Horror logo

Weird haunted office

Weird haunted office

By MD. RAFIQUL ISLAM MURAD Published 22 days ago 3 min read
horror image

When people think of ghosts, they often imagine something terrifying or harmful. However, today I want to share with you a few (or perhaps just one) ghostly activities experienced right in the heart of Kolkata, which are neither frightening nor harmful.

In a famous building in central Kolkata, which is around a couple of hundred years old, many government and private offices, restaurants, salons, etc., are currently operating. I work in one of these offices. It’s well known that this ancient palace once belonged to an influential British individual, and there have been many murders or deaths there in the past. The events I describe here happen in our presence even today.

One night, a senior staff member was tasked with photocopying a large number of documents using the office Xerox machine. After dinner, he returned to the office, arranged the papers on a table, and started copying them one by one.

After copying several bundles, he decided to staple them before continuing. Realizing he hadn't brought the stapler, he went to the next room to fetch it from the officer's table. Upon returning, he found all the papers neatly stapled and organized on the table! Astonished, he knew no one else was around at that hour. Who did the work then?

Ignoring this, he resumed copying the remaining papers. But then something curious happened. As soon as he placed the copied papers on the table, they automatically got stapled and sorted. After three bundles were stapled like this, he got scared and ran away. The next morning, he finished the remaining copies before the office started, without any ghostly assistance this time.

It seemed that the ghost must have been skilled in clerical work during its lifetime! The next incident, however, tells a different story.

My boss had a heap of notices to prepare and distribute, which meant skipping meals. One day, he asked me to stay back after office hours to help him. While I was working at my desk and he was at his, another colleague had gone to get food. Suddenly, my boss called me via intercom and asked me to check who was working on the computer in the next room. I found no one there and informed him. He then told me to resume my work.

Back at my desk, as I was about to drink water, the phone rang loudly. It was my boss again, asking me to translate some Thai text on his computer using Google Translate. Suddenly, he pointed towards the sound of typing from the next room. I went again but found no one.

My boss suggested we leave and complete the work the next morning. He didn't even want to shut down the computer. We left quickly, meeting our colleague at the door without explaining anything.

The next morning, I arrived early to find that the unfinished notice from yesterday was completed and saved on my boss’s computer. I printed it out, and when my boss arrived, I showed it to him. The notice was written in perfect British English.

Seven more notices needed to be prepared in just three days. My boss decided to stay in the office from Tuesday to Saturday to finish the work on time. With two more colleagues also staying back, he managed to complete everything by Friday. He handed me the printouts and left, asking me to send them on time. I read through the notices, all impeccably written in British English.

It became clear that the ghost was not only an expert writer but also an efficient administrator. How else could my boss have managed to get everything done so flawlessly in such a short time?

Since the incidents are recent and true, I have refrained from disclosing any names or addresses out of respect. I hope readers will forgive this minor omission.

slasherurban legendtravelsupernaturalpsychologicalpop culturemovie reviewmonsterinterviewhow tohalloweenfootagefictioncelebrities

About the Creator

MD. RAFIQUL ISLAM MURAD

For more than 3+ years I have been making my best stories. I am very happy to be able to present my best stories to the audience so that they can find success in their lives.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • J. L. Green20 days ago

    Ooo, I always love a good true-story haunting!

MD. RAFIQUL ISLAM MURAD Written by MD. RAFIQUL ISLAM MURAD

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.