Horror logo

Trapped in the Zombie Apocalypse

A Short Horror Story

By Timberly PricePublished about a year ago 15 min read
Like
By Author using Stable Diffusion and photo editing software.

I stood on a dilapidated rooftop, surveying the desolate city before me. Crumbling structures, overgrown foliage, and the occasional infected roaming the streets - this new world was hard to get used to. Even after seeing it a dozen times a month, I still couldn't believe that a once vibrant and lively city was now empty, deserted, and falling apart. The risk of being attacked and turned into one of the infected was ever-present.

“We should take the back way,” I heard my friend, Weston, suggest from behind me.

I turned to face him and asked, “Why? Are there still stumblers on the main path?”

“They could be gone by now,” Wes shrugged as he crossed his arms. “But do we really want to take that chance?”

“Nah, you’re right.” I nodded my head as I thought about it. “It may take longer, but we should be safer.”

“Think this survivor camp is legit, Liam?”

“Only one way to find out.”

Wes nodded before walking over to the disheveled metal ladder. He climbed on effortlessly, slowly making his way down to the ground below. I followed after him, grabbing the side of the ladder. As I went to swing my body onto the first rung, my foot slipped, making me lean back. I tried to tighten my grip on the side rail, but my grasp got away from me. I felt myself falling and the fall seemed to last an eternity, even though the building was only three stories tall. When I finally hit the ground, I felt the wind get knocked out of me before darkness flooded my vision.

***

My eyes fluttered open, and I attempted to move my body, but nothing happened. I frantically glanced around, trying to take in my surroundings. It appeared to be a dilapidated cabin with cobwebs, green vines and overturned furniture. I assumed Weston had brought me here after I had fallen, yet he was nowhere to be seen.

I tried to get up again, putting all my effort into the movement, but I couldn’t stand or even turn over. I questioned myself, wondering if I was even awake. Perhaps I was still unconscious on the ground outside, and I was dreaming at this moment. Or maybe I was bitten, and this is what it felt like to be one of the infected. Trapped in my own body.

A sound came from the right of me, making my eyes dart in that direction. I eyed the doorway, waiting to see a stumbler come through the open door. I was relieved when Wes stepped through, carrying a bowl in my direction.

He must have noticed me looking at him because his solemn face soon transformed into a smile. “Liam, you’re awake. Are you hungry? I made beans.”

“Sure, I can eat.” I tried to get up again, but only my neck bent with my struggles.

Wes raised an eyebrow and asked, "Are you all right? That was quite a fall you took.”

“I’m not sure… I can’t seem to move anything except my head.”

“What!” Both of Weston’s eyebrows shot up in shock. “Are you saying that you’re… paralyzed?”

I sighed as I tried to move any part of my body once more. “I think so.”

Wes ran a hand through his medium black locks and said, “I did my best to move you carefully. I even stopped the bleeding. I thought I saved you.”

“Hey, hey. Don’t blame yourself.” I tried to reassure him as he paced the floor. “You didn’t do this. It was a freak accident.”

“I wish I could have done more.” Wes stood beside me, looking down at my body. “How are we going to get to that survivor camp now?”

“Maybe it’s temporary. I could be up and moving by next week for all we know.”

“And what if you aren’t?”

I closed my eyes and said, “Then we’ll think about our next plan when it comes to it.”

***

A week had gone by, and I was still unable to move anything but my head. I had never imagined being bedridden could be so uncomfortable, especially during an apocalypse. Not being able to check every noise or take on any stumblers myself was difficult. I was fortunate to have Wes with me; he never left my side. He could have left as soon as I fell or when we found out I was paralyzed, but he stayed. He helped feed me, found adult diapers at a nearby convenience store, and even washed me.

I hated being unable to care for myself due to a foolish mistake I made while trying to climb down a ladder. I couldn’t possibly live like this forever, especially not in the current day and age. It was time to decide what to do, as we couldn't stay in the small cabin any longer. We had no idea when a horde of stumblers or a group of scavengers would pass by. Additionally, our supplies were running low, so the sooner we reached the camp, the better.

Weston sat on the rickety stool by my bed. “What do we do?”

“Maybe you should leave me here,” I said. “I can’t be a burden on you anymore.”

“If I leave you here, you’re dead.”

“I feel dead already.” I frowned as I looked away from Wes. “I can’t do anything now. I can’t defend myself from anyone or anything. I can’t even feed myself or go to the bathroom. What kind of life is that?”

“People did it all the time.”

