Horror logo

Too old to believe

A short horror story

By Alexandra AmbrosiaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

Screech, screech, screech

I was always told that there was nothing under my bed. They also said that adults should be mature enough not to believe. I would love to believe that, but I know there is something or someone under my bed. Why else would there be dried blood on the floor. Wait a second.......that blood isn’t dried. “What am I going to do!” the girl said.

Screech, scratch, Screech

“ Well not freaking out would be a decent start.” Said an ominous voice. That’s if I'm a goner, or hallucinating. Either way I’m screwed. “ How do you expect me not to freak out?! You just appear from underneath my bed with your ominous voice and claws!” She said calmly. “ Maybe if you actually payed attention you would know about so many lies you were told.” He said ominously.

Screech, screech

“ Wh-What do you mean?” She said trembling in fear. The ominous thing had its claws drawn, sharper than anything I had ever seen. His face was hard to read. “ This just shows....never mind. You probably aren’t even paying attention.” His voice became stern but not before he could conceal a small amount of vulnerability. Was that vulnerability I heard in his voice? Even if it is I can’t let someone talk to me like that. “Can’t you see I’m paying attention! I have no choice!” The girl raised her voice in frustration. “ I do not recommend raising your voice at me young lady.”

Screech, Screech

This ominous creature has the guts to talk to me like that. Then again he could kill me at any given moment. So...I really have no clue how I can get myself out of this mess. “ I-I’m sorry sir.” Her voice trembled. “ That’s more like it” his voice boomed. Am I standing? When did I leave my bed? I don’t remember. “ Ah, innocent one you never left your bed. I never came out from underneath it. “ he said as he chuckled . “ Wh-What do you mean? How?” She stumbles on her words. “ You my love ask too many questions, I was going to do this anyway but you’ve just given me more reason.” He said. I felt his claws rip through the mattress and through my back. “ You're never too old to believe.You of all people should know that.” He said. That’s the last thing I heard before I dropped into the abyss of the deseased.

Screech, Scratch, Screech

1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.