Interview logo

Bad Gyal Vegan Owner, Chyna Love Discusses Healthy Eating Tips and Her Legacy In The Culinary Arts World

Black Business Month Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Chyna Love is the owner of B.A.D Gyal Vegan, an eatery that offers plant-based Jamaican food with an American soul food twist. Marietta Square Market's newest eatery menu items include vegan Oxtail, Curry ChikUN, Stew ChikUN, Empress Pasta, Wett Wings, Curry Skrimp, Rice & Peas, Mac & Jeeze™️, Sweet Yams, and so much more.

Bad Gyal Vegan is Home to the world's first VEGAN OXTAIL (Voxtail). When asked what some of the most highly recommended dishes were, Chyna Love stated that Bad Gyal Vegan's motto is, "It's not just good Vegan food, it's GOOD FOOD PERIOD". So with that being said, it's all good! But some crowd faves are our Yankee Jerk Burgers, the Award-Winning Trophy Cabbage, and the insanely good Mac and Jeeze.

Chyna Love recently partnered with Support + Feed (Billie Ellish's Mom's Foundation) and LostNFound to make delicious vegan meals accessible to displaced LBGTQ youth.

Vocal Readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy: What foods did you love as a child compared to the types of food you love now?

Chyna Love: I really don't remember what my favorite food was, but I do remember having quite a few food allergies that I've grown out of. Tomatoes and shellfish would give me the hives.

Tammy: What is your favorite dish to make and why?

Chyna Love: I love to make breakfast! Pancakes, French Toast, Homefries, and bananas foster or homemade French toast. My children love it as well.

Tammy: What dishes do your customers rave about?

Chyna Love: The Voxtail and Mac & Jeeze are best sellers.

Tammy: What are some memorable moments in your career so far as a chef, and business owner?

Chyna Love: Opening my very 1st restaurant in my hometown of Brooklyn, NY was absolutely the most memorable and amazing experience.

Tammy: What healthy food tips would you have for our readers for the summer?

Chyna Love: Incorporate lots of fresh fruits & veggies into your diet. Watermelon and pineapple are great during the summer. Drink a gallon of water every day, hydration is key for healthy skin and overall wellness.

Tammy: You recently opened a flagship location in Marietta Square Market. How cool is that? Congratulations on the 3 additional locations coming by Spring 2023. What can you share with us about it all?

Chyna Love: Opening this first flagship location has been a huge undertaking and a major labor of love. It's super cool to build something from scratch and see it come to life. Some days I thought it just was never going to happen and I wanted to just give up but I fought and I prayed and here we are. We will be expanding rapidly giving our community opportunities to franchise our business model and bringing Bad Gyal Vegan to major cities across the country.

Tammy: What is a super fun fact about yourself that many people are not aware of?

Chyna Love: I'm a thrill seeker and I love to do scary and adventurous things. I'm such a big kid! I love amusement parks, I'll ride every single roller coaster. Water parks are my favorite! I once went on a waterslide 10 times back to back.

Tammy: What do you want your legacy to be in the culinary arts world?

Chyna Love: I want people to know that I was no overnight success. I've been grinding in this industry for over 15 years. I want people to know I created something that will forever be here and that has changed the lives of many people. I am the reason so many people have transitioned to being plant-based or even considering trying vegan food.

I wasn't scared to try something and create something. Voxtail was the first and only soy-free plant-based vegan oxtail. I really changed the game forever!

Yard Girl ChickUN Sandwich™️ & Yankee Jerk Burger™️

Keep up to date:

@BADGyalVegan

www.BadGyalVegan.com

Thought Leaders
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.