Horror logo

Winchester: Child's Play

Part 6

By Jesika RhodesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

So, now that we have established that Tommy was in fact actually there, that reassured me that I was not going insane. I wondered so many times if it was all in my head. Although I knew my kids heard and saw the things I did, I still did not think that they were catching everything. While with both of my children, I would see, out of the corner of my eye, a small someone peeking around the corner or standing in the hall. I would walk by my room and catch a glimpse of someone peeking out from under my covers as if a child playing peek-a-boo. It was always myself, and myself alone, that noticed these things. Perhaps, it is my motherly instinct to always be aware of my surroundings to protect my children, or my children were always too busy playing. Maybe, just maybe, Tommy made himself noticeable to me alone. He was in fact a child and I a mother.

I love my children fiercely, giving them all of my attention and loving them with all of my strength. I am always there for them. Here we have a little boy, alive or not, it was no matter, he was still there at that time… He was alone, and no child should be alone. Maybe he saw a mother in me? Maybe he wanted only my attention for the time being. I couldn’t help but think maybe he did not realize that he was dead. I have read that mediums have been able to speak with spirits. They have made it clear that they did not know they had died, and were just aimlessly wandering. Could he not know, or could he know but just be lonely? Tired of being in that house waiting for someone to notice him. Possibly, this was his house and he died there so long ago and he was trapped there lost in a way. He missed having a mother, or other children to play with. I DID notice him. I couldn’t help but notice him. He was now becoming a part of my everyday and night. He would lurk around corners. While I played with my kids, toys would go off; Toys across the room that weren’t being touched. They would sing and light up, even move around or get placed somewhere else that none of us put them. It was like he was playing with us and with all of the wonderful toys. It was like having another little playful child there with us. There was always a feeling of a presence watching me or standing close. A cold feeling next to me or the feeling of someone touching my hand. It was not a fearful feeling, just a feeling we were not alone.

When the hour would pass to midnight, I would often hear a small child crying. It would wake me and I would rush down the hall to the baby. She was asleep; I would check on my son, he too was asleep. I would turn and hear those little footsteps again running down the hall to my room. As I anxiously walked down the dim lit hallway to my dark room, I did not know what I would find upon entering. It was empty. He had no sense of bedtime as a spirit. Always wanting to play games even in the dead of night. Soon enough, I would just shrug the little noises off and fall back asleep. It was no longer a terrifying experience, but just Tommy playing around. I became used to it in a way. As long as everyone was safe, happy and healthy, it was not an issue. As far as I was concerned, there was nothing I could do to stop it, and he was there first, so we carried on.

1

About the Creator

Jesika Rhodes

I love the paranormal. I have seen a lot through the past 11 years, and have many true stories to tell. If you love the paranormal, relate, or just love a good ghost story, join me to enter parts of my life where the stories come alive.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.