Horror logo

Wish

The Broken Mirror

By Sid Aaron HirjiPublished about a year ago 5 min read
6
Wish
Photo by Almos Bechtold on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It was strange having to see this image. I had looked into this mirror thousands of times and never before seen this. The face in the mirror was ghoulish and looked like an ugly troll. Is that what I have become? I went to bed and closed my eyes. This must be a dream, tomorrow I will wake up and everything will be normal. The problem is, I had transformed in order to achieve my waking dreams.

Days earlier I had been watching the girls on the volleyball team. I had looked at Jane and imagined her being my girlfriend. It was wishful thinking as she was way out of my league. That same day I had received a disciplinary note on my report card saying I needed to start putting more effort into my classes. I was a typical divergent teen. Broke, unmotivated and living in fantasy. I was no good at sports or anything for that matter. My mother always wished I could be like my little brother. Goodie little Nate, always top of his class and doing chores. I usually walked him home after school every day, but today he was being picked up by his friend’s mom. I walked a different route home than usual.

I diverted a bit and walked down a ravine. I could see a tent and my curiosity lead me there. I saw a woman near the tent and quickly started walking away. Then I heard my name called. “Fred”, she called, “I have been waiting for you”. Startled I slowly walked towards her. I asked her who she was and she smiled and stated she was a wish granter. I laughed as I did not believe her and she then beckoned me to make a wish. I laughed again but seeing as I could not lose anything wished that Jane would become my girlfriend. The woman smiled and said to consider it done.

I went home finally and as usual procrastinated with my homework. “I will never get this stupid stuff”, I thought to myself. I wondered why we needed geometry even. I was in the remedial class and still struggled. I went to bed and the next morning came to school without my homework done. School was a disaster-the learning part. At recess however, Jane sat next to me and asked if I wanted to go out with her. A date with my dream girl! Then I thought about the woman in the tent. It can’t be! This only happens in fairy tales. I told Jane I would love to go. She said she had a gift card to a fancy restaurant and I needed to wear a suit. I know I didn’t have a suit but this was my dream date. I told her I would come along and dress appropriately. She then kissed me. Whoa my first kiss! After recess I went back to class but my mind wandered and I didn’t even take a single note.

While walking home with my little brother I thought of going to the woman in the tent. Problem is I couldn’t let Nate know. I decided I would tell him I had to grab something from school and that I trusted him to walk home alone. He believed it and I pretended to walk to the school, then when I was certain he couldn’t see me headed to the ravine with the woman who granted my wish. She was there again, and I wished for a fancy suit. When I got home and looked in my closet, there it was. Alright, I thought. This woman is a genie who will give me anything I need. Now maybe I can get that lady to give me an expensive present for Jane.

The next morning again I went to school and barely paid attention. I sat with Jane again and we retreated to a more private area and made out. This is the life! The most beautiful girl with me and today I will get a gift from a strange lady. Hey, maybe the clothes will come off after a few dates? After school my pesky brother insisted I walk home with him. He said he would tell our mom otherwise. I gave him a warning that I would make his life miserable if he did. He did agree not to tell. I walked again to the odd woman who granted my wish of an expensive necklace. I found that necklace in my drawer at home. The date was tomorrow. I had a suit, a gift and the most beautiful girl. I had been neglecting my studies but decided I would ask the woman to help me there. This date meant everything to me. However, that night was when my image in the mirror did not match my own. When I woke up hoping it was a dream, I had seen that same image.

I covered my face and stormed down the stairs out the door ignoring my mother asking me to eat breakfast. I rushed to the ravine and demanded to know what was happening. The woman told me I had a tainted soul from the wishes. I told her I would give them all back to which she replied that I needed to sacrifice something else. I stayed away from school that day. When school finished, still with my face covered I walked with Nate. Only this time I took him to the woman and said to her-“here is my sacrifice, give me my face back”. The woman complied.

psychologicalsupernaturalfiction
6

About the Creator

Sid Aaron Hirji

Canadian born man who finds literature and science equally fascinating. Trauma bleeds through generations, words heal the hidden scars.

youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS3WEyx5XeX-o8xRwG-cMlg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    This is one of the most well-written horror stories I've ever read.

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    Oh my, So bad, yet so good. The universe does eventually catch up though,

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.