Interview logo

How Rapper Adrian Sky Paints Vivid Viewpoint on Mental Health and Sound Therapy

28-year-old North Carolina rapper foreshadows his upcoming project, as a self proclaimed "authentically vulnerable" muscian

By Esteem CampbellPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
SB Global Recording Artist Signee Adrian Sky Media Run

I had the opportunity to sit down and speak with the buzzing SB Global recording artist Adrian Skywalker. Hailing from North Carolina, a state known for producing some of the biggest names in hip-hop such as 9th Wonder, J. Cole, DaBaby, and Morray, Adrian Skywalker is making a name for himself in the industry with his emotionally honest music about mental health and love relationships.

In our interview, Adrian Skywalker opened up about his personal struggles with mental health and how it has influenced his music. He also discussed the impact growing up in North Carolina has had on his sound, as well as his thoughts on the current state of hip-hop.

Adrian Skywalker's music is a refreshing take on the genre, and his vulnerability and honesty in his lyrics are what sets him apart from other artists. His unique style has garnered the attention of fans and industry professionals alike, and we can't wait to see what he has in store for us in the future.

I hope you enjoy reading this article as much as I enjoyed writing it and getting to know Adrian Skywalker. He's an artist to watch out for and I'm sure you'll enjoy listening to his music as much as I did.

First off, introduce yourself to those learning of you for the first time?

My artist name is Adrian Sky, and I'm from Jacksonville, North Carolina.

Why do you love music?

I love music because it allows me to express myself in a way that words alone can't. It's a powerful tool for storytelling, and I find it incredibly therapeutic to write and perform my own songs. In my darkest moments I find peace and solitude getting lost in the frequency that affects us all; one way or another. Sound vibration creates life, but that's another topic.

What Makes You different as a Music Artist in 2023?

What makes me different as a music artist is my unique perspective on interpersonal relationships and love dynamics. I'm not afraid to be honest and vulnerable in my lyrics, and I strive to add a new perspective to these common themes. Additionally, I openly battle with my diagnosis of bipolar 1 disorder and incorporate my experiences into my music, bringing awareness and representation to mental health in the industry. I'm unashamed of this, I've studied the greats and found a commonality that we all have a few screws ajar between the ears. In my opinion, it's what allows us to translate art in such unique ways.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In five years, I see myself continuing to grow as an artist and reaching new heights in my career. I hope to have several successful tours under my belt, and to have released multiple albums that have resonated with audiences around the world. Perhaps, I will finally own a car I can put my skateboard in the trunk of and a few plaques to share with my team at SB Global Enterprise

What do you want to accomplish in life?

My ultimate goal in life is to make a positive impact through my music. I want to inspire others and to be a source of comfort for those who may be going through difficult times. I want to bring hope and positivity to the world through my art. The team over at SB Global Ent. has put a lot of faith into my unique abilities, especially Steven, and I want to give them all something to be proud about as we create our legacy

What flavor do you bring to the music world?

I bring a unique perspective, vulnerability and authenticity to the music world. I use my personal experiences to create relatable and meaningful music. I also try to bring awareness and representation to mental health in the industry.

What do you want to be remembered by when it's all said and done?

I want to be remembered for the impact I made through my music, for being true to myself and for bringing hope and positivity to people's lives. I want people to remember the lyrics, the melodies, the feeling that my music gave them and how it helped them through tough times. Most of all, I want to be remembered as someone who pushed us all a little closer to the truth, but that's another topic.

Finally, I want to invite you all to check out my upcoming album "Thank You in Advance", which is a collection of songs that are honest, relatable and meaningful. I poured my heart and soul into this album, and I truly believe that it has the power to connect with people on a deep level. I can't wait for you all to hear it, and I hope it brings as much joy and comfort to your lives as it has to mine. Thank you in advance for your support. Praise to the Most high.

CelebritiesMusicians
Like

About the Creator

Esteem Campbell

driven educated hip hop journalist with a love for the culture and the music history.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.