Interview logo

Featured In Offsets New Music Video, Yung Cuse is the next face of the media.

Yung Cuse Is Couch Surfing All Over The Internet, Read Below To Hear More

By EArtsForeverPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
“Yung Cuse”

My name is Colby smith, most people know me as ‘Yung Cuse’. Since a jit, people have been calling me Cuse, because I was born in Syracuse, New York. Most of my family still resides on the east coast. Having a mother in the Air Force growing up as a kid, I had the opportunity to live all over the country. I would say my favorite place so far has been Los Angeles, Burbank to be exact. However I have a lot of love for the city and people of Fargo, North Dakota. I spent most of my high school & college basketball career in North Dakota.

Living in the Midwest at that age allowed me to get on stages easily, not as many people made music in the area. Before the age of 25, I had already opened up for some of my favorite artists, including Smokepurpp, Sean Kingston, Soulja Boy, & Blocboy JB. I’ve been passionately making music for almost 10 years now. Going from recording music in my best friend’s closet to studios in Hollywood has been a dream come true for me. For most people their biggest inspirations come from their idols. My best friend, Dylan Berg ‘Iceberg Want A Bag’ has been my biggest influence in my career. We manifested a future with music every time we sat down and recorded in that closet. Now, Dylan is signed to Universal Music Group. We just recently released a 4 song EP on Valentine’s Day called, “Lost In My Mind”. Make sure to go download the new project and listen yourself. Aside from ‘Iceberg’ some of my other influences would be Post Malone, Juice Wrld, NBA Youngboy, & Big Scarr.

I started taking my music career serious about 7 years ago. I began primarily making stoner vibe songs, but now I’ve taken more of an emo-bad boy swag to my evolve my sound. I talk a lot about drug addiction and insecurities in my songs. I enjoy showing a side of me that most are scared to reveal. I also want to reach as many addiction struggling teens as I can to help them understand they aren’t alone and there’s never a bad time to ask for help. We are all human, we are all equal, and we are all loved.

Iceberg’ is pretty much the only producer I’ve worked with. He makes the game a LOT easier for me. I never have to worry about having beats for the studio because Dylan knows my style better than anyone. He always making sure I have enough beats to record with. I wouldn’t be in the position I am without all his help.

5 years from now, I see myself signed to a major record label working with my favorite musicians from all over the world, touring internationally, with a lot more tattoos. The number one question I get asked is, “What was your first face tattoo?” I got matching “Family” tattoos in Japanese with my little brother, Josh in 2017.

My biggest goal is to help my mother and siblings live in a world of paradise. As long as my family good, I’m even better. They are the most important people in my life. I have 3 younger siblings I love entirely, all who support me more than I could ever ask for.

If I would want my fans to know something about me, it’s that I am extremely passionate when it comes to creating, whether it’s music or art or clothes. I am extremely creative with everything I do. My whole life I’ve been known to stick out, be weird, and do my own thing. It’s the biggest reward possible to be able to live my life how I want to and be loved for who I am. A fun fact about myself are is I don’t like cats. I’m a dog person and my favorite kind of dogs are Rottweilers. If I could work with any artist I would have to go with Eminem. I grew up listening to Em on the radio every day, he’s the GOAT in my eyes.

Musicians
Like

About the Creator

EArtsForever

Minnesota x LA writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.