Horror logo

What Happened to Me Yesterday

Short Story featuring Mystery, Suspense, and Thrilling.

By Kevin GabeciPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1
Photo by Mitchell Bowser on Unsplash

It was just like any other Friday afternoon for me, books and solitude until something happened. Yesterday was heavily raining and you could’ve felt the earth pulses all around you meeting with the steady drumbeats of liquid. But the mighty and scary clouds up above us don’t feel empathy for the poor earth ground. They are armed with their tear shape bombs that destroy cities of millions of ants. The dirt mixes with water and turns into mud. Water droplets accumulate at the beautiful leaves surfaces but the potential energy they hold goes over their head. They slip down and transform into kinetic power which in contact with the ground does colossal damage to little creatures nearby. What happened in this night of soothing rain it’s still a mystery for me. I will never forget what I felt on that day and my confusion.

Before I continue with my story let me give you some background information. I live in a small town in the high desert of the Trans-Pecos in far West Texas, called Marfa. It was first built as a water stop in the early 1880s but now has become a popular tourist attraction and a major center of minimalist art. We have also Marfa’s famous ghost lights, which is a paranormal sighting of ‘Ghost lights’ or weird mysterious lights that mostly happen at highway 90. I haven’t seen these lights myself but my father swears on his life that he has encountered them once before when he was younger. My house is about three hundred square meters, a three stores building where we live, a barn, a big dog house.

Photo by Sofia Guaico on Unsplash

Sadly though our German Shepherd has passed away just recently and we still haven’t gotten around to moving his home. I think we are in denial still about him that’s why we haven’t moved it or to keep his spirit around I guess. Our whole family sorrowed for about a month because he was just like a member of our house. I was sorrowing too but there was something off about that situation that kept bothering me. The night when he passed away we were playing catch the ball, and he was very tired so he sat at the end of my bed after we finished. I was reading and listening to the sound of rain since coincidentally that day was also raining but not as bad as yesterday. Darsie would love to play catch with me or anyone of my family members, to be honest. She was so energetic and also trained, I had made her learn that when I go like “Readyyyy, Goo” that’s when she’d start running towards the ball. Darsie slept with me every time that it rained or was thundering, it was something really cute of her. I always thought that she felt safe with me and that’s why she would come. I know that I have treated her in a spoiled manner but I loved her so much.

That day she didn’t stay to sleep with me but went in the middle of the night while the rain was still pouring down at her own house outside. That was rather weird but I didn’t think much about it at the time, but now that I think again it wasn’t that odd. Yesterday, I was home alone once again. My parents were at a business meeting outside of the town and my little brother was at Max’s house, they were probably going to stay playing PlayStation all night since it just had gotten out just a few weeks ago. I was alone but this wasn’t really bothering me as I’m used to staying by myself. I had a school project to finish also so the heavy rain was helping me stay focused on my task. I’m one of those people who enjoy the sound of the raindrops touching the ground. After a few hours of working on the school project, I went back to reading ‘The Great Gatsby’. I was fully involved in the story and time had passed without me noticing. I was generally having a great time the story was really interesting and thought-provoking.

I only noticed it was late when I started to yawn and there I saw the clock had clicked over 12. I put my book down and prepared to go to sleep when suddenly I hear a noise coming from outside of my house. At first, I couldn’t make it what it was but later it hit me. It was a dog bark very loudly and sounding like it was getting closer. I look outside my bedroom window but nothing was in sight. I was in shock as I clearly could hear a dog barking but there were just rain and thunders. While searching frantically outside from my window, I heard the dog’s bark again and this time I couldn’t believe my own ears. It sounded like Darsie’s bark and froze for a moment. My whole buddy shivering, I had goosebumps everywhere and I couldn’t place where the barking was coming from.

She was one of the best dogs anyone could have ever wished for and everyone who knew her said the same thing. I tried calling my parents but the line was down, I guess because of the thunder and the rain something might have been broken along the way. This is where I started to get really scared and panicing. I couldn’t calm down and didn’t know what to do. I rolled myself into a ball on top of my bed and started thinking if I was imagining this scenario. However, the dog barks didn’t stop it sounded like now it was inside my house and there’s when I snapped. I had thought of every illogical explanation about the situation and I couldn’t take anymore so I grabbed my torch and went to investigate. With tears rolling down my face as now I was convinced that were Darsie’s barks and the torch on my hand I was steadily going down the stairs.

Barely seeing anything as the lights were also out because of the storm I was left only with my torch’s light. The scene was that of a horror movie as now I was in my living room and couldn’t see anything. Strangely the dog barks went silent the moment I was downstairs. I was looking around and out of nowhere a huge light came from a thunder which I suppose was released nearby, and I couldn’t believe my eyes anymore. In that split second of the bright flashing light, I managed to see what looked like a dog running outside my house.

