Horror logo

We Continued To Make Up Predictions Which Grew Steadily Worse

We just unleashed the horror that lied within the haunted mansion.

By Mubassira MahatabPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 10 min read
5
The Haunted Mansion

The sky was filled with a blanket of stars that stretched to infinity. The silvery moon peeked out from the grey clouds and the crystal clear lake mirrored the moon which shone like a mid-tone gray medallion. Sandra, Carla, Tulip, Penny and I were taking a stroll down the street. We were chatting about our school stuffs and other things as well. Suddenly, to change the topic Carla commenced to tell some funny jokes. We all the time or sometimes liked to call Carla 'The Queen of Jokes' because among all of us she had the very most sense of humor. With a start, our gales of laughter came to an abrupt halt when we came across the abandoned mansion which lied deserted in the middle of the street. A shiver of apprehension ran down our spines at the very first sight of it. Some foxes were seen creeping out from the back of the building. They had sharp teeth and was drooling too. All of our faces became a mask of terror when we were spotted by those horrifyingly creatures.

"I-I think it's best if we just get out from here," said Tulip with a crack in her voice.

And we started to walk as fast as our legs could carry us to take our eyes from that terrifying view.

The next day, was bright and filled with sunshine. The blue sky was dotted with white fluffy clouds that drifted lazily in the gentle breeze. The dappled sun shone through the trees creating mysterious shadows. Penny and I were walking to school together with a book on our hands for last minute preparations before our test. We entered the classroom and got ourselves seated in our respective seats. My eyes rolled towards Sandra and I spotted something rather unusual about her behavior. First of all, I thought that she must be afraid because of the pressure of the test that was impending on her but when I looked at her closely I saw that she was sweating heavily and by the look on her face I could tell that she was hiding something. I was dreading to ask Sandra that what might be wrong with her? But I just couldn't at that time. After the end of the examination, I rushed towards her and asked her my question nonchalantly.

"Hey Sandra! Are you all right? You seem a bit stressed."

"I am completely fine.... But the thing is I have been thinking about telling something to you, Carla, Tulip and Penny from yesterday night. But I just don't know that whether or not you guys would like to hear it...." She said those sentences being very frightened, like I was about to abduct her.

"Oh! Well then what is it?" I asked her reluctantly.

"It's a bit hard to say it though... Ahh.... After our walk in front of that haunted mansion last night I was wondering if we could explore what's in it. I have always been curious to know that what exactly is inside of it and for what reason people call that place haunted." She said sheepishly.

My jaw dropped when I just heard her saying those words and became completely speechless for ten minutes. Was she out from her mind? Who on earth would possibly want to go to that place? No one can't even stand in front of it for nearly a minute and here she was saying about visiting that place!

I gathered up my courage and said, "Sandra have you gone out from your mind? That place is dangerous, I am not going there and I think that Penny, Carla and Tulip won't agree too."

By saying their names, they immediately came towards us and by the look on their faces we could tell that they eavesdropped on us. All three of them were also surprised by what Sandra was saying.

"So I guess none of you is agreed to go there...?" asked Sandra sadly.

We didn't want to break Sandra's heart because she was our best friend. All of us wanted to say 'no' but we just couldn't utter that single word from our mouths. She almost came to the verge of her tears. We didn't have any idea what to say to her, and then suddenly.....

"OKAY! WE WILL GO TO THE MANSION WITH YOU!" All of us shouted together and also being disturbed at Sandra.

"Great! Then all of you meet me tonight in front of that place," said Sandra bracingly.

"TONIGHT?!" All of us freaked out.

"Yep!" Said Sandra. And she left. As she walked away, there was a playful skip to her step. All of us were completely perplexed. We didn't even had any sort of idea that why did we agreed on her.

All of a sudden, night felled so quickly. Foxes started to emerge from their dens and cats were hissing in the shadows. Even with the police patrols a sense of paranoia was creeping into all of our minds (except Sandra). Not a single shred of daytime's warmth was in the ambience. The absence of human became even more conspicuous which accentuated the grimness of the place. We came in front of the mansion, the grasses were all brown in color, there was a dusty board with something written on it, I removed the dust from it and read the first few letters which were visible in front of my eyes. It said 'Gray...' something. The few branches of the trees were entwined with each other forming a spider's net which seemed to stretch all around the yard. We went a bit further, pushed open the door and the first thing that covered our full face was a spider's web.

"AHHH! GROSS!"

