Horror logo

Who is the real monster?

Are humans the real monster, like my lover said? Or is it him?

By stephanie borgesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Karl Fredrickson on Unsplash

For the past five years, I had avoided going to the lake house that was left to me by my great-great-uncle.

Photo by Pascal Bernardon on Unsplash

The house looks like something a rich person would love. Three large bedrooms, two and a half bathrooms. And here is the bonus; an upstairs loft. And best of all, a massive lake to swim in, have parties or meditate.

Yeah, Paradise. So why would I avoid it? I avoid the lake house…because of him. His name is Jaune Wray, and he was naga, a half-human and half serpent creature. We were close, lovers, you could say. Until I found out something about him that I could never forgive him for. Maybe if I tell you the whole story, you will understand. We met when I helped get some frogs out of an old trap and back in the water. Jaune Wray thought I would harm the frogs, so he knocked me out and took me to his nest.

When I woke up, I was bonded with my arms behind my back and my ankles bonded together. Jaune Wray waited until I was awake to know of me.

He was surprised I wasn’t scared of him.

I told him I was helping some frogs out of an old cage. Jaune Wrap was able to talk to the animals. And they Vouch for me. Jaune Wray released me, and we drank tea; it was ginger.

Photo by Dominik Martin on Unsplash

Since that day, every weekend, I would visit him. He said I was the first human who didn’t show him fear and cared about the animals and nature. Jaune Wray would tell me how much he hated humans who hurt nature and wildlife.

To be honest, I hate humans too, I am a loner, and humans are strange things. I wish Humans would understand that everyone must do their part in helping protect nature. I belong to clubs about going green trying to spread the message about Earth. I would tell Jaune Wray that people weren’t getting the message.

Then one year later, when I was on my way to spend the weekend with June Wray, something caught my eye; when I crossed the bridge, it was five floating bodies. It looked like their throats had a big chunk of flesh ripped off. It seems like they died screaming. I called the park ranger to report the dead bodies, but I have informed the dead bodies I found were the men they were looking for. It seems they were squatting, but something made them run.

I walked into my house with the park ranger, we saw dishes piled in my sink, everything trash, broken windows, but what shocked me was blood on the floor. It looked like a body was dragged while bleeding out to the lake.

Suddenly the crime scene investigation team shows up and investigates my lake house. The team had a tough time trying to find out what terrified these men. One thing for sure: there were many small animals in cages that were scared and looked like they were recently injured. So a few officers and I released them into the wild, except for a small fox with an injured paw that could easily be fixed within a couple of days.

My Lakehouse had to be temporarily close for investigation. So I stayed at a hotel and waited till morning to see Jaune Wray.

I walked to the lake; Jaune Wray was happy to see me; when I got into the water for a swim, I asked Jaune Wray about last night. I can’t believe what I heard him say.

“They got what they deserved; they were hurting my animal friends.” He said proudly.

“Jaune Wray, did you kill them?”

“I sure did; they couldn’t scream when I dragged them out the house like a dead moose carcass,”

I looked at him in shock.

“Why so shocked love, you hate humans; this should make you happy; they trashed your home.”

I tried to explain to Jaune Wray that killing isn’t the answer. Yes, humans are stupid, worthless things. But no matter what I did or said, Jaune Wray refused to believe what he did was wrong. So I just told him I didn’t want to see him again. I began to swim towards shore. Jaune Wray wouldn’t let me get out of the water. I fought him. I managed to grab some mud and it in his eyes. Finally, Jaune Wray released me; I got out of the water, grabbed my clothes, and ran. It was a good thing he wasn’t fast on land, only in water. A few days later, I put the house up for sale. But hearing a monster roamed there, no one wanted it. I had to surrender it because I couldn’t make the annual tax payments.

I live in the city in a loft. I still hear stories about people getting dragged into the water by some snake monster or finding dead people near the lake house. I know we have to do our part to protect our planet, but Jaune Wray’s method is not the right way. That is a monster’s way. I don’t want to believe Jaune Wray is a monster.

I hate humans that haven’t changed, but we can talk peacefully and see each other’s point to help the planet. Then, maybe humans can stop being monsters in this world.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

stephanie borges

I've been writing off and on for years; I write short stories, scripts, and blogs. I can't think of anything more relaxing than writing. I also do graphic design.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.