"Yes, back then they had basic items to take care of themselves. Nowadays, we don't have that. No hospitals, no wheelchairs, no electricity – nothing.”

Wes looked down at his hands, which he was wringing together. "You're right. It's a different world we're living in now."

“I won’t be angry if you leave me here.” A tear rolled down my cheek as I attempted to express my feelings. “I’ve accepted my fate.”

“No. I’m not leaving you here.” Wes stood up as he got the map from his back pocket. “The camp is only about 5 miles from here. It could take two days on foot.”

“You can’t carry me all that way.”

“Who said anything about carrying?”

“What do you have in mind?” I questioned Wes as he proposed his plan.

“We use the tattered sheet from the bed, and I drag you behind me the rest of the way.”

“That seems a bit cumbersome.”

“So, it may take a bit longer. I have no problem taking you with me.”

I shook my head. “It’s a death sentence. All I’m going to do is slow you down and cause trouble.”

“Let’s try,” he said with confidence. “Let’s see how far we can get together, and if it’s not working out, I can leave you somewhere… Or I can. You know.”

“Yeah, I know.” I closed my eyes and groaned. “Okay. We’ll see what happens on our journey.”

***

Weston had tied knots to the top and bottom of the bedsheet. It almost felt like I was in a hammock as he dragged me along on our journey. The bedsheet didn't smell great, but it was helping us get to our destination. We were much slower this way, but Wes didn't seem to mind me tagging along with my new problems. We talked and quieted down when we thought we might be in danger. It wasn't the perfect plan, but it seemed to be working.

We had a slight advantage with this method: I could watch Weston's back while he kept an eye on the front. I stayed vigilant, knowing that the quicker I could spot and alert him to any danger, the sooner he could take care of it. Fortunately, we didn't encounter many stumblers on our journey and had only encountered four by then.

As nightfall approached, we decided it would be wise to find a place to stay. We didn't want to take the risk of remaining outdoors, especially in my condition. After searching the wooded area, we were traveling through, we stumbled upon a small barn. Wes left me leaning against the front wall of the dilapidated wooden barn, while he went inside to check it out. He soon returned to me and said, "It's empty."

“That’s a relief,” I said peering up at him. “Think it’ll be safe for the night?”

He shrugged. “It’s the best we got.”

Wes grabbed the sheet and pulled me into the barn. He laid me down on a hay pile and did his best to barricade us in for the night. Once he was done, he sat beside me and took out a granola bar. He bit off half of it before offering the rest to me. I ate from his hands, as I had been doing for the past week, and felt grateful to have such a good friend. I wondered why he was trying so hard to keep me safe despite my injuries and decided to ask him.

“Why are you doing this, Wes?” I questioned him.

“Doing what?” He looked at me with confusion clear on his face.

“Taking care of me and bringing me to the survivor camp.”

“Do I really need to answer that?”

I glared at him and said, “Yes. I’m practically useless out here and slowing you down. Why do you care?”

“We've been friends since the third grade. You stopped the bullies when they ripped up my trading cards. You alerted my mom when I cut my arm open on a rusty nail. You helped me through her death.” He looked away with a frown, illuminated by the fading light of the sun streaming through the gaps in the barn. “You were always there for me, Liam. Even kept me sane during the start of all this. Plus, I know if the tables were turned, you’d be doing the same.”

I couldn’t deny that. I would be in the same position if the tables were flipped. “It’s true. I wouldn’t have left you behind either.”

“See. So, let me help you out.” He placed a hand on my right shoulder. “We’re in this together, no matter what.”

“Yes, you and me until we meet our demise.”

“Oh yeah!” He lifted his hand for a high five before he shrunk back, realizing I couldn’t reciprocate it. “Sorry… I was in the moment.”

I chuckled and said, “It’s fine. Mental high five.”

“Mental high five.”

We spent the rest of the night in a comfortable silence, ready to take on whatever comes our way for the rest of our journey.

***

We left the barn as soon as the sun rose. We were making good timing even with me being unable to walk. Eventually, we started seeing ragged red signs on crooked wooden poles that stated that the survivor camp was close by. I could feel Wes's enthusiasm grow with each sign we passed that indicated how close camp was from our location. He was pulling me along with more effort, probably hoping to beat the sun to our destination.

Suddenly, Weston stopped abruptly, making me try to peek in his direction to no avail. I heard him grumble something under his breath.

"I think we're too late," he said, frustration evident in his voice.

“What do you mean?” I questioned him.

“The gates are busted, and it looks completely isolated.”

“Are you sure?” I asked, hope still lingering within me.

