Horror logo

Timmy

Revised, but not final

By Anton Mathias HeftPublished 3 years ago 42 min read
Like

Chapter 1

“Bye, Timmy,” giggled Amy in a high pitched voice. “I'll see you tomorrow. Don't forget to work on your music homework. “

“Gee. How could I forget?” Timmy grumbled in response. “My dad and his girlfriend insist on helping me with my homework every night.”

“Lucky! I have to do mine by myself. “

Suddenly, the blare of a horn sounded, alerting Timmy to his father's presence. Did he have to honk his horn? Timmy knew he'd be there. He picks him up from school everyday.

“Get her phone number and let's go, boy,” joked his father Anthony.

Timmy rolled his eyes, said goodbye and got into the car. Why did his father even have to pick him up anyways? It was only a 10 minute walk from school. Then he could have more time talking to Amy.

“How was school?” Anthony inquired. “Who's your girlfriend?”

“That's Amy, and she's not my girlfriend,” Timmy said with a bright red face.

“Mmhm…you aren't going to make us grandparents already, are you?” asked Crystal, Anthony's girlfriend. “I'm too young to be called Granny."

Again a little embarrassed Timmy responded, “It's not like that. We're friends.”

“Mmhm…” joked both Anthony and Crystal as they pulled off in the old, beige Toyota in desperate need of a wash.

On the way home, in between idle conversation with his parents, Timmy kept getting lost in thought. He was 13 years old; old enough to walk home from school. He was also old enough to do his homework by himself. If he's old enough to run a sander in his dad's wood shop and work there for an hour each day he should be old enough to do these other things.

Ever since Timmy's biological mother stopped calling and seeing him his father has been more than trying to make up for her absence. Sometimes, Timmy wished he would be left alone. Sometimes, Timmy just wanted a normal family. Sometimes, Timmy just wished things were different.

His dad was a good father. They played football a lot. Timmy never got mistreated or abused. He had a stable home and never went hungry. Most of the time, when Timmy wanted something, he got it. His dad made him earn it by working at the shop or around the house, but he still got it. Something just didn't feel right, though.

Was it the absence of his mother that got to him? He didn’t think so as sometimes just thinking about her made him cringe and irritated him. Was it Dad's girlfriend filling the void his mother left? She was really nice. She didn’t force herself upon him and wasn’t overbearing. That couldn't be it. Timmy just couldn't put his finger on it……what was it?

When they got home, Timmy seemed to become angry and withdrawn. He began answering questions with one word, grunts or head nods. He even skipped his favorite dinner, Dominoes pizza.

“Dad, take one day's pay off my allowance this week. I can't work today. I'm just going to go to bed.” he informed his father.

“What's going on? Is everything OK?” Anthony asked.

“Yea, something just doesn’t feel right. I'm feeling kind of…..I don't know, upset and I don't know why.”

As he lay in his bed falling asleep he could smell his father's wood shop; the smell of the sawdust, the paints and the stains. Although he loved those smells, as well as working with his father, he just couldn't do it today. Something was really bothering him.

“I hate my life.” He said to himself.

Chapter 2

The next morning, Timmy awoke to the sound of an alarm blaring for what seemed like an eternity. There was a smell of stale cat urine in the air coupled with the smell of dirty laundry. He heard the meowing of about 10 cats and a baby crying in the next room.

The bedroom door burst open and in came running a little girl. The little girl was filthy with an extra large t-shirt for pajamas and no shoes on her black bottomed feet.

“Tommy, Tommy,” she exclaimed. “You had better get up and make mama her coffee and breakfast!”

“What?” he asked. “I haven't talked to my mom in 2 years and who the heck are you?”

“Very funny, Tommy!” she shouted. “We’ll all get the belt! Come on! Get up!”

“What are you talking about? My name is Timmy, not Tommy.”

“Call yourself whatever you want! Just please make her coffee and breakfast before she gets home from work!”

She grabbed Timmy by the hand and led him into the kitchen as best as she could. What the heck is going on? Where was he? Why is the house so filthy? What's with the dirty, little girl covered in filth from head to toe calling him Tommy? And what's with all the cats and the stench of cat piss.

“Too late,” cried the little girl as a car pulled into the driveway. “She's home. Thanks Tommy.”

“Yeah, thanks Tommy, “ echoed two other voices from the other room.

