Horror logo

What Are You Afraid Of?

What would you do for love…

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 6 min read
2

“The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window.”

“Dude, stop right there.” Garrett was quickly stopped by Frank.

“What did I say?”

Frank stood up from his seat on the sand and started mocking Garrett’s menacing stare over his glasses, “but one night, a candle burned in the window. Why would anybody ever notice that one candle? It means nothing. The story’s already lame. Boooooooo!”

Stacy joined in and yelled taunts at him too. They chucked empty beer cans at each other, and all began to laugh around the fire pit. Garrett and Frank both thumped back onto the ground.

“Well then, tough guy,” Garrett said. “What scares you, Frank?”

“My girl every week when she cries over the dumbest…”

Stacy pushed Frank while laughing, but it didn’t seem like she really liked the joke.

“No, really. What actually scares you?”

“If I’m being honest. That guy over there.”

They all turned and looked at a shadowy figure sitting closer to the ocean than they were. With his back turned and the sun quickly going down, you could only really see his small Afro and dark-skinned arms.

“Doesn’t look scary to me. Looks like he’s staring at the ocean for the first time. Some of them are nice.” Stacy said.

“Yea, what about him?” Garrett was nervous about what Frank would say next. Frank took a drink of his sixth beer.

“Look at him. He’s full of anger and rage. Those people never have enough and aren’t happy with anything we give them.”

We?” Garrett did the menacing glasses look again. “You’re a white college kid with rich parents and a Porsche. I only study because I have to take over my dad’s business one day. And Stacy makes loads of cash for being trendy and hot. No offense Stacy. We’re all just…”

“Privileged?” Frank said motioning air quotes.

“Yea, Frank. Privileged! So, maybe you are scared of him. But, maybe we shouldn’t be, Jerk.” Garrett stumbled off the ground and wobbled towards the ocean like a toddler walking in quicksand.

“Where are you going, weirdo?”

“Frank promises to stop being so stupid!”

Frank and Stacy’s shouts slowly faded as Garrett got closer to the crashing waves. He was determined to prove Frank wrong, and maybe even himself. Part of him disagreed with Frank, but another part felt like someone was saying aloud the things he wanted to express himself. He’s never had a face-to-face conversation with a Black person or even shared a classroom with one. Sometimes he’s happy he hasn’t. That awkwardness showed up immediately as he reached the stranger.

“Hey, bro.” Garrett looked down at the sitting man and didn’t know if he should stand or sit. The man never turned his head.

“My friends and I are playing a game around our fire and wanted to invite you over.”

The man didn’t move.

“You okay? If you’re meditating or something, I’ll just head back. But, I just wanted to…”

“What game are you playing?” Garrett jumped in surprise. The man’s voice was deep and poised.

“We’re asking each other what we’re afraid of.”

“What was your answer?”

“I didn’t really answer yet. We just started asking…” The man interrupted him.

“What is your answer?”

“I’m not sure. Never really thought about it.”

“That’s disappointing.” The man lowered his head slowly.

“Sorry to disappoint you, Master Guru.”

“It’s not just you.” He replied.

“Well, what is it?”

“I’ve been studying this planet all my life. I didn’t ask to be here, but I have a purpose. I’ve been given a task. A task that I realized some time ago I may not accomplish.”

“You sound like me.”

“Like you?” The man grew curious.

“Yeah, right when I was born, my dad told me what I had to do and needed to do but never asked what I wanted to do. Sounds like your life.”

“What’s your dad’s name?”

“Connor Sampson.”

“Yes, Connor. Sorry for your loss.”

“He’s not dead.”

“Okay.”

“He’s just missing.” Garrett finally sat down on the cooling sand. “He’s been gone for three months. But he’ll be back.”

“Is that what you believe?”

“I have to.”

“I‘ve heard that before.”

“I guess. You say you’ve been given a task. What is it?”

“I don’t believe that you’re ready yet for that, Garrett.”

“Try me. What are you so afraid of?” Garrett nudged the stranger, but his body stayed solid.

“I am not from here, Garrett.”

“Wait. How do you know my name?”

“I’ve been watching you, your friends, your family, and all your people.”

“Okay, this is quickly getting weird.” Garrett stood up without any hesitation.

“SIT DOWN, SON!”

Garrett couldn’t move. He was stunned and felt his heart beating uncontrollably.

“Dad?” Garrett looked around the growing darkness confused. “Did you hear that? Whoa, I thought I heard my dad.”

“No, Garrett, I didn’t. But, I can answer some of your questions.”

“Who are you?”

“I am a traveler. I have been on Earth for nineteen years and have been tasked to study your planet as only Black men. I have been in prison, killed, beaten, rich, and in poverty. I have been a father, a teacher, an activist, an athlete, and even a president.”

“I need to sit down. I drank too much. Why are you doing this?”

“I’m doing this because of my purpose. My purpose is to find a way to save your planet. And if you believe your dad is just missing, my plans aren’t working quick enough.”

“Save my planet from what, dude?”

“From anything causing it to die, Garrett.”

“What does this have to do with my dad?”

“I’ve only been given twenty years to save your planet, and things have only worsened over time. So, I’ve decided to take more final decisions with your dad and others.”

“Like what?” Garrett didn’t know how much of this he was believing. But, he was still intrigued.

“You kill your babies. You hurt the women that bring you into the world. You poison the planet that gives you life. You hurt the people with different flesh than you. You use violence to get your way. And you do this without caring for anyone or anything.”

“Where is my dad?” Garrett insisted.

“I erased him.” The stranger looked Garrett in the eyes.

“What? Where’s my dad?” Garrett was filled with anger.

“Son, I’m gone.” The stranger’s voice changed, and Garrett saw clearly where the voice came from this time.

“What is happening? I need to go.” Garrett began to storm away.

“Honey, it’s okay. We’re right here.”

Garrett slowly turned around and saw the stranger smiling directly at him.

“Mom? But, you were just…” A tear fell from his face.

The stranger’s voice changed again.

“Your mom and dad were not very different from each other. From the mass murderers, the school shooters, the crooked cops.”

“My parents weren’t murderers!” Garrett’s tears began to pour harder. “They AREN’T murders!”

“No, that’s true. But, how far off were your parents? I told you I’ve been given twenty years to save your planet. Well, I’ve finally decided on the solution tonight. To save your planet, I must erase all the racists immediately. Everyone afraid of this skin. Who benefits from bondage, torture, inequality, and pain. And I will use their evil for good.”

“No, no, no, this isn’t real.” Garrett tripped backward on the sand. The stranger rose up and stomped toward him.

“Dude, stop right there.” The stranger’s voice shifted again.

“Frank? Frank!” Garrett could hear loud screams from Stacy behind him as he crawled backward. Then, nothing.

“Because your family seems to like unfair advantages, Garrett. I will give you a head start. Tell everyone you know that I’m coming. But remember, you will not escape your fate. You created this situation. And I will end you all as fast as I can!”

Garrett jumped to his feet and ran as fast as he could towards the dimming campfire where he left Frank and Stacy. The beach grew darker and darker.

Then.

Pitch black.

All Garrett could hear was waves crashing into each other violently. He stood still, breathing heavily and sobbing as quietly as he could.

Then, closely in his ear, he heard a familiar voice say,

“What are you so afraid of?”

supernatural
2

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.