becoming an entrepreneur. When I stopped working in 2015 to chase my dreams to become a full-time entrepreneur, I prayed that would be my last job, as I knew I wanted more fulfillment for my life. Having my own business is something that I always wanted to do. I knew once I invested in myself that everything would eventually work out.

What’s the name of your business?

My business is called Flavor Beauty Bar, however, we operate under the name Laser Flavor. I currently have two locations, one in Atlanta, Georgia and another location in Marietta, Georgia.

How does your business help people?

Laser Flavor helps men and women become more confident by removing unwanted hair. To some, people may think removing unwanted hair may not be a big deal, but a lot of my clients have told me that Laser Flavor has changed their life. We service clients with a variety of needs. I have clients that suffer from ingrown hairs, hormonal issues - like PCOS, which is a condition that can cause a woman to grow facial hair, and clients that are transitioning and have to get hair removed in certain areas in order to get gender reassignment surgery. And then, of course - I also have clients that simply desire to be hair free. When I got into the laser hair removal industry, there was a lack of representation for people of color. I wanted to let people of color know that it is safe for them to get Laser hair removal and there’s machines that will work great for your skin type - machines specially curated for us!

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In five years, I see myself with multiple Laser Flavor locations all over the United States. My goal is to open, at minimum, 2 locations a year. I also see myself educating people all over the United States on effectively treating people of color and safely operating laser hair removal machines. Since laser hasn't always worked well for people of color, there is a high demand for that education.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

Everything I want to accomplish in life, I’m actually doing - I want to make all services inclusive regardless of skin type, texture or color. I want to make sure that when people of color go and get treatments, like facials and Laser hair removal, that professionals are using the right machines and the right products for our skin type.

What are some challenges that you’ve had to face in your personal life & business life?

I think my biggest challenge that I’ve had to face in my business life is hiring people. People love me, and they are addicted to my personality. I’m very personable, trustworthy, and make everyone feel so comfortable. Clients love to get serviced by me, so while I’m transitioning to becoming more of a business owner, it’s hard to get people that are passionate like me! If I could make clones of me, I would! Just so I can make sure Laser Flavor is running exactly how I want it to and that my clients are always happy. Right now, I have a great team, but it took me a while to get this great team. As I grow, I know I’m going to have to continue to find the best of the best!

What do you want to be remembered by?

When it comes to laser hair removal, I want Laser Flavor to be the first company that comes to mind. I want to be remembered as the person that came in and changed the game! A nationally known and Black owned laser hair removal facility, continually raising the bar for the best results and an individually curated customer experience!

@Montimaa @LaserFlavorUsa

www.LaserFlavor.com

Celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.