Horror logo

True Amusement Park Horror Story

How a game at an amusement park changed my life upside down...

By Presley PereiraPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3
True Amusement Park Horror Story
Photo by Robert Zunikoff on Unsplash

It was the beginning of summer, I decided to go to my local amusement park. My town opens the amusement park only during summertime, I would usually spend most of my time summers indoors, watching youtube, playing video games, basically living with my introvert tendencies. I was never the type of outgoing but decided to make at least some friends this year or at least attempt to. It was around the evening time and I remember taking the bus alone. When I finally arrived and remember seeing how high the rides were, every time I look at those rides it fears me as I remember the scenes from the movie final destination where the freak accidents occur. I am personally afraid of so I would always avoid going on those tall rides.

As the night went on, I played a few carnival games but would always come out empty-handed, maybe I was just bad at the monotonous fair games and was better of playing video games at home, At least there's something I'm good at but decided to test my luck. After all my unsuccessful tries to win the prizes there was this one game that caught my eye, It was an old dusty looking machine isolated to a corner of the park, It looked like one of those fortune teller machines that you would see in arcades. The game didn't draw much attention from the fair, so I decided to check it out myself.

By James Lee on Unsplash

The game was called Psychic clown and had a creepy looking clown inside, you know sort of looked too real for my liking, to be honest, I also noticed the game cost two dollars per try so I put whatever spare change I had into the slot and pressed the start button and the clown began talking, It said "ask me a yes or no question to uncover the truth and then press the start button" so I asked the clown "will I get a girlfriend by the end of the year" and hit the start button and the clown began to move and started laughing disturbingly and then eventually said the word "NO". I thought to myself, "this can't be accurate, it's just a fair game" but the sad reality was that the clown was probably right. I decided to ask the clown more personal questions this time, I dropped more change in the slide and asked him "are my parents divorced?" (my parents have been divorced for 10 years now), I pressed start and the clown began doing its disturbing laugh again eventually saying the word "YES". At this point, I was really creeped out and contemplated if it was just a fluke or if this psychic clown game was for real.

I reached for more change and realized I only had two dollars left which were supposed to be my bus fare. I planned on calling my mom to pick me up, so... I decided to used my last two dollars on this psychic clown. I put the first dollar in and was about to ask a question but the game didn't work this time, I banged it a couple of times and the clown began to laugh again, but... this time it seemed like it was malfunctioning, It began laughing uncontrollably and started jerking its body back and forth, just... vigorously. The movements were so vigorous to the point where the clown started banging his head against the glass causing it to crack. This caused me to have a flight or fight reaction while others laughed at me. I found the whole ordeal quite disturbing. I assumed it was some sort of glitch so I decided to use my last dollar on one more question, the last question I asked the clown is "will my mom pick me up from the fare tonight?", again the clown begins to do its creepy laugh and says the word "NO", The next part of the story is what sends chills down my spine.

I get a call from my mom right after the clown says "NO", I pick up the phone and my mom asks me if I'm on my way home, I ask her to pick me up and she says "Yes, I will" and the call abruptly cuts off, I figured my phone had poor signal so I didn't bother to call her back. I assumed that she was on her way to pick me up, at this point I realized that the clown's revelation was wrong as I thought my mom was on her way to pick me up. I head to the exit of the fare to wait for my mom to arrive... A few minutes then turned to an hour, I dialed my mom's number again and was sent straight to voicemail, I repeat this ten more times to no success and also leave a text message asking "where are you?", but I didn't get a response.

I then called my stepdad, he answered the phone and asked me if I was on my way home. I tell him I've been trying to get a hold of my mom for the past two hours, I can hear the sheer panic in my stepdad's voice as he tells me he will get my cousin to pick me up instead. An hour later my cousin finally arrives to pick me up, He had a look distraught on his face like... he had just been through hell. I asked him if he knows where my mom is and why my stepdad didn't come to pick me up. What he said next turned my stomach into a million knots. He tells me that he dropped my stepdad off at the hospital because my mom got into a car crash, I panic and tell my cousin to take me to the hospital. Upon arrival, I find out that my mom was pronounced dead due to her injuries.

By Matthew T Rader on Unsplash

It's been a year since my mom's passing and always contemplate whether I was the reason for her death, calling and texting her while she was driving. My other theory is that it might have something to do with that psychic clown. A small part of me thinks that the psychic clown played a part in my mom's death but would never know for SURE!!!.

supernatural
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.