Interview logo

Interview With Emerging Queer Indie Artist: Jenn DeSantis

A rising artist who is consistently defying the barriers of genre, and one to add to your playlist.

By Meg CorrieriPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
3

Jenn DeSantis is a multi-talented, eclectic, Pop/Rock musical prodigy from Pennsylvania. Her piano technique is similar to that of Elton John, while the melodies she uses are described as “unconventional” by many listeners. Some highlight performances include the annual Beatles Fest 2018 in Jersey City, MIA 2018 and 2019, and opening for Trans/LGBT Icon, Ryan Cassata May 2020 at GLYS of WNY. As an artist who is consistently defying the boundaries of music genres with plans to further pursue her music career on the West Coast, Jenn DeSantis is an emerging artist that will undeniably leave you eager to hear what she creates next.

Basic details

Name: Jenn DeSantis

Talent: Singer/Songwriter/Pianist

3 favorite tv series: Schitt's Creek, BoJack Horseman & Killing Eve

******* Interview time! *******

Question: If you didn't become a musician, what would you be doing right now?

Answer: If it wasn’t for my strong passion for music, I would have loved to go into acting. At a young age, I was always pretty theatrical at chorus concerts or in dance classes even though I couldn’t dance very well. I’ve been told I’d be good at acting, but never had the time to pursue it! I’ve also thought about teaching elementary school kids or being a school guidance counselor. I love kids and I’d enjoy teaching them, and watching them grow up.

Question: If you could be a video game character, who would you choose? And how do you think this would affect you as a musician?

Answer: I would love to be Princess Zelda. She is a shapeshifter, and transforms into Sheik, so this could affect my performances making them not only music performances, but also magic shows. Also, she can teleport from one place to another making transportation SUPER efficient in every aspect.

Question: How long does it take you to learn a cover song?

Answer: Something that sets me apart from many other musicians is that I can play by ear, so it doesn't take me very long to learn the melody of cover songs. Generally, it could take me a maximum of 5 minutes to learn a song. Classical or Jazz could take more time, but hearing the melody guides my fingers where they need to go. It's a strength that I use when I'm working with other indie artists who need me to cover their songs for promotion. I can get it done fast. Being a dueling piano bar performer has always intrigued me, or even improvising any music on stage with another band. I am thankful to have this talent.

Question: What is your latest release? And what does it mean to you?

Answer: "Kaleidoscopic People" is my latest release. It's anthem for those who call themselves "misfits", or push the boundaries of society. I had this beautiful, uplifting chorus starting with “I’m not gonna wait here for you to tell me I have to change.” and I kept singing it and playing the melody on the piano. No lyrics other than that one line. Months of working on other material, I decided to come back. I was fueled with inspiration from reading stories about the trans community. All of the individual stories of how they discovered they were trans, what it felt like knowing they were in the wrong body, and how their journey consisted of being born again a thousand different times inspired me to write an anthem to those who feel they are "misfits" in society.

As someone who thought I was straight throughout all my childhood, bi in college, then fully embracing I was lesbian after college, I could relate to this notion of being born again and again. Being truly captivated by what I read, I wanted to write a song to those who feel rejected by society in some aspect. The journey of discovering who you are is not a clear & precise path.We all are kaleidoscopes. Each one of us has a very intricate, unique design. The patterns that form us change constantly and the billion hues of color go through alterations as we keep growing into who we truly are. You cannot define any of us. Not by skin, not by gender, not by sexuality, not by our jobs, we are just people living this life trying to all understand the meaning.

Question: Who inspired you to make music?

Answer: Growing up in a household where my mom sang in church choir, my sister took voice lessons, my brother played piano, and my grandparents on my mom’s side who play piano and sing, I was around it so much. My family inspired me to express myself through music. My friends would also get excited hearing their favorite songs being played by ear which led me to also create my own original songs. I felt this rush of happiness when I would make up little jingles on the keys as a little kid, or when I sang at talent shows. I knew fairly young I wanted to change the world creating music.

Question: What is your favorite cover song to perform?

Answer: Currently, Wild Love by James Bay

Question: Which famous musicians do you admire?

Answer: Queen, Bowie, Stevie Nicks, Ani Difranco, Tame Impala, Arcade Fire, WILLOW, Billie Eilish, and Kendrick Lamar to name a few that I admire. I love that they don't particularly sound like other artists. I really love their own unique styles, and they all are amazing performers live. All of them sing with so much passion, and you can really feel the energy from their music which sends chills down my spine. They are not afraid to be bold and show the world their edge.

Question: What are you currently working on?

Answer: I am currently working on an EP that will be released in the beginning of 2022! This EP will give listeners powerful anthems about perseverance, hope, determination, and self-love. I hope that when people listen to my EP it gives them courage to face the struggles before them, and find acceptance within themselves. I'm looking forward to sharing it with everyone!

Question: What inspires you the most?

Answer: I think it’s a tie between possibility and creativity. Creativity inspires me to keep achieving greater things. When I get genuine feedback from those who have been impacted by my music, it makes me super grateful to have this gift. Not only am I a musician, but I'm also an artist and poet. It's incredibly uplifting to create a poem, painting, or finish any creative project that can be relatable to so many people or to make an impact on just one person. Possibility is knowing that anything I strive to achieve is possible. I just have to keep putting the work into achieving my goals, and reminding myself that with dedication one day at a time I can get to where I want to be.

Question: What is one message you would give to someone wanting to be in the music industry as an artist?

Answer: These days, it is too easy to compare yourself to other artists. I’ve been there and still do it from time to time. Comparison will destroy your motivation, and your passion if you let it keep getting to you. Everyone is on a different path. Just keep focusing on what you need to do in order to grow within the industry, and compare yourself to YOU.

Oh, and please do not buy fake streams or fake followers. Do your research. Most of the time if you are buying streams or followers, you risk having a fake audience. Many companies prey on musicians to get money. Watch out for this. ____________________________________________________

Thank you Jenn DeSantis for taking the time to do this interview. I'd also like to thank all of the readers who took the time to get to know this incredibly talented artist. -Meg

Please show your support for Jenn and check out all of her awesome content below:

https://www.jenndesantis.com/

Spotify:

https://open.spotify.com/artist/6ZNJrFBjtUOrKfd7bERnVo?si=NiuhFL5ARRK7xsYyezAyYg

Instagram: 

https://www.instagram.com/jenndesantis/

Facebook: 

https://www.facebook.com/jenndesantismusic/

YouTube:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjAAGwLxjzCLX-xH_tlHQAQ

Musicians
3

About the Creator

Meg Corrieri

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.