Interview logo

Interview With Quick Rising Artist FROSTisRAD on the Radar

Everything you need to know about FROSTisRAD.

By Honk MagazinePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

we’d like to introduce you to FROSTisRAD — an alternative artist in Metro Detroit that has recently gone viral online for its hit song, “Mclovin/ the ugly one”. Since its release, the track has been recognized by several highly-regarded blogs, such as Honk Magazine. He seeks to positively influence the world and connect with like-minded individuals through his music. FROSTisRAD is no doubt, well on his way to becoming one of the most phenomenal musicians in this generation.

Hi FROSTisRAD, How did you come by your stage name?

The name just found me, people always told me I was a cool dude, and eventually, people just started calling me Frost. I’ve always been on some radical shit doing everything slightly different than everyone around me. I really have a radical way of thinking m. So I guess the name just expresses to everyone that I am a cool-ass radical.

When did you discover your love for your craft and what made you realize you wanted to pursue a career in it?

I started rapping in 9th grade but, I really fell in love with making music around the 10th grade. I met the homie Duc and I swear we made at least a thousand songs that year. Since then I always knew this was something I’ll always be doing. I also have always had a strong love for visual art and shot a lot of shorts and music videos to learn the ends and outs so I could produce my own content.

To what or whom do you accredit your sense of style?

As far as my sense of style goes I guess I pull inspiration from all over, my mom always kept me in the best clothes, she loves to shop I actually owe her a Gucci bag haha! Mom if you reading this I got you lol, my Dad is into Versace, and big designers like that he dresses like he’s the Don, you know like in those gangster flicks. Im more into Japanese denim, flannels, hoodies, and work pants. I have all my work pants tailored to stop slightly above the ankle so you can see my socks. My socks are always special I guess I got that from Michael Jackson haha. I love to wear bandaids with my favorite characters on them too. My Dad always says I should dress more like him, maybe in a movie I will one day haha.

On your current project, how did you come up with the concept?

I typically just relate to whatever is happening in my life or how I feel. So what we’ve been doing lately is I link up with Mando and Antonio, we chill kinda just kick it for a few. Then start playing, sometimes ill start with a melody I’ve been working on or some lyrics sometimes Mando will just start playing riffs and sometimes Antonio will come through with the vibes. It's all very organic and comes from a fun place. I have been going through a change in my life from being a dude that worked a 9-5 that he absolutely hated for years, building a business in my spare time, and working on music on any extra time given. To transitioning from that 9-5, yea they finally fired my ass (You wouldn’t believe how hard it is to get fired), to doing music and art direction full time. The ups and downs of being free and the stress of providing for a family without any financial backing other than what I bring in from my art. So there’s a lot of emotion and life lessons in the new music.

What are some of your greatest challenges, and what is your greatest attribute when it comes to your work ethic?

Believe it or not, just getting started on things can be a challenge, and finishing them. I get so many ideas that I want to work on so many different things all the time, the hardest thing for me is to just FOCUS on the thing that is right in front of me. Im working on it haha. I’d say the greatest attribute from my work ethic is I never give up if I say I’m gonna do it eventually. And most important I learn from each day, I always take time and contemplate on what I could have done better and what I did well on.

Are you the best at what you do in your opinion?

Easily, there’s no one else like me... And if there was, what's better than the real thing?

What are your plans for the near future?

Tour is definitely next on the list of things, Jesse has already locked down a couple of venues now we are just selecting the other acts we want to perform with us, I definitely want to travel with my family, I’ve written a couple of short films that we will be shooting over the summer, so that’s exciting too. And of course new music with the band AVCLUBisNOTaCULT and more music videos. Oh, yea, and we are working on a really cool show that will be based in Detroit!

Is there anyone you’d like to thank, any shout-outs?

There are always people I want to thank I’m forever grateful, I always want to thank my wife we the dream team, shoutout to AVCLUBisNOTaCULT (Mando, Antonio, VA), my big bro Fast Cash aka Cal, shoutout to my whole team our videos are fire, shout out to Jesse, shout out to Radium Records and Adot, I could go on forever.

How can fans find you?

Say FROSTisRAD three times while staring at the moon or just Google me, or type in FROSTisRAD on any platform.

Musicians
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.