Horror logo

Was it a Dream?

By Catherine Ingram

By Catherine MoceriPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Was it a Dream?
Photo by Clint McKoy on Unsplash

I feel cold, wet, and something hard. Why am I feeling this way? My body is like a statue. I can’t move my feet, wiggle my fingers, or open my eyes. What is happening to me? My mind is racing with so many thoughts, but my body won’t follow. After what seemed like forever, I was finally able to get my eyes open. The first thing I see is stars in the sky. I look around me and I seem to be in some sort of forest. How did I get here? I also noticed that I was laying on the wet grass. That explains why I felt cold, wet, and something hard. All i could keep thinking is how in the world did I get here. I continue to look around me because I still can’t process what is happening. Everything is dark, wet, and cold. Thank goodness for the bright full moon and stars. otherwise, I wouldn’t be able to see at all. I hear birds in the trees, owls and hawks making noises, and wolves howling. I better get out of here and get back home, I say to myself. Luckily there is a paved path a few feet from where I was standing. As I started to head towards the path, I heard a whistling noise. The whistling is getting louder... and louder... and louder...boom! I fell forward on my face then quickly got up to turn around and see what happened behind me. Dirt is everywhere, the trees are pushed back, and there’s a huge hole on the ground. But wait, what is that? It looks like something is inside the hole. It is too small and dark to see from here. I shouldn’t go look. What if it’s something really bad. Plus, I need to get back home before it gets even later. But my curiosity takes the best of me. I need to see what it could be. So, I slowly start to walk towards the big hole. I walk up to the hole and in the middle is a book, a small book. Huh? That loud noise and this enormous hole, all for a book. I grab the book from the ground, and it feels heavy. I am even more curious now as to what kind of book it could be. there is a lock on the side, but I don’t see any key. Maybe it’s somewhere in this hole. I search and search for Some sort of key. Disappointment comes across my mind for there is nothing but a bunch of dirt. I go back and grab the black box I had laid on the side. When I picked it up again to try and open it without the key something fell on my foot. I crouch down to see what it was, and it was a key. Where did this come from? I spent ten minutes trying to look for a key and I saw nothing. Oh well, it’s here now and let’s open this book! I open the book and my eyes grew wide open with my mouth practically on the floor. What is this I’m seeing? Could this really be true? I shake my head and rub my eyes just to double check that my mind isn’t playing tricks on me. I grab the many stacks of cash that was in the book. There were twenty stacks of cash with a paper around them that said, “one thousand dollars.” So, this means in total I’m holding twenty thousand dollars! I still can’t believe it! First, how did this book just random fly out of the sky? Second, where did it come from? Third, why did someone hide all this money in a fake book? Finally, how did all this money fit in such a small book? Well finders’ keepers and I see nobody else here to claim it. I put all the stacks of money back into the book, hold it in my hands, and head to the path for home. As I’m walking down the path, I could feel something staring at me. I stop walking and looked around. I see nobody here, it’s just me and this box in a giant forest. I continue to walk, and this feeling isn’t going away. But this time I start to hear something in the bushes. Tears start to form in my eyes, my heart is racing, and all my feet could do is run. I run as fast as my legs could go. I don’t even dare to look behind me, I was so frightened. I could hear them running in the bushes. Am I going to make it? Is this the end? What is happening!! My eyes shot wide open, my heart is racing, and body is shaking. I look around me and what is this? I’m in my bedroom, on my bed, with the sun shining through my window. What, how, huh? All this was just a dream? Actually, more like a nightmare. So glad I’m not in that forest with that awful thing chasing me. Still no clue what that was because I was too frightened to look behind me. I reach out to grab a glass of water that was on my nightstand to help me calm down. But what is this I see besides it? No! Could it be? It’s the small black book from my dream! I quickly grabbed the book that had the key already in the lock and there it is. All the money again like in my dream! But something else was inside the box this time. It looks like a note. I open up the note and gasped as I read it out loud...

“You are going to wish you had never found this book”

M.W

Wish I had never found this book, M.W? What in the world? What does this mean? I crumble up the note, throw it back in the book, and put the box under my bed. Was it a dream? Or is this for real.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Catherine Moceri

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.