Interview logo

Dr. Kameika Hinson On Helping Grieving Mothers Heal and Flourish Through Purpose, Discovery, and Storytelling

Vocal Inspirational Women

By Tammy ReesePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Dr. Kameika Hinson is a very purpose-driven and determined individual who sets her mind on something that she's passionate about and does not stop until she achieves her goal. 

She is making a huge impact in so many people's lives. Dr. Kameika Hinson is the President of Chasing Rainbows Grief Coaching Services, LLC. She is also the Founder and CEO of her nonprofit organization called Jeremiah's Journey to Healing Ministries. She teaches women who have had pregnancy or infant loss how to cope, heal and flourish through purpose discovery and storytelling. Dr. Kameika is furthering her services by pursuing her Doctorate in Ministry while focusing on Christian counseling.

Dr. Kameika says that everyone has a purpose and your purpose is found in your pain. But once you've found your purpose, don't just sit on it. Seek guidance from your God and act on it. Faith without works is dead.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

In what ways is the work that you do via Chasing Rainbows and Jeremiah's Journey similar or different?

Dr. Kameika: In the beginning, the work was very similar. With Jeremiah's Journey, I would host fundraisers so that I could offer free sessions to the women in need of grief coaching. This was very challenging to get people to see my vision for Jeremiah's Journey and to support it financially. Therefore, I started my for-profit company, Chasing Rainbows, where I basically do the exact same thing. I have recently learned that the government is offering funding for nonprofit organizations such as mine, so I'll definitely be looking into that. I really want to partner with the hospital, where I'm currently employed, to offer the grieving mothers support.

How was the journey to create your organizations?

Dr. Kameika: I started Jeremiah's Journey to Healing Ministries as a support group in my church but I quickly realized that this support group needed to expand beyond the walls of my church. My vision is to be able to provide international support to women who have experienced pregnancy or infant loss through my grief recovery boxes. The grief recovery boxes would include a copy of my latest book and other essentials that I wish I had after I experienced my miscarriage. I shortly realized that I needed funding to support my vision. Therefore, I founded Chasing Rainbows Grief Coaching Services. So I've decided to focus on ministry with my nonprofit organization and coaching with my for-profit business.

What are some of the latest projects or events you were involved with?

Dr. Kameika: The most recent event that I was involved in was my Growing From Grief Summit where I had some speakers from all different areas of grief speak about their grief journeys and what they did to overcome it. I also delivered my signature keynote speech on why you need to grow from your grief and I also provided some strategies on how to do that. It was most definitely a treat because the strategies that I gave were actually a part of what I give in my 6 weeks program. I was feeling very generous on the day of my summit.

Any upcoming endeavors in the works?

Dr. Kameika: I will be doing my one day Attitude of Gratitude Challenge on June 25, 2022. It's an introduction to my 6-week group coaching program where I'll be teaching proven strategies on how to show gratitude after grief. I will also be hosting my very first Growing From Grief retreat in Atlanta, GA. This retreat will incorporate healing through writing and self-care.

How do you balance work and self-care?

Dr. Kameika: I am always very intentional with my self-care because I work so much. I'm what's considered to be a "dual preneur" which means that I work a full-time job as well as run my own business and doing both can be quite overwhelming. I personally schedule out my self-care days although I can have the occasional "pop up" self-care days where I just turn off my phone, take a bubble bath while sipping my wine.

What do you hope for yourself this year?

Dr. Kameika: This year I hope to be better prepared to embark upon full-time entrepreneurship and might I add that my coach, Taurea "Vision" Avant, is doing a phenomenal job at preparing me for doing just that. The reason why I haven't become a full-time entrepreneur is because I made a promise to myself that I would not quit my "day job" until my business was producing enough income to match my current salary. But this year, I have come up with an exit strategy so full-time entrepreneurship is very promising.

What else do you think is vital for our readers to know about you?

Dr. Kameika: I am very passionate about what I do. When I decided to start a support group, I was nowhere near healed. That was probably one of the most challenging tasks that I've ever had to do in my life. I had just lost my baby a few months prior to starting the support group so I found myself having to be strong for other women. I know that I'm called to do this.

View more of Dr. Kameika Hinson latest interviews via We Empower Magazine, SwagHer Magazine, Our Black Woman Magazine, Kivo Daily, and Sheen Magazine.

Connect on Instagram @chasingrainbowsgcs

Photo Credit: Rhayna C. Photography

Thought Leaders
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.