Interview logo

Alexis Holloway opens up on her opinion in the Fashion Industry

Is being ethnically ambiguous an advantage?

By Natasha MoniquePublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Photo Credits: Alexis Holloway

What’s your stage name and where are you from?

I go by my birth name Alexis Holloway and I was raised in the southern part of Mississippi.

What makes you stand out from other models?

Being ethically ambiguous, I can bring a lot of diversity to the table. I have experience with some of the top brands in the world, and it has always been a passion of mine to bring others ideas to life. Apart from that, my worth ethic also helps me stand out from other models.

What is your experience as a fashion model?

I have been a fashion model for the past 2 years, and I am passionate about what I do. During this time, I have had the opportunity to work with some of the top names in the industry, including Beth Gibbs! My experience has completely changed the way I look at the styles designers come out with. I'm now able to keep up with the latest trends to help me create new looks with designers. I have been apart of several runway shows, magazines, billboards, etc. This has given me the chance to showcase my skills in front of large audiences and gain valuable exposure.

Can modeling be a sustainable career?

Once you start taking off it definitely can be a sustainable career. It's very hard at first though; you have to put a lot of time and effort to get seen or noticed.

Do You Believe That Networking Plays An Important Role In This Industry?

Yes! It plays an important role because with the right type of networking, you can surely land a good project. This industry is all about who you know. Connections are very important.

Do you have any experience working on film or television sets?

Yes, I've worked more commercials than I've worked modeling gigs. The film industry is generally what led me to modeling. Being on a set gave me the knowledge on how to pose for different angles, how to be comfortable in front of a camera, and how to professionally connect with directors. This experience has provided me with the understanding of what is expected from a professional on set.

What do you think is the most important skill for a fashion model to have?

The most important skill to have is confidence. You are going to be in front of cameras for hours in outfits that may not be comfortable to you. It's also important to be able to take direction. All designers and sets will be completely different, but never be afraid to express your own style.

What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of being a fashion model?

There are too many advantages to name, but one would be the fact that I'm apart of an industry that is continuously evolving! I also get to travel the world for free and get paid while doing it. Lastly, I get to work with some of the most talented people in this business. As for the disadvantages, you never know how long you will be filming. Sets can go anywhere from 1 hour to 18-20 hours. Traveling all the time can also cause you to struggle maintaining a healthy lifestyle. You no longer see family and friends like you used to. Lastly, you'll always be pressured to look perfect or keep up with the current fashion trends. T

Which fashion industries are you interested in pursuing work in?

I am interested in pursuing work in a variety of fashion industries. I'm not the type to limit myself. I've worked with brands just starting out and I've also worked with high-end million dollar brands.

PhotographersCreatorsActors
1

About the Creator

Natasha Monique

Natasha Monique is a native of Georgia, she has a bachelor’s in Media Arts from the University of New Mexico and an MFA in Creative Writing from the Institute of American Indian Arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.