We got rid of that thing and went inside. The floors were all dusty and the windows were locked tightly. While we were exploring, the door just got shut by itself. We turned back to see who exactly did that but sadly it wasn't anybody. We were staring from one person to another. And in the next minute, one of the windows just got opened by itself.

"Didn't we just saw that the windows were locked tightly?" Tulip said staring at the open window.

"The window probably just got opened by the wind and the door got closed by it too I guess. There is a wind storm going on outside by the way." Carla said being worried.

We also saw a chandelier on top and underneath it was a dining table. By the size of the table we realised that in this house a nuclear family used to live once. I decided to take a look upstairs, while I was walking on the stairs I found a very interesting piece of information. There was a picture of the whole family who used to live in this mansion and also a necklace with a ruby as a locket. I turned around to call Penny to check on this and saw something which I couldn't even believe my eyes. Penny wasn't there! I called the others and asked them where did Penny went? And they just couldn't believe too on what I just said. She was standing in the hall room a few seconds ago and suddenly she just vanished.

"Penny! Penny! Penny where are you?" All of us shouted out.

But there wasn't any sign of her. Suddenly, Carla found a piece of cloth, it had blue and white stripes on it which directly indicated that it was a piece of Penny's shirt. All of us became extremely worried sick and petrified too.

"It's all your fault Sandra! You were the one who made us come at this stupid place! And now, we have lost Penny because of you!" Tulip cried out.

Sandra didn't find any words to comfort Tulip. It was all her fault by the way. She was the one who put her friends in danger. We decided to search the place to find any sign of Penny. Tulip and Carla went to the left while Sandra and I went to the right side of the building. We were passing through a long alley inside the house surrounded by statues of lions in which fire was burning inside the mouth of it and in the middle of it was a long red carpet. Spiders' web and dust was covering all of the things. A few minutes passed by, and we were still searching for our friend. Suddenly, from nowhere a blood stained knife just landed in front of our foot. We took a deep breath and screamed at the top of our voices and started to run away from it as fast as our legs could carry us. While running, we bumped into Carla and Tulip. They were also coming towards us running and screaming.

"Did you guys saw a blood stained knife?!" asked Carla being amazed.

"Yeah!" Sandra and I said together.

We continued to make up predictions which grew steadily worse. And in the next minute, there was a horrifying sound coming from the door that was behind us. The door creaked open and a chilling air and terrifying sound as well came out from it. A shiver of apprehension ran down our spines and a gnawing sensation also grew in the pit of our stomachs. We couldn't even pluck up the courage to see what was behind us. Sandra decided to turn her head slightly and saw something which blew up her mind. There was hooded man standing at the back of us with his mouth wide open and also he had a long black coloured ripped cape behind him. He started to chase us and we ran for our lives.

The hooded man

We found a room in front us and locked ourselves inside it and in next to no time the hooded man just vanished! The room that we were in was just no ordinary room it was a hall of mirrors with different shapes!

We had no other choice but to commence our journey inside it because the door got locked up tight and it was not possible to open it without its keys. We saw ourselves in various forms when we were looking at the mirrors some us were fat, some became extremely thin and also big or small. While walking inside it we found a door ahead of us and got ourselves out from there.

"That mirror place was making me sick!" Tulip said being disgusted.

It had been nearly 2 hours and we still didn't find any trace of Penny. All of us became even more worried sick. Did we lose Penny forever or is she still in here? Suddenly I tripped onto something and saw it was Penny's phone!

"Guys! Look! I found Penny's mobile phone! She must be near somewhere. Keep searching!" I said being delighted.

All of us were trying our best to find her and found a large box blocking our way. We pushed it away and saw a person. IT WAS PENNY! But her eyes were tightly shut and she was not responding to our calls.

"Penny! Penny wake up!" We shouted at her.

I took her into my arms and there was no breath, no pulse. She just laid motionlessly on my arms and her angelic smile was still smiling at me.

Thanks a lot for your patient reading. If you like this story, please give me a tip and a heart for sure as a gesture of encouragement.

Read also: Her voice dropped to a whisper I Could See Its Eyes Glistening in the Dark We All Had Different Idea About What to do With The Parcel It Was The Same Bus I Got Onto Everyday But That Day As I Sat down, I Sensed Something Was Different

fiction
5

About the Creator

Mubassira Mahatab

Hello everyone I am Mahita a student and I love to see the world through my imaginations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.