Horror logo

Watch Out

It wasn’t supposed to happen like this.

By Katelyn JuddPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

It was June 17, 2015, and there I was walking down the streets of San Francisco. It was a nice sunny day that causes me to slowly start dripping sweat down my back. I moved to town last weekend and I came out to the city in search of new job as a chef. I went to every restaurant that was near but none of them appealed to me. It was starting to get dark outside but I decided to check out one last restaurant before returning home. When I walked in, I couldn’t help but notice the most handsome and amusing person I’ve ever seen before. I was so distracted watching him serve people their meals that I forgot I was looking for a job and not a future husband. Caught in the moment, I thought to myself, “I have to get to know him, I have to know everything about him”. He looked charming but yet shy, like he was lost but trying to find himself. I knew that I needed to get a job at this restaurant.

While I was day dreaming, he approached me and said, “Hello my name is Justin, how can I help you?”

I was so nervous and my hands started sweating but I calmed down and replied, ‘’Hi my name is Piper and I’m looking for a job as a chef.” He offered me a tour around the restaurant and gave me an application for me to fill out.

After we were done, he walked me to the exit and said, “I will contact you to let you know when you start working.”

I opened the door to exit the restaurant and said, “Thank you, I’ll be expecting your phone call.” I was walking back home with the biggest smile on my face and I couldn’t get his handsome smile out of my head. I woke up the next morning and the first thing I did was look at the phone to see if I had received a text message from Justin and to my amusement, I had a text from him. The message said, “I had an amazing time meeting you Yesterday and I was wondering if you would like to meet up with me for some breakfast at the Café next to the restaurant in two hours?” I obviously said yes and started to get ready because I had to look my best for him. When I arrived at the Café, I was able to spot him in a matter of seconds. He was sitting alone at a small table looking down at is phone waiting for me. I sat down and greeted him with a big smile then I ordered a coffee and spent hours talking.

It has been about two weeks now and I got the job at the restaurant but most importantly, Justin asked me out Yesterday and of course I said yes. After we started dating, Justin has treated me like a queen and we have done so many things together for these past few months. Everything was amazing until a few days back when I’ve noticed he’s been acting strange and I’m starting to believe that he’s hiding something from me.

One day I went over to his house without him knowing because I was trying to surprise him but little did I know was that I was going to be the one that would end up surprised. I arrived there; I noticed his front door was half open so I went in only to find no signs of Justin but what I did find was a little secret door that lead to a secret room that was sound proof. The room was dark and caused me to trip over a box on the floor. I was intrigued so I opened the box and I couldn’t believe what I saw. There was a jar full of human teeth, a phone, a purse, and a necklace. I freaked out and started to run towards the door but it was too late because Justin walked in and saw me looking inside the box. He grabbed me by my neck and told me that I wasn’t supposed to see that and then he knocked me out. When I woke up, I was tied up to a chair in what seemed to be his basement. I heard footsteps coming down the stairs and I started screaming just in case it was someone else so they could save me but it was Justin holding a gun and aiming it at me. I asked him if he was going to kill me and he said no so I told him to let me go and that I wasn’t going to tell anyone about what I saw but he didn’t believe me or trusted me.

I asked, “Why did you have those things in the box?’’

He said, “I’ve killed a lot of people that have gotten in the way of my happiness.” He heard footsteps upstairs and Justin immediately started running upstairs. When he left, I managed to break the rope and started running up the stairs thinking to myself, “I’m going to be free.”

When I opened the door, I saw Justin about to kill a girl that seemed like she was fifteen years old and I screamed, “JUSTIN STOP!” I ran towards him and grabbed the hand with the gun and saw the little girl reach the front door but the next thing I heard was, “BOOM!” I fell to the floor and

I saw my whole life fly past my eyes. I looked down at my chest and saw a lot of blood. I knew this was my end. My eyes were starting to close and all I could think of was that sometimes we have to give our lives in order to protect those who don’t deserve to die.

slasher
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.