Timmy looked out the window to see the mother figure all the kids were so terrified of. Out of the blue, rusty, old Dodge Caravan stumbled a tall woman with way too much make up on that was smeared down her cheeks making her resemble Pennywise the Clown from the new version of the movie “It". Her clothes were horrendous, at best. She wore a pink mini skirt that left very little to the imagination showing her tattered, white, thong panties with red stains. Her upper body was completely covered in a camouflage sweatshirt that looked way too hot for this 90° weather. Her legs had black, fishnet stocking that were ripped in both knees. Her feet had old, black combat boots that were 3 sizes to big. She dropped her half drank bottle of Wild Turkey whiskey as she slammed her door shut.

“That's your mom?!” Timmy exclaimed in a panic. “I'm not sure why you guys are so afraid of her, but I'm not about to stick around to find out. “

Pushing past the little girl, he ran to the front door in hopes of getting out before the woman came in. He turned the knob and pushed, but it didn't open. The deadbolt was locked. His heart was pounding as he fumbled with the rusty, old lock a few times, but finally he heard the click of the deadbolt unlocking. He felt a brief moment of relief as the door began to open. There was a sudden tightness in his chest as he saw “Pennywise" standing there swaying a little from to much alcohol trying to find the right key for the lock.

“Tommy! It's about time you learned to open the door for a lady,” she said as best she could with her slurred speech.

Without hesitation, Timmy responded, “yeah, whatever you say but you ain't no lady!”

Taking advantage of the moment of shock that caused this abomination to pause, Timmy scurried past her, down the concrete steps and down the street as fast as he could. As soon as he felt as though he were far enough away, Timmy dropped to his knees crying like he's never cried before. What was going on?! Where was he? Where was his father and Crystal?

He rose back up and decided to keep running until he came to a store, gas station, police officer, anything. He’d call his father, he'd pick him up and they'd go work in the shop or play some football. Blinded by the sunlight, he ran across the street, stumbled and heard the screeching of tires. He turned to look just as the large, diesel truck stopped just a few inches from hitting him dead in the face.

The driver of the truck jumped out in a panic to check on Timmy. “Are you OK kid?!” he screamed. “I could have killed you! What's the hurry? Running from something?”

As hard as he tried, Timmy couldn't string a logical thought or sentence together. “This lady, an ugly Pennywise with bloody underwear and her dirty daughter were calling me Tommy! I'm not Tommy, I'm Timmy! She was gonna beat us all if I didn't make her drunk ass coffee and breakfast! It’s not my family! I need help! Where's my dad?”

“Who was going to beat you?” the man was extremely concerned now. Did he just stumble on a kidnap victim? “Were you kidnapped? Are you hurt?”

“Yes! No! I don't know! I just went to sleep in my own bed last night and woke up this morning in a strange house with this little girl calling me the wrong name. Can I please call my dad?! I just wanna play football with my dad!” Timmy was sobbing uncontrollably now.

“Yeah, kid. We can call your dad. I'm Al. What's your name?”

“Timmy. Timmy Matthew Hurst. My address is 515 Park Ave in Winthrop Harbor, Illinois. My dad’s phone number is 847-639-0929. His name is Anthony Matthew Hurst. “

Illinois?! Did this kid just say he's from Illinois?! He went to sleep at home last night, in Illinois, and woke up this morning in Miami, Florida. That's about a 2 day drive. That can't be possible. Al couldn’t see anyone smuggling an unconscious kid onto an airplane nowadays, either. This kid’s gotta be mistaken.

“Let me call your father real quick. What's that number again?”

“847-639-0929.”

Al dialed the number while keeping his eye on Timmy and alert in case this was a scam to get him jumped and/or robbed. While the phone rang the man heard a song in place of the ringing sound….”Cats in the Cradle" by Ugly Kid Joe. Finally a man answered the phone. His voice sounded like a man that had been beaten by life and was waiting for his turn to die.

“Mr. Hurst? Mr. Anthony Hurst?” Al asked.

“Yeah, maybe. Who the fuck are you? If I owe you money, fuck off.” Anthony barked his response into the phone.

“Hi, Mr. Hurst. My name is Al and I'm in Florida with your son, Timmy. I almost hit him with my truck. Do you know what he's doing in Florida?”

“Fuck off, you piece of shit! My son was hit by a car 9 years ago because his whore mother was busy getting a guy's number! Who the fuck put you up to this?”