I was in total disbelief and still don’t know where I found the courage to follow the dog outside. When I was out I heard the bark coming one last time from Darsie’s cottage but this one was different. The bark had more like a sad tone to it which surprisingly made me rush over. While I was looking around her dog house my mind was full of memories. I was really sad and scared at the same time.

Once again there was nothing inside, meanwhile, the thunders were getting worse and I was soaked wet but couldn’t feel the cold or the wind. Inside I saw a small hole that hadn’t been there before and that grew my interest as I remember really well not seeing that hole before. It looked small enough for me to winch through and I thought I have to get to the bottom of this situation, and I did literally and figuratively. The small hole looked like a mini-tunnel and it connected me with a small underground room a few meters away. This was way beyond what I thought and nothing was making sense. It was very strange, the room had no way for the light to come in not even through the tunnel, and was a really narrow place.

When I got out of the mini-tunnel and into the room I scratched my arm a little bit and I saw my blood droplets get into contact with what seemed like a newspaper in the ground. But I couldn’t really figure out which newspaper was at a glance so I skipped it over while being amazed by the art in this room. Interestingly enough I had noticed that I couldn’t hear the rain anymore or even the thunder. The whole room was painted in a bright white color but it looked gloomy since there was only my small torch lighting it. The art that was painted on the walls was weird and I couldn’t figure out what it was describing or meaning but it looked cool.

A bit of time passed and suddenly an eerie sound filled the atmosphere down there. My body shivered but I shrugged it off and waved my torch around trying to look for anything inside this room. The newspaper that I had spilled my blood previously, was actually really old and there were a few others like that there too. Strangely now I wasn’t feeling scared anymore. I took one of the magazines and started reading it. The headline was from 1927, and the title was, ‘Man saved by his dog in the heroic act.’ Weirdly enough the dog was also a German Shepherd. I was a lot more intrigued by that article and was franticly reading to get ahead on the story.

Suddenly I could hear someone behind my back. I put my newspaper down, turned around and I saw the man from the article sitting on the floor petting his dog, at that moment my knees were weak and I fell on the floor in front of him. “ Don’t be scared little boy, I’m not here to harm you. Actually, I saved your life.”- said the old man. “What .. what do you mean by that?”- I asked while my voice was shaking like never before. “A long time ago this place was hit by a really bad thunderstorm and I owned the house that you are in right now. I had just moved in from Europe with my daughter and I didn’t know anyone in the town.

My first friend that I made was the dog that you see here and I treated him well, also build him a small dog house.”- the old man gulped and continued. “When the thunderstorm started back then it was brutal, immediately thunders hit the house and viciously killed my daughter in the process. I was also stunned by the impact and couldn’t understand anything at first. Later I saw myself outside of the burning house and my dog had saved me but my precious Marfa… A bolt of lightning managed to hit your house’s electrical setting and set everything on fire. Your house by now should be only a set of ruins..” — the old man got interrupted. I started crying loudly and couldn’t believe a single thing that he said. “Liar, this can’t be true!”- I yelled and stood up wanting to escape that room through the tunnel but the old man didn’t move and continued petting the dog. I was really intrigued by it and kept staring at them.

Without raising his head to see me he continued his story. “This is Maria, your dog Darsie’s great-great predecessor. I used her to trick you into coming here to safety. You know Darsie is a special dog, she ..”- he got interrupted again. “I can’t take this any longer, I’m leaving this place!”- I shouted and continued to escape that place. Going through the small tunnel rain and thunder sounds started to come back slowly. I was crying and weeping the whole time I was crawling out. Totally in disbelief of what had just happened.

Photo by Vladimir Kramer on Unsplash

When I got outside I heard police sirens and the house was actually burned. It was like the old man said and it was scary how right he was. I didn’t tell anyone about what happened yesterday not even my parents, and when they asked me how did I manage to get outside I lied. I didn’t want anyone to hear my story and think I was crazy.

Now we are staying at my uncle’s house and I searched on the internet about the newspaper the old man was in. After a couple of hours of searching, I found the exact same article. I got curious about the hole in the ground so I went back to see if it was there today but I couldn’t find it anymore so I went back to finish the article.

The newspaper didn’t mention another body which was really weird but then it hit me. Maybe they didn’t mention her because they didn’t find her body because it was reduced to ashes and yet her spirit wasn’t erased and roamed around, maybe that’s the Marfa that we all know by now…

1

About the Creator

Kevin Gabeci

Create with Heart and Build with Mind | Programmer with a Passion for Writing | Crypto is the Future #Bitcoin #Dogecoin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.