Interview logo

Getting to know music artist CT

Getting to know music artist CT

By Jason James Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your artist name and where are you from?

My rap name is CT and I’m from Dallas, Tx – Pleasant Grove to be exact.

Why do you love music?

I love music because it brings me peace of mind. I can turn on one of my favorite songs and whatever was bringing me down or bothering me at that moment would go away cause I become completely in tuned with the music and I block out any negativity, even if it’s just for the duration of the song but also I can put it on repeat and have the same effect every time. I been writing raps since I was in elementary school, I’ll never forget my first rhyme was “I’m a pimp with a limp” but at the time I spelled pimp and limp wrong my uncle let me know right then that if I want to rap I got to know how to spell. My uncle inspired me he from Dallas to, he was rapper named “Calico” and when he would come to visit, me him and my big brother would just freestyle one time I somehow I learned at freestyle he rapped and I still remember it to this day. Remember I was in elementary at the time so I kind of also was thought maybe I could sing a little but no I can’t sing I just have a unique voice, and I believe that’s what made me stay interested in music my actual voice and the lifestyle my uncle was living was cool to me to. I just fell for rhyming words. Now it’s about rhyming my words and telling my factual story at the same time.

What makes you different as a music artist?

I say I’m different because I’m me and nobody else can be me. Honestly though the music is what brings musicians together, we all just want to create great music and tell our story behind the mic. It’s all about the energy you bring behind your work!

Where do you see yourself in 5 years? In 5 years I see myself doing music full time. No more 9-5 working for someone and no more petty side hustle. Straight music doing what I want to do. In 5 years I want to be touring cities and have been to all 50 states. In 5 years I want my name known and established and respected. I want to be one of the hottest out my city and in the world. In 5 years I want to be doing music with the top artist that’s out. Drake, Cole, 21, Lil Baby, NBA ect.. I want to work with the top names and vibe in the studio with greats.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

I want to be financially set. I want my daughter to have the world in her hands I want to be able to do anything for my mom to where she don’t got to work anymore. I want to be the breadwinner for my family and my close friends. I want to put myself on and put my people on. I want business across the world. When the money starts pouring in, I want to be in position where it never stops pouring. I want to secure a bag for now and for the future.

What do you bring to the music world?

I bring me, being real just by being who I am. I’m not rapping to sell a image.. I’m rapping cause I love rapping and I got a story to tell that I want the world to hear. Not only to tell my story I want to make great music that just makes people happy and brings people together and for the ones that relate to me bring them peace of mind.

What do you want to be remembered by?

I want to be remembered by my story and never giving up on my dreams. I want to be remembered by changing to the rap game and breaking different barriers. I also want to be remembered by being one of the few to come out of Dallas, Tx with it!

Celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.