“Dad!” Timmy shouted, but it was too late. His father had already hung up the phone. “Call him back! Call him back! That's not true! 9 years ago is when I went to live with him!”

“Look, kid, it seems to me that man's son is dead. I don't know who you are or why you would want to torture that man, but I'm not calling him back,” insisted Al, who was now quite disgusted with this kid. “Now if you want to be honest with me I can try to help you. Otherwise, I'm late for work. “

“B-but I am being honest,” he said with tears welling up in his eyes. “That was my dad. “

“Right kid. “

Al got into his truck and drove away. What was going on? Why would Timmy's dad say those things? Timmy had never felt a pain so deep in his chest before. He’s never felt so….. alone.

If there's one thing Timmy's dad has taught him it was to never give up. So giving up was not an option. He was going to find a police officer and ask him for help. They would have to help. It’s there job.

Timmy saw tall buildings In the distance. He was sure he’d find a police officer there. He started running towards them as fast as he could.

It didn't take long for him to find one either. There was an unmarked car that had pulled over a sports car with a kid driving that looked no older than Timmy. He approached the officer as he was finishing up with his citation.

“The next time I catch you driving that fast on my streets, I don't care who your father is, your ass is going to jail. A 16 year old shouldn’t be driving a Maserati anyways,” he scolded the young man.

As he peeled away, the driver yelled, “That'll be the last ticket you ever write, piggy. “

The officer turned to hurry back to his car to pull them over again and immediately ran into Timmy. The officer’s tall height coupled with the fact that Timmy was running full speed he didn't see him. Timmy hit the pavement hard.

“Are you OK, young man?” he asked Timmy.

“Yeah, I'm fine. I mean no, I need help, please,” Timmy replied. “I need to talk to my dad. Can you call my dad? I don't know where I am. My name isn't Tommy. Please call my dad!”

“Of course, slow down. My name is Officer Aacto. What's your name?”

“My name is Timmy. Please, can I call my dad?”

Officer Aacto was growing more and more concerned as he talked to Timmy. This boy seemed scared. He seemed lost. Most of all, he seemed desperate. He dialed the number and in place of the ringing he heard “Fade In/ Fade Out" by Nothing More playing. He handed Timmy the phone.

Anthony answered the phone and it sounded as though he had been crying. “Whoever this is, it had better be important. I'm having a real bad day. “

Instantly, Timmy started crying. “Dad, it's me, Timmy. Please don’t hang up, please. “

“No. No you're not.” Now Anthony was crying again. “You’re not my Timmy. You can't be. Please stop calling me. “

Anthony hung up the phone without giving Timmy a chance to say another word. Timmy dropped the phone, dropped to his knees and stayed that way silent for a moment. This can't be happening. Why?

Officer Aacto knelt down next to Timmy and asked him what was going on. Timmy explained everything from the moment he went to sleep the night before all the way up until he met Officer Aacto. As crazy as his story sounded, he needed help. He needed to get home to his father.

“Let's go back to the station and get to the bottom of this,” Officer Aacto told him as he walked Timmy to his car.

Chapter 3

Back at the station, Officer Aacto got every bit of information from Timmy as he possibly could. Timmy gave him the names, addresses and phone numbers for his dad, Crystal and his grandparents. He even gave his mom's full name, even though that was all the information he had on her.

Officer Aacto was sitting at his computer and let out a big sigh. “Well Timmy, every bit of information you've given me checks out. The names, phone numbers, addresses, all of it. The only thing is Timmy Matthew Hurst was indeed hit by a car 9 years ago. It was pretty bad, too. They flew him from Racine, WI to Milwaukee, WI trying to save his life. They did everything they could……”

Timmy was unable to make out everything the officer was saying as his heart sank into his chest. His stomach turned and knotted up. He turned a pale white and passed out. Although he was unconscious, he could again hear Officer Aacto who was calling for an ambulance. He checked Timmy’s vital signs and calmly talked to him.

“Everything’s going to be OK, Timmy. We've got an ambulance on its way….”

Suddenly, Officer Aacto's voice changed and was now his father's. “We’ll get you to a hospital and get your hand stitched up. What were you thinking, boy? Next time ask me to open it. Don't just grab a knife. “

Timmy looked down at his hands and his right hand had blood coming from a cut in between his middle and index fingers. There was blood on his clothes and on the floor around him. He was in his kitchen in the apartment he and his dad lived in a few years ago…..But how? Who cares. At least he was back with his father.

