Horror logo

To Believe or Not to Believe?

My own personal experiences with the unexplained.

By Crystal McGrawPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
Photo is an original piece taken and edited by me personally.

I feel like either you’re a believer or you’re not. And there are many who have been skeptics their entire lives but have an experience in which they encounter something out of the ordinary. This experience can change their perspective entirely or leave them on the fence not believing that what happened really happened. What I am talking about here is Paranormal, Ghostly and Supernatural Encounters. I will be sharing my own personal experiences with things of this nature that have happened in my life.

Believe or not, I know better. I was there……….

I have dealt with out of the ordinary experiences since I was younger. The earliest incident I can remember is sitting in my dad’s Semi when he was a truck driver. In the mirror I saw what can only be described as an Unidentified Flying Object, yep, a UFO. I was maybe 8 years old and just watched this in the mirror for a minute or two but I was so terrified that I ended up sitting on the floor of the truck so I could not see the mirror. When my dad got back to the truck and I got back into the seat the object was no longer there. I never said anything about it but my Cousin and Uncle also reported seeing something of a similar object as well on the same property but at a different time and day. And these seemed to be a common siting in the area by others as well.

Same age, I lived in an apartment complex and as a small child you basically make friends with everyone. One night I stayed the night at my next-door neighbors, the apartment didn’t look anything out of the ordinary but you could definitely feel an uneasiness about the place. The neighbor also had a Chucky doll, looked like the one from the original Child’s Play movies. I mean, I guess the dolls are creepy in their own sense. I have 2 now and my step-dad had a few years later, same doll and I never thought anything of it. But this doll the neighbor had was different. No, I did not see the doll get up and walk around or anything but it did feel like it was watching you. The entire apartment gave me the chills. I could not sleep when I was there. I had stayed the night many places before but something about this place was terrifying. So terrifying to the point that I didn’t even sleepover the entire night. Since my apartment was right next-door I ended up leaving in the middle of the night and going home. A different girl also reported an uneasy experience staying the night there, this person is now my best friend and has been for many years. However, we did not know about each other’s experiences until later on. She also experienced the unsettled feeling of the apartment. She stated that she heard lots of knocking in the middle of the night that was pretty intense. However, she did not live right next door she lived in another building of the apartment complex. So, unlike me, she could not simply leave in the middle of the night and go home so she did what most kids would do, she put her blanket over her head and stayed there until the morning.

Most people who are into and believe these kinds of things understand that 3am is considered the haunting hour. When I was a little bit older, young adult age I had this old cellphone that I used for an alarm. The alarm kept going off at 3am ad 3:30am, this would not seem so unusual since lots of people set their alarms for these times but it kept going off even when I made sure no alarms were set. Maybe, still not unusual to some. Due to the fact it kept going off after I made sure all alarms were unset I turned off the phone and took out the battery. The alarm continued to go off at the same times everyday for at least a whole other week after. Probably not the most chilling experience I’ve ever had but definitely an odd one.

My dad used to live in this house in which unusual things would happen. My husband and I stayed there for a while. The house had the pans hanging above the island in the kitchen and sometimes the pans would randomly sway. One time we were watching a movie (the light switch was a knob that had to be turned in order to turn on the light and you could adjust the brightness of it) and suddenly the lights turned on to their brightest setting. But those weren’t even the most unusual things that happened there. The thing that still weirds me out the most was on morning it was just me and my dad home. I was in the kitchen and I saw him walk down the hall. He was wearing what he always wears to bed, a t-shirt and shorts. And this was an everyday thing, he would come out and do whatever he was doing and say good morning to me, maybe talk to me a minute or two. But that morning he didn’t say a word to me, which I thought was extremely odd. But I didn’t think too much about it until right after I saw him clear as day walking through the hall I heard his truck start. I walked over to the dining room window because you could see the driveway from there and there was my dad sitting outside in his truck, fully dressed, cowboy hat and all backing out of the driveway getting ready to head to his farm.

This one didn’t happen to me but happened to my husband. We lived in a very small house and he was sitting in a recliner in the living room. He saw a little girl and he just sat there dead silent. He said he felt like he was being held down for a minute and he did panic a little bit. I don’t have a whole lot of specific details about this because it wasn’t my own personal experience but it was still a house I lived in.

One time I was driving and I saw a horse. No big deal, right? Especially living in rural areas but I can still picture this horse, clear as day. A big black horse seemingly outlined in what I can only describe as some sort of flames.

Last year, year before we used to always see this figure around where we lived. It was pretty intense to the point I even swerved once seeing this man figure in the road. We just started referring to him as “The Shadow Man”. My husband was driving once and he did the same thing at the little dirt road that lead to our house. And I asked if he was okay. And he said yeah, that he just thought he saw someone by the road. I told him it was probably the Shadow Man and explained the whole thing that my kids and I have also seen it. Fast forward a little bit to when we were moving out of that house. I was loading stuff into the back of my car, it was just me and my then 3-year-old at home. I had the front door open and as I was talking a load out to the car I heard a very distinctive deep voice of a man ask “Going somewhere?” I remember that voice clear as day, sort of deep and raspy. I didn’t say a word, I just looked in all directions outside to see if anyone was there. There was no one. I went back inside and shut the door. I do believe this was the mystery figure or as we called him “The Shadow Man”.

More recently in the house we currently live in, I do sometimes hear footsteps late at night. But it’s not something I think too deeply about since 6 of us live in the house. But a couple weeks ago my 2 sons went with me to the store. When I got home my husband was sitting on the porch smoking as usual. He was looking at the 3 of us very oddly when we got out of my truck. And he asked if the older of the 2 went with me to the store. I said “Yeah, why?” And he said that while I was gone the front door opened and our son poked his head, my husband said hi to him and then said our son got mad and slammed the door, which my husband thought was odd. And me and my son looked at each other and I said “No, he’s been with me the whole time.” Two days later we heard a crash like something fell or broke. I asked the kids if they were okay because it sounded like it came from their room. And the cat was in there along with my son’s frog tank so I thought maybe she knocked it down or something. But my son came out also wondering what the noise was. We couldn’t figure out where it came from. My husband who was outside also heard the noise and asked us what the noise was from. None of us knew. So, I was looking around the house and found out what the noise was. My husband has a rather large hutch in the dining room. It has glass shelves and doors on it and is solid wood. He collects alcohol glasses and things of the sort. The loud crash was one of the shelves falling but the shelf didn’t even have a lot of weight on it and the shelf didn’t even break when it fell onto the bottom shelf only one small shot glass broke. Which by the loud noise it made I would’ve expected more to be broken. Not even sure why or how it fell as the hutch had been sitting in the same spot untouched for the last 4 months. My sister started staying with us recently and heard someone knock on her bedroom door really early in the morning. She thought maybe it was my husband because he leaves for work pretty early but he was already gone. And it wasn’t me or my kids because we were all sleeping still.

I have also had more than one incident where I’ve heard someone (usually in my husband’s voice) say my name when I am asleep clear as day to the point where it wakes me up. But when this happens no one is even there.

I am sure there are other experiences that I cannot quite recall but these are the ones that stand out the most to me. And if people really believe that there is nothing of any sort of other power out there I really do believe that they are wrong, close-minded or in denial.

psychological
1

About the Creator

Crystal McGraw

I'm always speaking my mind, When I'm better off biting my tongue

I'm a bad joke at the wrong time .Hell,I'm a legend in my own mind

I'm good for some but I'm not for everyone~Brother's Osbourne.

I'm here to write stories& tell my story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.