Horror logo

When the Ice Breaks

the repercussions of vanity

By Sydney AtkinsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 9 min read
3

I watch as the one I have gotten closest to skates across the pond with the grace of a gazelle, as a slow tear travels down my face. I will have to betray the best friend I have ever had, all in the name of my grandmother. I don’t have a choice. In approximately 20 seconds her body will be submerged in the icy waters as I push her down while she gasps for air knowing I, her best friend betrayed her. Like I predicted she fell through the ice, not noticing as it began to crack while her face bobs in and out of the chilling waters.

“Help me, please!” my friend screeches. My eyes sting with tears as I push down the only person who ever cared about me. My hands and arms submerged under the blinding pain of the hypothermic waters.

I shouldn’t have gotten attached. I should have been more closed off like Gemma; cold, like Adora. That’s just what my family does, they abuse my weak heart just for the satisfaction of the newest kill. I only held her down for about 5 seconds, then I took out my phone to call the cops.

I knew my cousins would be angry and my grandma devastated. We could find someone else, there would be others I say to myself. I shouldn't have gotten so close to her.

My hands were still numb and trembling as I managed to call 911. They answered right away.

"911 what’s your emergency?"

“Someone drowned, her name is Ana and my name is Sara Beth. We are located at 910 Mary Lane”. The words spilled out of my mouth quickly.

"Ok, we will be right there but…"

I hung up and started to run home. I didn’t want to be there to see the devastating sight of my best friend on a stretcher. I ran home slowed down by the snow. I had no idea how I would be able to face my only two cousins Gem and Adora. Gem, Adora, and I all look drastically different. But, we each have the same eyes. One, dark emerald and one, icy blue. We have the same eyes as our mothers. Adora has dark olive skin with long dark hair that has never been trimmed. Gemma is the palest of all of us, she has porcelain white skin and white-blonde hair. I have long curly hair and dark skin.

Before I could walk through the door I see my grandmother on the porch.

“Where is she? “ My grandma said with her intimidating tone. I stood a beat not wanting to tell her that I betrayed everyone. Adora and Gem were right when they would tease me, saying I was weak and worthless. I swallowed hard and tried to answer with “The police saw the ice start to break and they saved her.”

“She's lying, I know it, “ Adora said, her voice brash and rough.

“Are you lying to me? “ my grandma said.

I shook my head slowly. Her eyes appeared as though they were staring straight into my soul.

“I have been around for a long time and I have seen many liars, tell me the truth!” she scolded.

“Okay, I called the cops,” I said as tears threatened to spill down my cheeks. I held my breath as I await my grandmother’s response. -“We had someone and you blew it. What is wrong with you?”

I softly uttered, “I can’t do it again, I can’t steal another breath, I just can’t.” Tears then began to spill down my cheeks uncontrollably. Almost killing my best friend was the last straw. I did not want to harm anyone anymore.

Gemma and Adora giggle.

“You are such a crybaby,” Adora says.

I tried to ignore them. They did this all the time, but have done worse.

Grandma continued “What will you do? Live on the street away from your family? How dare you disrespect me like this?”

(My mouth was glued shut. I had no idea what to say.)

“Do you want to kill me? Huh? Do you hate me that much?" she says again.

“I don't need to explain what will happen to me if you betray me.” her face was so close I could smell the red wine on her breath.

“I don’t hate you “ I reply in a whisper.

My grandmother is centuries years old yet looks no more than twenty. She has had over 13 husbands and only three children...our moms. They were a mystery to our small town especially since they all died with their hands intertwined at the bottom of the frozen pond.

My grandmother is strange in many ways but the most unsettling reason is her annual ritual. Every year between the dates of November 15th and November 20th, she chooses one of my cousins and me to carry out a murder. We start by getting close to a girl aged 15 and it ends with my grandmother slowly chewing the skin of the bodies that were once warm. In an attempt to preserve her youth. I don’t know what she is or why she does it, all I know is that she has an unwavering hunger for human flesh. One day I asked and all she did was reply “some things are better left unsaid”. I never asked again after that...only behaved.

I noticed my grandmother grab hold of her hip and start to wince.

I start to retract knowing I must only obey my grandmother and nothing else. This is the life I must live. Grandma left and Gemma did not waste a second to shove me hard onto the ground. I got up and watched as they went into the kitchen. I started to hear a muffled voice and see the door slightly cracked so I kneeled down to listen in. I don’t know what I would do if they caught me.

