Horror logo

XXI

The thoughts of a dark mind.

By Mark GagnonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
6
XXI
Photo by Dominik QN on Unsplash

XXI

Humans, just look at them, each involved in their own little world; oblivious to everything around them, including me. I was human once, but I’ve strengthened into something more, greater, superior to what I once was. Now I look at these creatures as a wolf looks at a rabbit, or a cheetah at a gazelle. They are nothing more than prey. My quarry has unwittingly wandered within the boundaries of my hunting grounds at the end of Canal Street. The elevated railway line casts a perpetual shadow onto the pedestrian walkway below, obscuring sunlight during the day and blocking the glow from the city’s lights at night; it’s a predator’s paradise. Now I must choose my evening’s entertainment.

This will be the twenty-first time since my rebirth that I have selected a human for my personal fulfillment. Tonight’s diverse candidates include a homeless man tending to the plastic bags that contain all his worldly possessions; a female in her twenties walking briskly, skirt pushed up beyond mid-thigh by a playful breeze; two street musicians trying to earn a meager wage by playing to passersby; and an average guy walking his yip-yip dog. All are the unwitting participants in a contest to become my next and final trophy in this city.

Twenty-one will be the last entry in Volume I, a catalogue chronicling my accomplishments. From here I will move on to a new city and state where I will begin Volume II. Each volume will have twenty-one chapters. Once I complete twenty-one volumes, I will publish them so the world can see what a truly developed being can accomplish. Much has to be completed before I can attain my goal, starting with tonight’s choice.

The homeless man is the easiest target. All I need to do is offer him a little money, maybe some food or booze, and he will follow me to his doom. Not a satisfying final chapter.

The girl presents a higher difficulty, but not the most difficult. I would need to attract her attention without creating an atmosphere of fear. She has to see me as harmless, a wounded bird in need of care. Yes, more difficult than the homeless man, but physically much more pleasurable.

Regarding the two musicians, I have never attempted a two-for-one before, but it’s this type of challenge that starts my pulse racing. Maybe after listening to them for a while, I could suggest that a nearby party needs some live entertainment. The partygoers would surely pay to listen to such an accomplished duo. Logistics could be a major problem. Two bodies are tough to transport unless they are dismembered, and that’s quite messy.

The most challenging of all is the guy with the dog. He looks to be in better-than-average condition, but not a match for a superior being such as me. The real problem is that damn dog. It’s not large enough to do me harm. One swift kick and the creature is out of the picture. No, it’s the alarm the mutt will sound by yapping incessantly. If I had more time, I’m sure I would find a solution to this problem, but time is not my friend.

Today is a special day. Not only is it the twenty-first of the month, but it’s also the first day of a new moon. A full moon always enamors humans, but it’s the new moon that has special powers, especially when it occurs on the twenty-first. Twenty-one, according to numerology, is an extremely powerful number because it comprises three sevens, extremely powerful indeed. So, tonight when the clock strikes 21:21, I will add the twenty-first and last chapter to Volume I.

No time left for deliberation. My pulse quickens, eyes dart around, scanning the area for anything that could thwart my plan. I make my selection as the minute hand rests on the twenty-first minute of the twenty-first hour. Time to act!

Who did I select to grace the pages of chapter twenty-one, you ask? Fair question, and you’ll be able to find the answer in the morning paper. Now it’s time to fulfill my Destiny!

psychological
6

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    Haha.... and you seemed like such a nice guy! You captured an evil perspective too well. Maybe we need to keep an eye on you? LOL. Can't wait to see the next installment - Anneliese

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was a really enticing concept, feels very dark and twisted. In a good way! Your opening scene was so well written and engaging, really drew me in! The only disappointment that I must bring to your attention is that it ended. Such a great read and was sad when it was over, I’ll have to visit this one a few more times. I’ll also be exploring your page in search of something similar!

  • Lana V Lynxabout a year ago

    I'm intrigued. Did the morning paper come out with the news of the victim?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.