Interview logo

Go For A Fun Musical Ride With Award-Winning Rapper/Musician Da Fire!

An interview with a passionate rapper/musician who I'm also very good friends with!

By Talia DevoraPublished 7 months ago 5 min read
3
Photo retrieved from Instagram.

Introduction

Photo retrieved from IG. Edited this photo on Canva.

Are you looking for some new music to download and listen to?! Are you looking for some music inspiration to kickstart your music journey?! Or are you simply just interested in rap/hip-hop and rock music?! If you answer yes to all of these questions, you've come to the right place!

Daniel Tatulli, known professionally as Da Fire, is a prolific rapper, musician, singer, and music teacher with an innate musical gift, and a love for performing and exploring downtown Toronto. He was born and raised in the Toronto district of Scarborough, Ontario, Canada.

To find out more about Da Fire, please keep scrolling!

The Interview

Photo retrieved from IG. Edited this photo on Canva.

TF: When did you start getting into music?!

DF: It all started when I was in highschool. When I was 16 years old, I wanted to learn the guitar, so my uncle showed me the ropes. I have learned step-by-step when I was young, and performed at my first event in high school called the Black and White Show. Ever since I got a taste of the spotlight, I kept wanting more and more, and joined the jazz band in Grade 10. I also have two of my own bands.

TF: What motivates you to pursue a career in the music industry?

DF: The connection I have with my students and the connection I have with creativity. I find a great joy in creating and collaborating with other people in regards to creating music. You can learn from them and apply it to your own palette. The excitement of performing under the spotlight in front of lots of people and teaching guitar to kids brings great joy to my heart.

TF: What does a typical day look like for you?

DF: My day is pretty simple; usually I would get up in the morning, have either a cup of coffee or a glass of water. Than, I will take a shower and go through my weekly schedule and see what needs to be done. I'd usually reply to emails if I get any, and than if I'm scheduled to work evening shifts, I would go to work. Sometimes after work, I would either come home, go out if it's not too late, or I'd have band practice.

TF: What are the pros and cons of pursuing a career in the music industry?

DF: There is always a lot of people who say that there is no money in music, and it's hard to make it. Well, I disagree, and here are the pros: If you specialize in an instrument such as the guitar, ukulele, keys, drums, bass, etc., you can be a music teacher for many companies or host your own private lessons. You can also do marketing for future artists or existing artists by doing posters, videos, or even photography.

The cons are: getting yourself out there as an artist and getting people to notice you. This can be hard, because from my experiences with my band, you would need to bring people to your shows in order to actually earn something, thats why it’s important to find shows that pay upfront. Commitment and consistency is key, you have to make, make, and keep making music, and reveal it to the public for people to notice you. Especially in a band, you have to make sure everyone is onboard, and show up to practice and shows in order to make something happen.

TF: What type of instruments do you use? Which one is your favourite?

DF: The primary instrument I use is the guitar, and I also rap. Besides rapping and playing the guitar, I also play keys, bass, and the ukulele. My favourite instrument is the guitar, but I also enjoy playing the keyboard. My keyboarding skills are very basic, but something about the sound catches my ear! It has a really nice, soft sound, and you can manipulate in anyway you want. With rap for me, it's a different experience altogether. It brings out more of creativity, because I would make my own beats, lyrical ideas, and comprise them into a song. Also, even when I am writing my lyrics, it comes from deep place. I mainly talk about things that has happened in my life, world problems, or whatever basically comes to mind.

TF: What are you favorite music genres?

DF: The type of music I play is classic rock (on guitar) and rap (voice). Classic rock is an old genre of music, but still lots of people would recognize the artist and bands, as well as amazing, catchy riffs in the song. A lot of people in there 30's, 40's and 50s would listen to this kind of music, but surprisingly people our age do as well. Rap to me is a completely different style from classic rock, but I like the sounds of the 808 bass that is provided in the songs and the lyrical flow, riffs and runs, and content being presented in the song.

TF: Anything interesting you want to share?

DF: My best advice is follow your heart and listen to your inner voice. For me, it was music and I followed that voice no matter what other people have said to me. You are only going to be happy if you do what makes you happy, so strive for greatness, and you will meet loads of people on your journey who’ll accept you for you and want to follow the path you’re on.

To end off this interview, please show your support and give one of Da Fire’s songs Zoned In a listen to! This music video was released 6 months ago!

Thank you for taking the time to read my first interview. I hope you learned something new and found another source of musical inspiration! If you enjoyed reading this, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, comment, and please feel free to send a tip to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting and interesting content, please hit the "magic subscribe button" and visit my public profile. Stay tuned for more poetry, recipes, stories, and much more!

Please feel free to keep in touch with us!

Da Fire’s social media handles:

FB: Daniel Tatulli

IG: @danieltatulli

YouTube channel: Dafire

🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶

My social media handles:

IG: @tdwrites24 (where you’ll find all of my literary creations) and @taliascreations331 (where you’ll find all of my other creations)

FB: Talia Devora

YouTube channel: PinkSakuraXO

By Tony Rojas on Unsplash

CreatorsMusicians
3

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred6 months ago

    Fascinating interview and great to see someone outside of Vocal. Great work both of you

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Awesome!!! Talia, love your interview with Da Fire!!! ❤️❤️💕

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Fantastic interview!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.