Interview logo

Getting to know music artist Capitol Gio

Getting to know music artist Capitol Gio

By Jason James Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Where am I from?

From Napghanistan, Nap Or Nothing, Or Indianapolis for those who don’t know what that means! The dead Midwest! We are the center of the Midwest so just imagine… murders, robberies, and the struggle is a regular thing where I’m from. My hood is called high-level and anybody that is from Indiana Will know where That's at.. it's the real trenches! I love my city. I'm just too big to stay there. I came from pretty humble beginnings like everyone in the lower class to the middle class.

After I got hurt during college football, I pretty much figured that dream was over and I went to work all kinds of odd jobs and was told what to do and how to live my life and that just didn’t fit with me, and my plans, so I got tangled in the streets got my head on straight and started building LLCs and different businesses.

What makes you different as a music artist?

What makes me different is that I live the “rapper “ lifestyle and I’ve been living like this for years before I even pursued rap, it's what made me be a face that is true to my lyrics. Being authentic and rapping about the things I've been through and actually lived and do on a day to to day basis is what makes me something unique to the game. I'm a businessman first with my hand in different avenues But my passion lies within music and being able to share my craft and skill in the hip hop industry as a rapper, I am most known as being a Certified Hustler

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years my goal is to be one of the biggest names when it comes to independent labels and to make game-changing strides in the music industry. I want everybody to know about DawgShitRecords, not only that DSR is my hand-built label but a talented family that's growing every day. At the moment we have an up-and-coming artist coming out of Arizona, Texas, and Michigan. We have Rappers, Singers, DJs, and even business moguls on the roster.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

Honestly, I accomplished a lot in life already, but I do want to continue to grow as a person, keep on my path of leading others to financial freedom and continue to bless my kids with the fruits and options of life.

What do you bring to the music world?

I feel like I bring originality to the music game, I’m not trying to rap like anybody or sound like anybody. I’m literally just making music based on what I feel and what the beat makes me feel at the moment. The music game needs more than just rappers telling you how to level up, but also show you in the way we move how that level up is done.

What do you want to be remembered by?

I want to be remembered as the biggest independent black-owned label and movement. I want to take DSR to new levels by showing the world what can be made when you bring a group of unique, talented, money-motivated individuals together.

Why do I love music?

Music has been intertwined with my family forever. I have a couple of celebrity singers in my family and when my brother Joey died (CIP Joey The Goat), he was the one who told me everything these rappers want to be and rap about what I really do, so I started rapping and doing music because he believed in me to do so. It's what makes going in the booth and laying down back-to-back tracks so easy for me because it came naturally.

Celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.