Horror logo

XXI Volume 2

Revenge is a dish best-served cold.

By Mark GagnonPublished about a year ago 4 min read
2
XXI
Volume 2
Photo by Natalya Letunova on Unsplash

I must admit, the last chapter of Volume 1 was not as satisfying as I had hoped. The universe had given me four subjects to choose from: a homeless man, a girl in her early twenties, two street musicians, and a man walking a dog. All four were acceptable candidates. The homeless man wasn’t my first choice to complete the last chapter, but I’ve learned to accept any gift the universe sends me. Had he not approached me looking for a handout, I would have taken the girl, but it’s all in the past now. The world has moved on and so have I.

My transformation has taken me to yet another level of superiority. In this new city, my prey acts more self-assured, confident in their attributes. This egotistical façade makes them more vulnerable to my alluring mannerisms. When dealing with men, I act confident but subservient to their imagined superior strength and intellect. In their minds, they are obviously the alpha male. But to me, these men are roosters cockily crowing just before they are slaughtered.

A different tactic is needed when luring my female prey in for the kill. I project strength through sensitivity. I’m caring and not afraid to open my soul. Not my advanced superior soul, but the inner me I know they are searching for. It is a mirror image of the approach I use with men, and only someone with my advanced skill set is capable of making it work. Women may unburden themselves to me while sipping a cocktail, but they will know what genuine pain is by the end of the evening.

I have carefully spaced each chapter to occur twenty-one days apart. It is important to utilize the power of twenty-one. Without this numerical advantage, things would go horribly wrong. Similar to Volume 1, this twenty-first chapter of Volume 2 will be written on the twenty-first day of the month at the start of a new moon. Such an alignment makes me almost giddy with anticipation.

Tonight’s hunting ground is a popular upscale bar adjacent to a large shopping mall. There are ample exits, and more importantly, limited video surveillance. I enter along with a large group of people, blending in as best I can, given my superior aura. There are so many targets it’s hard to settle on who the lucky sacrifice will be. Yes, I said lucky! The person I choose should feel honored to give up their life to such an evolved person.

I’m not in a rush. Just as long as the sacrifice takes place on the 21st minute of the 21st hour, I will be satisfied. I had just enough time to take a seat at the bar and order a drink when my selection appeared and took the stool beside me.

“This place is filling up fast,” I told the stunning brunette with gold-tinged eyes.

“Yes, it is. I was lucky to find this seat. I hope you weren’t saving it for someone?”

“Actually, I think the person I saved it for just sat down. My name is Adam.”

An unexpected chill permeated the air between them and vanished as quickly as her golden eyes grew hard, then softened immediately.

“I’m Lilith. Imagine, after all these millennia, Adam and Lilith are together once again. Do you know what I’m talking about?”

“I do. Lilith was Adam’s first wife before Eve. They got the world’s first divorce.”

She gave a slight chuckle. “I’ve never heard it put that way, but yes, that’s right.”

Adam smiled, raised his glass, and said, “A toast to the long-lost couple finally reunited.”

They clinked glassed. Their conversation ranged from biblical lore to present-day politics, with Adam glancing at the clock over the bar from time to time. As the hands got closer to nine, Adam invited Lilith to go for a walk to a nearby restaurant.

“I’m really enjoying your company, Lilith, but this place is getting noisy and I’m having trouble hearing you. I’ll buy!”

“How can a girl refuse an offer like that?” she replied with a seductive smile.

The couple left the bar arm in arm with Adam steering Lilith toward a dark alley. He explained it was a shortcut to their destination. Surprisingly, Lilith never hesitated. Adam chalked it up to his superior aura. He looked at his watch: 21:21. Now was the time.

He pinned Lilith against the alley wall and withdrew a razor-sharp stiletto.

“I enjoyed your company, Lilith, so I’ll make this as painless as possible, but you are my sacrifice, so I must do this now.”

A broad grin stretched across her face. “You have it all wrong, my dear Adam. I’ve been waiting for this moment since the beginning of time.”

Her fingernails extended into blades, and she drove them into Adam’s gut, twisted her wrist and, with inhuman strength, forced them into his heart. The last thing Adam heard was Lilith’s voice.

“It was so when I told you in the garden and it’s true today, I am the superior one.”

fiction
2

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Yay!!! A part 2!!! I’ve been waiting for this, thank you!! 21 is such a unique number for the Adam to focus on. It really intrigues me. I enjoyed the adage of lesser known biblical lore, specifically the nod to Lilith and Adam. I so did not expect that twist ending, you set that up so well!! Simply amazing, Mark!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.