“Thanks, Dad. “ Timmy beamed as he leaned forward to give his dad a hug. Suddenly, his dad was no longer there. Timmy hit the ground face first so hard it knocked the wind out of him.

“Haha! Billie fell out of bed again,” laughed a boy whose voice Timmy didn't recognize.

Timmy rolled over to see he was no longer in his apartment with his father. He was in a large, dimly lit room with walls painted a faded grey and was filled with about 20 grey bunk beds with both beds of the bunks occupied with a total of 40 boys about Timmy‘s age all wearing a white t-shirt and white boxers. The room smelled of sweaty feet, body odor and beds sheets soaked in urine.

“This is Billie’s first time in juvie, guys,” stated another child. “Give him a break”

“OK,” added a third boy. “Can we break his arm?”

“Great idea! I've been wanting to, since he got here 6 months ago. “

Juvie?! Now he's in juvenile detention? Crap! And these kids really don't seem to like him very much.

Well, something else his dad has always taught him was to stick up for yourself and don’t be bullied. Now, all those push ups his dad made him do for punishment were about to pay off. This reminded him of his first fight ever . He won that fight, and he didn't intend on losing this one.

Rising slowly to his feet, Timmy gave the boys a smile that froze them instantly. The look he gave them, with that crooked grin and arrogant attitude, told them that they had already lost this fight. Timmy had some aggression to get out and someone was about to suffer the consequences of the last 24 hours Timmy has had to go through.

“Oh, come on, guys. Take it easy,” he joked. “no one needs to get hurt.”

“We won’t hurt you too bad, “ teased the biggest boy in the group.

“Oh I know you won't,” Timmy insisted. “Do you wanna know how I know this?”

“Sure, smart ass.”

“Cause I'm fucking Billie, bitches!” Timmy shouted almost as if it were a war cry.

He clenched his fists and threw a combination left jab to the nose and right hook to the jaw of the biggest boy in the group. Blood instantly came oozing out of his nose and he hit the ground with a loud thump, scattering the group that had been surrounding the ongoing scene. Timmy lunged at one of the other boys that had been running his mouth and tackled him to the ground. He sat up straight and punched the kid in the face twice before the main lights turned on and guards came barging in.

“Get off him, Billie!” demanded one guard. “You’re almost out of here. Do you remember what we talked about?”

“No, actually I don’t,” Timmy responded as he stood up. “I don't remember any of you or any of this.”

As the guard cuffed Timmy, “This is your first time in trouble and you said you weren’t going to fuck up for anything. You had better hope those boys are ok?”

“None of that really even matters.”

“Are you OK? Do you need to go to Medical first?”

“No, but can I talk to you alone for a minute?

“Sure.”

When they got to solitary confinement, the guard entered the cell with Timmy and shut the door behind him. Timmy burst into tears and went on to explain what he had been going through. He told him every detail he could come up with. For some reason, the guard seemed to believe him. He even offered to look into it for him.

Timmy stopped the guard as he was leaving, “Officer Barry, you believe me? You don’t think I’m crazy?”

“First of all, call me Jack. Second, I believe that YOU sincerely believe that this is happening to you. I took this job to help kids, so if I do nothing and you’re telling the truth, I've failed you. If I try to help and it turns out you are wrong, then we can get you the help you need. Either way you need someone in your corner.”

“Thanks, Jack. You're awesome.”

“I’m just Officer Jack Barry of the Harris County Juvenile Detention Center just doing my duty.”

Hours had gone by and Jack still hadn’t returned. Timmy needed to keep himself awake until he came back to let him know what he found out. Who knew where Timmy would wake up next. At least here he was safe as long as he was in solitary and he had someone trying to help. He just wished his dad would listen to him.

Timmy heard the jingling of keys outside the door, the series of clicks and clacks that let you know the door was being unlocked and the screeching of the hinges as the door slowly opened. The bright light from the hallway blinded Timmy as he squinted and struggled to see who was standing before him. Whoever it was had a tray of slop that he could only assume they called food in this place. It stunk worse than burnt liver and onions. Timmy was starving so he didn’t really care how it smelled.

“Chow time, maggot,” the figure barked at him. “get up and eat!”

Timmy sat up and rolled his eyes, “Although this one inch thick plastic mattress on the hard, steel bed is of the highest quality and comfort, I somehow have managed to stay awake. “

“Listen here, you smart ass little punk! I could beat you senseless and claim you attacked me and they'd believe me before they believed you.”

