Interview logo

Menna is a talented singer-songwriter with a powerful message.

tapping into the power of music, art, and lyrics.

By mysoundMusicPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
photo credit Betsy Phillips

Independent singer-songwriter Menna announces the release of ‘Hurt You’, a song of protest to condemn and satirize the love of guns. Written from the perspective of a gun, the single of the Austinite-turned-Nashvillian artist aims to join the fight against the surging gun and domestic violence in the United States by dchanneling and tapping into the power of music, art, and lyrics.

Q. Do you come from a musical family?

[Menna] Definitely yes. My grandfather on my mom’s side was a jazz pianist, sax player, and arranged big band music. My grandmother on my mom’s side was a music teacher. My dad plays classical guitar. When I was a kid my parents always had jams in the garage, either rock or jazz. Our family sings around the piano at Christmas every year.

Q. What is it about music that makes you feel passionate?

[Menna] I think my favorite thing about music is that it is a language where if you don’t technically speak it, you can still understand it. Even if you can’t carry a tune in a bucket the chord progression, melody, and lyrics of “God Only Knows” will still bring a tear to your eyes. Music carries the language of the spirit and it literally saves lives. That gets me giddy.

Q. Do you have a preferred or chosen genre?

[Menna] I love pop hooks and folk lyrics. Naturally what tends to come out of me has an R&B influenced sensibility.

Q. Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

[Menna] Both. I write and co-write my own music.

Q. Tell us about your latest song, EP, or album.

I wrote Hurt You on a dark day as the world reeled from yet another mass shooting. The immediate defense of, and obsession with, guns screamed for attention.

Together with Ryan Creamer and Jessica Sharman, we gave a cold piece of metal a voice. To me, it’s a glaring example of the feigned respect and adoration for the feminine body. Yet, the core of this pseudo-chivalric love is objectification and ownership. This also ties into the vixen archetype, framing women and their bodies as inherently evil. The gun is this unapologetic seductress you love for her power but hate for her heartlessness. She’s made of red flags but remains confident and unbothered. She knows you’ll keep ignoring the warnings, wanting her thrills, adding to her body count.

Q. How has the reaction to your latest release been?

[Menna] I feel like it is a slow burn as the subject matter resonates with people, especially upon hearing the lyrics over a few times. I’ve been really happy with how it has connected with people, so far.

Q. Do you have any other plans relating to this release? A video?

[Menna] I shot a video, directed by JT McCreery in Nashville, and it is out now. I’m really excited for the visuals we created for it.

Q. Playing live or recording in studio? Do you have a preference?

[Menna] I am so fully at home in a studio, but for me it feels like stage is the final frontier, and I can’t wait to play more live shows. There is no better feeling than singing your first few notes and the club going dead silent. In that moment, I love leading people through a bunch of different emotions they didn’t expect from this random artist they just met.

Q. Which of your songs is, or do you think would be, fun to perform live?

[Menna] “Hurt You” is really fun, especially because I have two BGV’s that perform with me. I’ve arranged vocal parts for the live show that aren’t on the record, and the audience always loses their shit, to be honest, lol.

Q. What song do fans seem to favor?

[Menna] “Wanname” is everyone’s favorite, because it is so easy to internalize. You don’t think of me as the singer, but you think of yourself, the listener, as the main character. That was absolutely my intention when I wrote it and it makes me happy for others to feel empowered by the mantra.

Q. Have you ever dealt with performance anxiety?

[Menna] Yeamusich, I’m pretty much just low-key stressed for a week leading up to any show. I’m a perfectionist so even though it always goes great, I fear failure.

Q. What do you enjoy most about being a musician? Is there anything you dislike?

[Menna] I love connecting with people, both musically and individually, you know? But…. I absolutely despise social media salesmanship, and I think the “necessity” of it is the industry-at-large being lazy at the expense of art.

Q. What music do you listen to ‘for fun’?

[Menna] I mostly listen to non-lyrical ambient bands like Hammock on headphones because my mind is always racing and I try to slow it down. I also love artists like Still Woozy, Leon Bridges, and Bon Iver.

Q. Are there any musicians who inspire you? What qualities do you admire about them?

[Menna] I wonder what would make Joni Mitchell proud. I aspire to be half the lyricist she is, so lyrically, Joni Mitchell. Spiritually, India Arie; I think what’s cool about her is that she’s so sexy and sings about relationships but not at the expense of her femininity. My influence atmospherically is Coldplay. For the last several albums, Coldplay has been writing with the end consumer experience in mind. Some might not think this is artsy, but it is so considerate and thoughtful when it comes to the art we share.

Q. What's the craziest thing that has happened to you on a gig, the road, in the studio?

[Menna] I sang a Christmas show for the women in the Tennessee Women’s Prison. It was insane, it brought them so much joy. They were dancing and cheering; it was crazy and the most rewarding show I’ve ever played.

Q. Is there an instrument which you would like to learn and why?

[Menna] I write on piano, and I don’t have the fingers and speed for any stringed instruments. I’d love to get more zithers, but I’m not in any hurry.

Q. If one artist were to perform at your party, who would get the call?

[Menna] Jon Bellion.

Q. How do you feel the Internet has impacted sharing your music?

[Menna] It’s the only world I’ve known, so I can’t say what it would be like without it.

Q. What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

[Menna] I love DM’s and tweets, but following me on Spotify or Apple Music, saving and adding my music to playlists is my love language. Hit me up @mennanation on Instagram and Twitter.

Q. Are you currently working on any projects we should look out for?

[Menna] I’m releasing a lot of new music in 2022, so follow me wherever you listen to music and be first to get notified. I filmed an insane music video for “Smoke Signals” which will be released with the song on January 7, 2022.

Q. Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say, that I did not address.

[Menna] If you have any good friends in sync or know any music supervisors for Film/TV, send them my way! Thanks for the interview, I loved the questions!

Musicians
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.