Horror logo

What Have I Gotten Into

Beware the shadows that watch you at night...

By Bunny Published 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

The lights darkened once more before blinking back to full brightness. They had been doing such for hours, as Rylie rushed around the apartment. They were packing as quickly as they could. Once more, the lights flickered, and for a moment Rylie thought they saw someone watching through the window. But no. That was impossible. The curtains were still covering them and as much as the lights flickered, there was no storm. Just a threat in the air.

Something was coming.

A crack echoed through the apartment, causing Rylie to pause in their packing for a single second. Another flickering of the lights showcased a figure now standing in the hallway, but Rylie just hissed and continued to hurry in their packing. There was no way that they were stopping over some tricks. They needed to get as many of their notes and belongings out of the place as they could before it was too late.

Too late. Rylie was far past that point.

The lights didn’t flicker this time, and instead shut off completely. Another crack was heard and Rylie zipped up the bag they were filling, flinging it up and over their back before turning and coming face to face with a shadow that towered over them.

You saw something you should not have, woman. The beast growled down at them, reaching out with a shadowy hand to trace a claw down their cheek. Rylie batted the claw away before stepping back and glaring up at the beast.

“You call me woman one more time, and we’re really gonna have a problem. And it won’t be your little boss.” Rylie spun on their heels and took off running through the house, but was stopped by something curling around their ankle, catching them and sending them smashing into the ground. Their face ached, and their head throbbed on the impact. As they looked back over their shoulder, the shadow beast was looming over them again.

Your ways are of no importance to us. You die the same.

“Yeah well, it’s important to me. I’d rather die not being misgendered, thanks.” Rylie’s head throbbed as they fought against the tentacle wrapped around their ankle. The beast stood above them, staring at them as they tried. But did not let up the wrap, nor the tightness. “You could work with me here, you big oaf. Or you could fucking kill me and be done with it.”

In time. You are strange. He said you would not fight. Yet you are fighting back. Why do you struggle? You know you cannot win. The curious tone in the beast made Rylie stop moving for only a moment. Then they picked up the pace and continued to struggle against the shadows around their ankle. You are a curious creature of no genders.

“Rylie. My name is fucking Rylie. You could have at least learned that, before coming to kill me. What are you new at this?”

I am Mollmozir, and I am not new. I have been alive for millions of years. Yet I have never met a creature such as you, Rylie. With that, the shadow tentacle unwrapped from Rylie’s ankle and moved back to Mollmozir’s shadowed body. As Rylie watched, the beast in front of them started to shift into a cat-like form, with large golden and silver eyes that blinked up at her through the darkness. You mistook my reason for being here. I work for no one but myself.

“Wait, so you don’t work for Zephyr and his cult of world destroying idiots?” Rylie rubbed at their ankle before curling their legs up to their chest and frowning at the now cat looking shadow beast. This honestly wasn’t the strangest thing she had seen, but it was certainly odd.

No. Of course not. I enjoy your domain too much to see it destroyed. But you've seen my true form, so you must parish. The beast turned once again into a large monstrous creature and Rylie sighed before laughing softly. This was ridiculous. They were going to die because this thing thought they saw their true form? Well, they hadn’t until Mollmozir showed themselves. Which was on them, and not Rylie.

“Yeah, not buying it buddy. Because I was busy running from the evil cult, and don’t know what your form is, unless this is it and, in that case… you showed it to me yourself.”

I did… no… you… in the window?

“Nope. Was totally packing, dude.”

Oh. Well then… In an instant the beast was again in the form of a small cat. It meowed for a moment before licking himself and staring up at Rylie. Where are we going then?

“We? We are not going anywhere… I am going far away. You are going back to hell or wherever you live.” Rylie had enough of the shit and stood up, shaking out their foot before picking up their bag again. “I have a world ending cult to avoid, and I don’t need a demonic cat like thing following me around making my life worse. Plus, you’re a black cat. That’s like asking for bad luck.”

That is a misconception and I am offended! Mollmozir followed Rylie as they moved out of the house. The two headed down the street. Rylie tried to shoo off the cat, while the demon continued to follow along behind. Now why am I not allowed to be offended? You were offended when I misgendered you… but when you call me something I am not? How is that fair?

“You are a demon, and are trouble with a capital T. Meanwhile, I’ve found it very hard for a very long time to be able to be comfortable in my own skin. I’m non-binary and I won’t have anyone take that away from me, not even you demon.”

Huh. Very well. But if you are going to fight against the end of the world, I am coming with you. Because I do not want this world to end any more than you do, Rylie Flynn.

The two stopped in the middle of the street and stared at each other. Mollmozir grinning a mouth fill of teeth showing as it’s eyes glowed in the moonlight. Rylie sighed and held out a hand, a long black shadowy tentacle came out from under the cat, wrapping around Rylie’s hand to shake it. They were a sight, if anyone were to look to see them.

And someone was.

A set of green eyes, glaring from the shadows.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Bunny

Hello everyone! My name is Bunny (well nickname is anyways - pay no attention to the name behind the curtain). I go by she/her, and am a panromantic asexual. I have a great love for everything comics, horror, and fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.