Horror logo

Two Sentence Horrors Volume 10

Number ten would write all over again...

By Mark J. Wilcoxen Published 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Two Sentence Horrors Volume 10
Photo by Alexey Derevtsov on Unsplash

Two Sentence Horrors

By

Mark J. Wilcoxen

451. The brother and sister flew their kites gleefully. Both were amazed that the human had enough skin for two of them to each have their own kite.

452. I have this vivid memory of the mobile over my crib. Among the cartoonish sheep was a small spike covered man that smiled down at me; I still have this memory because he shows up in my nightmares.

453. Harvey couldn't risk giving his heart to Lisa. He knew she’d just eat it like she’d done to her deceased ex.

454. Larry was an open book to all who met him. He couldn't resist showcasing his entrails for all to see.

455. Dennis was relieved to learn that the scratching noise in his bedroom wall was just a mouse. He was still reluctant to tackle the whispering in the bathroom vent.

456. All who travel that road never come back quite the same. Doppelgangers can't mimic human behavior perfectly.

457. Benjamin loved Cosandra but she couldn't love him back. His only solace was that her body would never leave him.

458. Richie gulped as his king was put in checkmate. "You put up a decent effort," stated his opponent flatly, "Since you were so skilled with your knight that's the piece your soul will be imprisoned in."

459. Charlie thought it was odd how houses are built out of the corpses of dead trees. He decided to make his home out of human remains.

460. Barry slowly but steadily dug himself free from his earthen trap. Once he was out of his grave he could then feast on the living.

461. Growing tired Raymond closed his book with a loud thud. "Another day another soul trapped in the tome," he said with a sigh.

462. The fireplace lit up the living room. Kelly shivered in spite of the fire's warmth; she hadn't had a chance to light the fire.

463. Neil was surprised to find the airlock welded shut when he returned to base. So they had seen him crawl out of the original Neil's head earlier.

464. Panning my camera around the derelict hospital I saw nothing but ruined medical supplies. Switching to infrared I saw dozens of figures surrounding me.

465. Jack's girlfriend had one condition for him staying at her place; don't mess with her food. Headphones helped him ignore the pleas of her victims down in the basement.

466. The engineer threw log after log into the engine trying to build up a good head of steam. Outside the window he could hear the crowd of corpses running beside the train trying to swarm it.

467. Has anyone here heard of the Rupture Hornet, it has potent venom that causes blood vessels to rupture causing; death to anyone unfortunate enough to encounter it? No, the reports will be airing on the news shortly then.

468. "Smiling helps reduce stress and induces endorphins," Dr. Howl said as he washed his hands. I couldn’t scream let alone reply after he welded my mouth into a ghastly grin.

469. Your life isn't a simulation. It's a coma dream resulting from that blow to the head you took years ago.

470. The archaeologists soon learned that the structure was a tomb after the stone seal was removed. It also became clear that it was a prison when the corpses started to crawl toward the opening.

471. Carl's Gelatin was the latest dessert to hit the open market. For course consumers didn't know that they'd be the one being digested after they took a single bite of the tasty jiggling treat.

472. "Lets see where it'll be today," I said as I spun the global. The spinning orb stops when my finger randomly comes to rest off the coast of Nova Scotia; I can't help but wonder what form the disaster would take.

473. Needing to open my mind I lay my eyes on the keyboard. While cutting them out had been painful I've never thought more clearly.

474. "It would seem my dry spell is over," I say stroking the hair of the lovely woman beside me. Unlike the others there wasn't anyone around to hear her cries for help before my knife silenced her.

475. “Let's play forever,” said my stuffed doll as I cradled it under my arm. It doesn’t have a voice box.

476. It’s rained every day this week. When the clouds parted the sky was unfamiliar with a purple sun.

477. “Join me in a drink,” commanded my mysterious host as he filled two glasses. Judging from the copper smell of the cup’s contents, I knew I was dealing with a vampire.

478. My grandfather died in his favorite rocking chair. No matter what we try he refuses to budge from his seat.

479. I’m constantly online, chatting with people all over the globe. So far my plan of hiding among the living seems to be working.

480. We went too far with the Carolina Reaper change. The flesh around Gary’s face and neck started bubbling and melting.

481. I pull my hood tighter as I walk through the crowded streets. I just hope they don’t notice I’m human.

482. Kay was disappointed that nothing happened after he cramped the jack-in-the-box. His disappointment turned to dismay when he felt a building pressure in his chest; like something was trying to come out.

483. Feeling hunger I cracked open a can of soup. I let out a scream when fleshly thread reached out of the can.

484. The enemy’s cavalry charge was beaten back at great cost. Unfortunately, the bodies of the slain didn’t stay down for very long.

485. The mechanism was heavily damaged due Patrick’s clumsiness. Bits of his flesh were all wrapped around the various cogs and gears.

486. Hearing a loud clang, I turn my eyes toward the door. Terror fills me as a large crack splits the vault door.

487. Cory the funeral director always removed and reattached the heads of the deceased. He didn’t want a repeat of the 1997 incident.

488. Hickory dickory dock, you mustn’t whine the clock. The clock will strike ten then you’d meet your end; hickory dickory dock.

489. Kyle tried in vain to recharge the car’s dead battery. It only came back to life after draining fifteen years off his life.

490. Ned, or Nytro Dean to his fans, had this massive green screen behind him as he streamed various content on his channel. It wasn’t just a prop for his channel but also a way to hide his homicidal habits.

491. “Ashes, ashes we all fall down,” sang the children as they played about the grounds. The groundskeeper soberly cleaned the graveyard and let the spirits be.

492. Janet had a hundred watt bulbs in her hallway. Even they had trouble keeping the passageway light up and safe from the spirits that lurked within the house.

493. Every night Vincent, the security guard, would stare at the hauntingly beautiful painting of Lady Haytre. Tonight she wasn’t standing in the painting but right behind the frightened guard.

494. My favorite part of country life are the brilliant star filled night skies. Tonight there isn’t a star or cloud to be seen.

495. I hear the ding of an elevator behind me. I’m sitting on the couch in the living room of my single story house.

496. It took forever to get enough livestock to make my farm self-sustaining. A lot of the humans kept escaping the containment pens.

497. “Nearly half done,” I say to myself. Below my position lay the creature, feasting on the lost campers.

498. “Can you please be quiet, so I can hear myself think! Yelled Bart. His voice echoed through the empty halls of his mansion.

499. A shadow fell across me as I was gardening. Looking up I saw nothing above me but started to feel myself sink into the darkened ground.

500. The fog was so heavy that Jill couldn’t see out her window. I, on the other hand, had no trouble seeing her anxious expression.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Mark J. Wilcoxen

Dreaming up stories is like breathing to me. I'm a fan of horror, fantasy and science fiction. I'm seeking to add my own small contribution to the literary world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.