“I’m pretty sure.”

We started moving again. Wes brought us inside the gates, and I finally saw what he had been talking about. The place was empty and looked like it had been torn apart. Out of the corner of my eye, I spotted a stumbler walking towards us and I called out to Weston, “Wes, seven O’clock.”

He laid me down on the ground and I watched as he cautiously approached the infected man. He didn’t hesitate to take out his knife, pushing the stumbler away before lodging his knife deep into its skull. He pulled his weapon out, black blood dripping off of the blade before he wiped it clean on his dark jeans. He returned to me, bending down to look closer at me. “We can’t stay here. Who knows how many are around.”

“The next camp is said to be a whole state away. There’s no way we can make it there with me like this,” I tried to reason with him.

“What’re you saying? You want me to just leave you here like this?”

“That’s exactly what I’m saying.”

“No. No way.”

“Listen, Weston. Do you really want to die out here with me, or stay in a cabin taking care of me for however long we have left?” I bit at my bottom lip as I shook my head. “I don’t want that for you. Hell, I don’t even think I want that for me.”

“I feel so guilty leaving you here,” he said with a sniffle, trying hard to hold back his tears.

“Don’t. It’s my last wish, okay?”

Weston looked up, his eyes widening in fear. I glanced over to see what had startled him, and at least a dozen stumblers were heading our way. Some had lost limbs, some had black blood oozing from different orifices of their body, and some looked almost human but with cold dead eyes and graying skin. They were getting closer, and I turned back to Wes, so we could make a quick decision.

“You have to go now,” I pleaded with him.

"But I can take them," he said, his gaze still fixed on the stumblers gaining ground.

“Get to that survivor station. I want you to make it, for us. We’ve come this far, don’t give up on our dream, please!”

He looked down at me, worry on his reddened face as his tears flowed freely from his eyes. “Do you want me to end you?”

“No.” I shook my head as I cried. “I’ll distract them while you get out of here.”

“But you’ll turn.”

“I’m fine with that.” I jutted my chin toward the gate and said, “Now go! We’ll see each other again. Promise.”

He gripped my shoulder and whispered, “Goodbye friend.”

I watched Wes run out of the gate, quickly turning back to look at me before disappearing from view. I glanced at the stumblers who were just inches away from me and I screamed, “Hey! You want some dinner. I’m delicious.”

It didn’t take long for them to swarm around me. Their teeth chomped away as they went in for the bite. I could barely feel the pain until one ripped the skin and artery at my neck. I sputtered on the blood as it bubbled inside my mouth, the warm copper taste was prominent on my taste buds. This wasn’t how I saw my zombie apocalypse run playing out, but I was happy to save my friend from a horrific death such as mine.

The sounds of teeth gnawing and chomping on my skin and blood gushing were the worst part of the scene in front of me. But it didn’t take long for it to die down as my vision started to blur. I didn’t know what the afterlife held for me, especially since I was coming back as one of the monsters I never wanted to be. But only time would tell as I slipped into the dark abyss.

***

Weston hopped off his horse as he stopped at the dismantled gate he had last seen two years ago. He looked back at the woman on her horse and said, “I'll be right back, Brie. I have something to take care of.”

She nodded and said, “Sure. I’ll holler if I see any stumblers.”

“I shouldn’t be long.”

Wes made his way through the gates, which had more moss and foliage than on his last visit. He spotted who he was looking for right away, lying on the same tattered bed sheet he had carried him on, in the same spot he had left him. He crouched down next to his friend who had numerous chunks taken out of him. Liam snapped his jaw at him, groaning as his head tried to reach for any flesh he could get a hold of. Wes dropped his head to look at the dirt below him, feeling a pang in his chest.

“I had to come back. I couldn’t bear leaving you like this,” Wes looked back at Liam with a faint smile. “I found that other survivor camp. It was legit this time. A whole settlement filled with over fifty people. I even met a girl there and I couldn’t be happier. It’s all thanks to you. You were always there for me, even until the end.”

Weston took out his knife, holding it firmly in his right hand. “I thank you for being the best friend anyone could ever ask for. I hope you no longer have to suffer. Goodbye.”

Wes embedded the knife into the back of Liam’s head, making his shell of himself go limp. He looked over his friend one more time before standing and heading back to his horse and Brie. He wasn't completely over losing Liam and he probably never would be. But he was glad to have put an end to it all, knowing that Liam could now rest peacefully.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Timberly Price

Fiction writer and self-published author.

Follow me on Instagram: @timberlyprice_author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.