Horror logo

Winter Roses

A sisters love

By Samantha KingPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

In the dead of the night the winter wind whistled through the trees. The clouds covered the moon and gave the place an ominous darkness that would have anyone on edge. The snow that covered the ground crunched beneath my bare feet.

My toes were cold, but I couldn't stop walking. The blood poured from my face and dripped onto the ground leaving a trail behind me. The only thing that kept me going was my sisters hot breath on the back of my neck. She had to survive. Above all else she had too.

I carried her on my back, She was wearing me down but I trudged on. The thought of the warm fireplace on my face filled my mind. We weren't far now...

"Sister I'm cold, So cooolllddd..."

"I know Raven, we're almost there. Just hold on."

"I'm trying, but I'm scared too."

"It will all be okay just trust me. There's nothing there. Just close your eyes and count to ten and we'll be home. I can see the porch light now!"

"Really? Is Momma gonna be mad at us Chelsea?"

"No Raven, Momma will understand. Now count to ten."

Raven closed her eyes tight...

"One........"

Chelsea thought back, she really couldn't see the light yet. They still had about two miles to home. She just wanted Raven to feel better for a moment. The wind started to pick up and more snow started to fall.

"Two........." Raven counted.

Chelsea's long black hair whipped in her face. She saw some movement against the night up ahead. It startled her but she couldn't quite make it out. It's just a deer she told herself. Her pants started to get drenched around her ankles making her colder.

How she wished she had listened to Momma about always wearing shoes. Never again would she forget them. She saw it again this time a little closer.

"Three....." Raven said her voice shaking more in the cold.

Within seconds the creature appeared out of the darkness, so white it almost blended with snow. It came barreling towards them. All six long bony legs moving like a freight train. Chelsea couldn't but let out a scream. It's head was upside down. It razor sharp teeth gleaming as it ran towards them. The hollow eyes stared deep into Chelsea's soul.

It let out a cry that wasn't human.

"Chelsea!! What is that I can't see!!!"

"Don't open your eyes Raven!"

"Why?!?"

"JUST DON"T RAVEN"

It stopped right in front of Chelsea. Its long skinny body arched over her.

"Aren't you going to run little girl?" It hissed as it circled her.

"Chelsea! Who's Talking?"

"Just keep your eyes closed Raven its not real."

"What's not real?"

The creature reached out a long scraggly finger to grab Chelsea by the leg. It stung as it tore into her.

She got scared and tried to run. It followed closely behind.

"Four..." Raven whispered in Chelsea's ear.

"I'm going to eat your souls!"

"You won't get away!"

Chelsea's legs became weak. She had to stop running or they would never make it. Not together. She slowed to a drudging walk. The monster was upon her again. It kept circling her as she walked.

She closed her eyes.

"Five......"

"Daddy always said monsters aren't real."

"Your Daddy LIED!" The creature said in a deep growling voice.

"You're not real, You're not real, YOU'RE NOT REAL!" She shouted against the sound of the blizzard.

When she opened her eyes again it was gone. Had she really imagined it? She felt pain in her leg and began to walk again.

They were closer now.

"Six......" it was barely noticeable this time.

Chelsea knew she didn't have much longer. Then she was it. The soft yellow glow of the porch light. She finally saw it.

"Hold on Raven! Momma's close!" She shouted.

Chelsea picked up the pace a little bit. The closer she got the more exhausting it seemed.

"Sev....." It trailed off and Raven's body went limp. Chelsea climbed the hill to the house and could see the porch. Raven was heavier now but they finally made it. Chelsea reached for the door handle and collapsed.

The thud startled Mrs. Evans and she ran to the door. She picked up her child and carried her inside. Once they were inside she wrapped her in blankets and began warming her cold little body.

Mrs. Evans dialed 911 and waited for paramedics. What had happened?

Chelsea began waking up. Her mother grabbed her up close and cuddled her.

Frantically she began asking questions.

"What happened? Where's your father? Where are your SHOES?"

Chelsea began recalling the events...

"I remember Daddy said he wasn't feeling well so we left Nana's early, I fell asleep in the back seat while he was driving. I guess he fell asleep too and when I woke up I couldn't wake him up. My head hurts Momma."

"It's okay sweetie I called the doctor they will be here soon."

"Daddy wouldn't wake up so I knew I had to get home so you wouldn't be mad and I knew I had to bring Raven cause you would be more upset if I left her. So i carried her the whole way. Momma where is she?"

"I'm not mad at you sweetie, and you don't have a sister..." Mrs. Evans was shocked. She had miscarried a child shortly after Chelsea and they had dreamed about calling her Raven.

"Yes I do Momma! She was blonde and pretty and sweet. Just like you Momma!" Chelsea was hysterical now.

Mrs. Evans just held her close and sobbed. Raven had watched over her and brought her home.

The next week at Mr. Evans funeral, In the back row near a tall man dressed in black, stood a little blonde girl with a hat. She smiled as her sister laid two roses down in the grave. One for Daddy and one for her.

psychological
1

About the Creator

Samantha King

I am a Freelance and hobby writer. My dreams dictate a lot of my idea's and one day maybe I could be a modern day Stephen King. Of course that is going to take a lot of work. I also really enjoy Nicholas Sparks. I admire both of them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.