Interview logo

Interview With Model and Actor, Marcus Murphy

Vocal Inspiration Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished about a year ago 5 min read
1

Marcus Murphy’s modeling career started in 2013 when he was a freshman attending Hiram College in Hiram, OH. The opportunity stumbled upon him when Marcus was looking for modeling jobs relatable to the community such as Mental Health and HIV/AIDS awareness. Marcus left school for the weekend to attend the in-person casting call and two weeks later he got the job.

Initially, the job was presented to another talent, due to tardiness he was provided the opportunity to the lead the project and that moment opened the door to an entertainment career. The most memorable moment in Marcus' modeling career was seeing his K2 zombie photos in metro stations and in New York City Times Square as a billboard.

In addition, Marcus has been able to model for upcoming brands such as Nubuyan Dyme, BlaqueSage Cosmetics skin and hairline, and appear in books. Marcus Murphy has some great opportunities on the horizon regarding modeling. We are excited to chat with him all about it.

What do you like about fashion and how would you describe your sense of style?

Marcus: Fashion to me is a way to express my artistic attributes outside of film and television. I appreciate the different stylists providing their skills when I am on sets but outside of work dressing like me and not a character is rewarding. The way I would describe my style is clothes that maintain my appearance such as a clean fitted suit that appeals to any age group, keeping my accessorizing to a minimum, a nice watch, and shoes. I am very simple but like to make a great impression when it comes to fashion.

Congratulations on receiving your first acting nomination in 2022 for best actor in the District of Columbia. Please tell us about the role and what this moment meant for you.

Marcus: My acting coach told me years ago to love the craft and not seek money or validation because in its timing everything will come together. Therefore, receiving my first nomination was a shock but gave me the joy to know someone recognize my talents to nominate me. It was surreal being surrounded by familiar and new faces in the industry. Although I did not bring home the award I won by being in the space with phenomenal talent.

How do you feel you’ve grown as an actor since your first acting debut in the independent film Through the Eyes of the Children by Nana Peaceful Changes in 2014?

Marcus: My first film Through The Eyes of The Children was a great experience but nerve-racking as well because I did not want to disappoint the director or even myself. However, each phase in my career has really provided me with the tools to not overthink and just trust myself. Along with having conversations with my directors and cast members to make sure I am delivering my best. Lastly, training as much as possible so I don’t have to get ready when an opportunity knocks.

As a trained actor with ten years of experience, what do you think is the best way to get yourself known as a serious actor?

Marcus: I can't believe it has been ten years since entering the entertainment industry. Honestly, I thought it would be a hobby and focus primarily on law school. However, life took a different direction career choice that I will forever be grateful for. In my opinion, the best way to get known as a serious actor is continuously do the work no matter how big or small the project is. The reality is you never know who is watching and when the big break will happen. Consistency is key to having the right intentions at all times.

What acting projects are you working on this year?

Marcus: Each year great story materials are being presented to me and it’s a blessing to be part of them. I am ecstatic to be an actor and executive producer for the film Greed and Loyalty written and directed by DeWayne Ethridge. I will be part of the award-winning book Tales of A Grown Girl play by Yolanda Brathwaite, We Want Justice: Living In A Country Influenced by Hate by Marlon Reid will be shown later this year as an episodic series. The projects are different in characters and allows me to show a range from film to stage.

Any exclusive news you can share with us first?

Marcus: Exclusive news is always the best when the fruits of your labor come all at once. I recently signed to a new talent agency in New York City: Myeka Johnson Talent Agency). I am looking forward to building the relationships and hopefully being seen on bigger screens with film and modeling opportunities. Tremaine and Los a new television series created by DeAndre Little and my character in the project is Lionel Williams. Tremaine’s oldest and only son Lionel has been obsessed with proving his father and uncle innocence since his father and uncle were first falsely convicted. Lionel has made a vow to stand by proving the truth. The show is under the SAG-AFTA media agreement and is my first union project. I have a new independent film slated to be released this spring called The Liquor Store Run. My scene is with SpliffStar the rapper from Flipmode Squad and Busta Rhymes hype man.

What else would you like our readers to know about you and the work that you do?

Marcus: It is important for my readers to know that although I am building my entertainment career never put all your eggs in one basket. I have a regular job as a government employee and plan on obtaining my master’s degree in a few years. It is imperative to follow your dreams but have a plan in whatever you do.

2023 will be the year of achieving all the goals Marcus has set for himself. His life is filled with abundance, favor, gratitude, and making memories in the spaces he enters. Marcus thrives in all he does because he has faith God will provide all his needs, and he believes in himself unconditionally. Marcus also leans on his support system. He is very excited about the anticipation of what’s to come next for his career.

Keep up to date on social media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SupermanMarc

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/hollywooddevon/

Actors
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.