Horror logo

Val (Pt. 1)

Part 1

By Kat WoodsPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

"What was that?" Maggie stops and glances down a long never ending hallway.

"It was nothing Maggie. Stop being so paranoid." She rolls her eyes at me.

"If it was nothing then why is that folder moving?" She points at a desk down the hallway and I see what she means.

"It's... just the wind." Goosebumps begin to coat my arms.

"There is no wind." She glances back at the folder. "I want to go home Valarie." I laugh at her.

"Scared? Baby." She rolls her eyes again.

The folder flies off the desk and onto the floor. Both of us jump. She looks at me and I look at her.

"It's.... just... the wind?" She looks back at the folder.

"You wanna go check it out?" She looks back at me.

"Isn't that what we came here for?" I laugh.

Slowly, we walk down the hallway. The air is cold but there isn't any wind. Once we reach the folder, Mag picks it up.

"An old patient file." She opens it and reads it out loud, "hmm. Valarie Wilks. Age 17. She was a mental patient here in the 1800s. She was admitted here June 13, 1823."

"Shut up. That isn't funny." I frown and take the folder from her.

"I wasn't kidding. That's her name and age," She takes the folder from me and continues reading. "She was bipolar and had really bad depression. She went crazy one day and drowned her little brother in the lake in their backyard on June 3, 1823. When her mother found her she was sitting in the corner of her room holding her brother's blue corpse. Her arms were cut and she was chanting."

"Chanting?" I raise my eyebrows.

"Yes. Chanting. She was saying, 'They told me to do it,' over and over. Whoever 'they' is." A chill goes down my spine. A small gust of wind blows through the empty corridor followed by what seemed to be a low whisper.

"Wait. Did you hear that?"

"Hear what?" She looks over at me and raises an eyebrow. "Look who's scared now."

"HELP ME!" A loud scream echoes through out the hallway. Maggie and I both jump. We look at each other with wide eyes.

“Okay fine. We can go.” I grab her arm and start to run towards the exit.

Maggie pulls away from me. “Wait! What if someone's hurt?”

“Maggie, we’re the only ones here.”

“Yeah, sure sounds that way." She rolls her eyes.

“But no one followed us in.”

“Then the person, or people, were already here.” We hear the scream again.

“Okay, let's go!” We run through the long hallways following the scream. After what seems like an eternity, the screaming stops.

“Wait. Valerie.” Maggie grabs my arm.

“It stopped.” I gasp for air.

“Now what?” She looks at me, trying to catch her breath.

“Ouch! Ooh ow ow ow ow!" A sharp pain peirces my back.

“What? What’s wrong!?” Maggie turns to me worried.

“I don’t know. I felt a sharp pain in my back.”

“Let me look.” I turn around and she pulls up my shirt.

“Ow.”

“Sorry. Wait. Oh my god, Val, you’re bleeding.”

“What? How?” She pulls a first aid kit out of her bag and begins wiping the blood away.

“Ew. Oh my god, it looks like someone bit you.” She takes a picture of it and shows me.

“What? How in the—" the scream interrupts me. It's louder this time.

“Wait. Its coming from in there.” She points to a door directly across from where we're standing. I look at the door then back at her.

"What does that sign say?" I point to a small sign next to the door.

"Electroshock... therapy." Her voice cracks. We hear the scream again, this time followed by sounds of electricity.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Kat Woods

I love writing horror and spooky things. I also write poetry and things like that. Writing is a way for me to let my brain take a walk.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.