Horror logo

Writing from the 1800's

How could this writing stay in perfect condition since the 1800's?

By Kerrie G.DiazPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Writing from the 1800's
Photo by Anthony Garand on Unsplash

This is a weird dream that I had many years ago. Still can not make sense of it. I believe that sometimes they are just a made-up story in your head, your dreams. Not all of them should make sense.

My cousins and I were out playing in the woods in the back of my house. These woods went on for miles and miles. We loved to play there. Stayed out till dark every day playing in those woods when we were younger. Making forts, playing hide and seek.

Today we decided to walk a lot farther than we had ever ventured. Seeing wildlife on the way. Raccoons, deer, and many birds. Was a wonderful trek in the woods.

We came upon a big clearing in the woods about a half-hour from our house. walking around in the clearing, we noticed the remains of old buildings. Maybe this could have been a town. Just a few buildings it looks like. Maybe a lot was completely gone, that's why it looked like so few buildings left.

By kiwi thompson on Unsplash

We started walking what would possibly be through the center of town. Back to the other side of the woods. We saw what looked like a structure that was more together than the rest of the buildings. As we got closer I saw a bell just a few feet in front of the door. From shows I've seen on tv, this looks like a bell to call the children to school. Was this a schoolhouse? Walking around the building it looked all boarded up. Why was this the only standing building and why was it all boarded up.

What was this building hiding? In the back was a separate building which was the remains of an old outhouse. A boy's side and a girl's side. Stalls were missing, and doors and sinks were all gone. Just holes where the toilets used to be. Walking back looking in the woods behind the old school we could see the remains of an old graveyard. Upon closer inspection, they were so old and not maintained that all the names had come off each headstone. They were so small compared to today's headstone. It had looked as if no names ever had been carved into the headstones ever.

Looking back at the schoolhouse, wondering if we could find a way inside. I wanted in so bad I could taste it. Something was not right. Why would this be the only building left standing? What were they hiding inside? Who was hiding something in here? Answers we soon hope to find some answers to.

How did the owner even enter the schoolhouse? It was all boarded up, with no door to enter just boards. Looking closer to a window I saw it was loose. I could open it. Prying it open as much as I could with just my hands. It wasn't enough. I was even too short to get up into the window.

I could peek in just a bit and what I saw amazed me. From the little bit, my short butt could see, desks were still up all lined in rows. The chalkboard is still up. How could this still be possible? I was so upset because I had to come back the next day after getting a crowbar and a ladder.

The next morning I jumped out of bed. Grabbed the items I needed. Woke my cousins and we headed out. We were so happy to finally get to explore this school. This would be the find of a century if it was all still intact like what we saw yesterday. We set up the ladder and pried open the window just enough for all of us to climb through.

I was happy I put a flashlight in my pocket thinking the wood windows would block most of the light coming into the school. Shinning the light around my jaw dropped to the floor. It was just as we thought, it was still set up as a old schoolhouse. Long desks that would fit two students in each. Two rows of desk with the teachers desk up front. Behind the teachers desk was a chalkboard. In the middle of the student desks was an old wood burning stove.

Walking up closer to the chalkboard I could see writing on it. There was still chalk and an eraser on the chalkboard ledge. I was about to erase the chalkboard to write something and my cousin stopped me. "That writing is back from the 1800s. Do not erase it."

I couldn't believe what he had said at first till I read what was written. That was not the writing of today. Was he right? How could it stay up on this chalkboard for so long? Its impossible. It can't be real.

We all did some looking around a little more before we were getting ready to leave. We heard someone hammer the window wood back into the wood on the school locking us in here.

We started yelling, but whoever hammered the window did not come back for us. They left us to die in this building. Why? Was this our punishment for breaking in here? How will we get out? Will this be our demise?

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Kerrie G.Diaz

The goal of my writing is to put a smile, help, or scare them. I love all kinds of topics Horror and paranormal are my favorite but really into true crime. If you like what you read please tip me with a coffee https://ko-fi.com/kerrie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.