Interview logo

Interview with NYC Photographer Adina Shurkin

Adina Shurkin is a visual media artist specializing in adventure, travel, wildlife, and commercial photography.

By Adina ShurkinPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Interview with NYC Photographer Adina Shurkin
Photo by Dollar Gill on Unsplash

Adina Shurkin is a talented photographer whose work has been featured in numerous exhibitions and publications. She is known for her ability to capture the beauty and essence of her subjects, whether they are landscapes, people, or animals.

It is said that home is where the heart is. New York City happens to be this place for acclaimed landscape photographer Adina Shurkin. In spite of her extensive travels, this intrepid explorer returns home often to capture the raw beauty of her homeland in all of its splendor. In these days, her goal is to share her deep knowledge of photography with others and bring these celebrated landscapes to the world.

She has established herself as a leader in the field of education workshops aimed at photographers seeking to improve their skills while immersing themselves in the extraordinary beauty of NYC. We had the chance to talk with her about how she got started in photography, what inspires her work, what it's like to run a photography business, and her future plans for photography. In this interview, Adina Shurkin shares her insights on photography and the creative process.

Q: How did you get started in photography?

Adina Shurkin: I’ve always had an interest in art and photography, but it wasn’t until I took a photography class in college that I really fell in love with it. I loved the way that photography allowed me to capture a moment in time and preserve it forever.

Q: What is your favorite type of photography to shoot?

Adina Shurkin: I love all types of photography, but I’m particularly drawn to landscape and nature photography. There’s something so calming and peaceful about being out in nature and capturing its beauty through my camera lens.

Q: How do you approach a new photography project?

Adina Shurkin: Every project is different, but I always start by doing my research and getting to know my subject as much as possible. Whether it’s a landscape or a person, I try to understand what makes it unique and how I can best capture its essence in my photos.

Q: What is your favorite photograph that you’ve taken and why?

Adina Shurkin: It’s hard to choose just one favorite, but there’s a photograph I took of a sunset over the Grand Canyon that I really love. It’s a beautiful moment captured in time, and it reminds me of the incredible beauty that exists in the world.

Q: What advice would you give to aspiring photographers?

Adina Shurkin: My advice would be to never stop learning and experimenting. Photography is a constantly evolving art form, and there’s always something new to discover. Don’t be afraid to take risks and try new things, and always stay true to your own unique vision and style.

Q: What is your creative process like?

Adina Shurkin: My creative process is very intuitive and spontaneous. I often don’t have a set plan when I start shooting, but I let my instincts guide me and I’m always looking for interesting angles, lighting, and compositions. I also like to experiment with different editing techniques to create a unique look and feel for each photo.

Q: What do you hope people take away from your photography?

Adina Shurkin: I hope that my photography inspires people to appreciate the beauty and wonder of the world around them. Whether it’s a breathtaking landscape or a simple moment captured in time, I want my photos to evoke a sense of wonder and connection with the world we live in.

Q: What’s next for you and your photography?

Adina Shurkin: I’m always working on new projects and exploring new ideas. Right now, I’m particularly interested in exploring the intersection between nature and technology, and how we can use photography to create a deeper connection with the natural world. I’m also planning on launching a new website to showcase my work and connect with other photographers and art enthusiasts.

Creators
Like

About the Creator

Adina Shurkin

Adina Shurkin is a talented photographer, blogger, and photojournalist from Brooklyn, New York. With over two decades of experience, Shurkin has honed her skills to create stunning images that capture the essence of her subjects.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.