“That’s so perfect, “ Gemma says.

“Grandma has the flowers in her greenhouse” Adora replies.

They went into the cupboard and got two pairs of gloves and walked outside to the greenhouse. In silence, I followed them and started to speculate what they could be doing.

They put on their gloves and picked up a bell-like flower. I recognized this weed-like flower. It’s datura. It’s a flower that is highly toxic with violent side effects: violent behavior, painful photophobia, and severe mydriasis, and amnesia. These are one of the most poisonous flowers in the world.

I watched as they went out and walked toward the only hospital we have in this town. I slowly followed behind them and they didn’t notice. I saw them sneak into the small empty kitchen. Our town is so small, it was not uncommon to have little to no staff in the hospital. I then realized what they were going to do. A nurse noticed me as I motioned for her attention.

“Hey do you need help with something,” she said with a puzzled look.

Barely audible, I said, “Um I think you should go in there."

She walked in and I heard her yelling at them saying she was gonna call the cops. She did. I ran out as fast as possible. I should feel remorse for turning in my cousins.but all I feel is relief. This is payback for every cut and bruise they inflicted upon me. Every snide remark and sneer.

I am tired of being pushed around by everyone. It’s as though I am in the back seat of my own life. My cousins and grandmother are at the steering wheel leading me to be who they want.

I went home hoping that my grandma wouldn’t ask where Gemma and Adora were; thankfully she didn’t. I was sitting at the kitchen table when the phone rang. I just heard my grandma saying “ok we will be there by the morning.”

“What happened, “I said innocently

“Gemma and Adora got arrested, and for poisoning...a jello cup,” my grandma said.

“Oh wow, “ I said idiotically.

She sat for a bit and took out a roll of cookie dough and went to the cupboard to take out a bag of a substance that looked like lavender. It wasn’t something I recognized.

“What’s that?”

“Something that will get your cousins out of jail.”

I watched as she measured exactly 8 leaves of the plant per cookie then dyed the cookie dough red.

That day was absolutely exhausting so I went to my room to sleep.

I woke up with my bones feeling sore and heavy. I tried to get ready with my eyes barely opening. By the time I managed to go downstairs, I was stopped in my tracks by my grandma. She looked like every other mom in this small town with a spray tan, platinum blonde hair, and huge black glasses.

We went to the police station and she quickly came out with an empty plate in less than three minutes. She was smiling from ear to ear on the way towards me.

“Now next stop, to the hospital” the breath left my lungs as I thought about what she could do to my dear friend.

My heart almost fell out of my chest as my grandmother cracked the window to my friend’s hospital room. I broke when I saw the scared look in my friend’s wide eyes when we came in.

I can’t forget the way she began to scream before my grandmother set out to consume her youthful skin abruptly and mercilessly in exchange for renewed youth. I squeezed my eyes hard not wanting to see the blood gushing on the white sheets. Or the skinless corpse I considered my very best friend being consumed by my grandmother.

I couldn’t look anymore. I closed my eyes and squeezed my legs together and started to let out small whimpered sobs. My grandma told me it was over and we crawled out of the window. I couldn’t look at her, the woman who once looked like my grandmother now looks like a wild animal ready to rip her prey into shreds. We walked past the police officers, they were paralyzed. That’s what the plant does, I thought to myself.

I clenched my fists tightly as we near the icy pond, and before I knew it I pushed my grandmother in. I shoved her into the freezing water that I knew so well. She tried to fight me, but I easily overpowered her as I have done for years. My arms were cold as I shoved her in, not letting her move. I stopped when she finally sank.

All I could think about was how my pain was ignored and forgotten. How my sick heart was abused for her gain. How could the 16 years of my life be spent for someone else? The burden of every breath I took has been placed upon my soul. My cousins and I have all dealt with these things. But, they chose to gang up on me and make me feel awful about myself inflicting the cuts and the bruises I have had since childhood.

It’s over now. I am at peace. My mother is gone. My cousins are in prison. I have no idea where I am headed, but I can survive any pain life throws at me. The icy, debilitating waters that ended the lives of so many will now be my new beginning.

supernatural
3

About the Creator

Sydney Atkinson

I hope you enjoy my short stories. I am a young aspiring author at fourteen years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.