“Well I would hate to have to beat you within an inch of your life for abusing your title to beat on a child,” warned Jack from behind the guard. “especially 2 weeks before your retirement. So I guess you won’t be doing that now, will you?”

“I guess not, Barry. You’re lucky I’m bout to retire otherwise I’d…..”

“Otherwise you'd what, Gary? Throw your dentures at me? Get the fuck outta here! Go eat some fucking prunes or something!“

Gary dropped the tray of slop on the little metal table in the cell while grumbling incoherently under his breath. Jack snatched the tray back up and handed it back to him. He then produced a McDonald’s bag from his back pack.

“Thanks again, Jack. You know, my dad had a best friend named Jack,” said Timmy as he began devouring the McDonald's.

“Your dad also had a son who was hit by a car 9 years ago, as you’ve already heard,” replied Jack.

“Yeah. I've heard, but it's not true, “ contested Timmy.

“Oh it’s true. The question is, are you him? And if so, how?”

“9 years ago is when I went to live with my dad! He always told me the day I asked to come live with him was the best day of his life,” Timmy was holding back tears and anger. “I thought you believed me! “

He stood up and tried hitting Jack several times. Jack blocked most of his attempts but a few got past his defenses. He grabbed Timmy in a bear hug in order to restrain him.

“I’m still in your corner, Timmy. Hear me out,” he reassured him. “Your father agreed to speak to me this evening. We've got about 10 minutes until he calls. Now in the meantime, let’s talk about a few things. “

“OK, what do you want to talk about?”

“Let's talk about Billie Johnston and Timmy Hurst and who they are.” Jack produced two photographs face down. Flipping over the first photograph he asked, “What’s this child’s name?”

Immediately Timmy responds, “Timmy Matthew Hurst, that's me. “

Flipping over the second photograph Jack asked, “What's this child's name?”

“I’m not sure, but I'm going to guess Billie.”

“That's correct, Billie Johnston. Now have you looked in the mirror today?”

Timmy was confused, “Well no. Why?”

“Here. Take a look. “

Jack hands Timmy a mirror. That's Billie in the mirror! But how?! Timmy started to get light headed and close to fainting.

“That's not me! That's Billie! I don’t understand! I'm Timmy, not Billie. “

Just then, Jack's phone rang. Now Jack got to find out the truth. Was this Billie or Timmy in Billie’s body? If its Timmy how and why? Is that even possible. Jack started to wonder if he was going to end up in a straight jacket before this was all over.

“Hello, Mr. Hurst.” Jack greeted Anthony

“You have 5 minutes. You said this was about Timmy. This is the third call I’ve had in 2 days about him. The first two were from a deranged boy claiming to be him. This better not be the same thing. “

Timmy had an idea. “We were in Shawn's basement when I asked you if I could live with you instead of mom. You would tell me that was the best day of your life. You did all Shawn's roof jobs by yourself. Anthony Jr shot me with a pellet gun right in between the eyes the day after your birthday, but 3 days before you got custody of me. Nightmare on Elm St is our favorite movie to watch together. In the NFL, there are only 2 important teams, the Chicago Bears and whoever plays against the Packers. Please…..please don’t hang up. I need you. “

Anthony was silent for a moment, but Timmy could hear the sniffles from his tears. How could this child know all that information? There's only one way….. it can't be….. how…..

“I never did get custody, Timmy.” Anthony told him. “you stayed at your mom’s for a couple days after the whole pellet gun incident. I was still going to win custody so I was trying to be nice. I went to pick you up the day before court just in time to see…to see….”

As Anthony was sobbing and trying to finish what he was saying Timmy started remembering something. He started remembering that day, being hit by that car while his mother was busy talking to another random guy. He remembered his father holding him, crying as Timmy grew weaker and the life left his body. He remembered the helicopter taking him to the hospital.

“I’m sorry I stopped coming so much, Timmy,” sobbed Anthony. “ I tried for 3 years, I came almost everyday and almost every time I had to deal with your mother and another new guy, and arguments, and constant anger and blaming each other. I didn't want the arguing to impede your healing. “

Now Timmy started to remember those visits and the arguments. Timmy knew his dad tried, but still wished he would have kept coming. Why didn't he just ignore her?

“I met Crystal after visiting you one day and I asked her to take extra special care of you. She let me know how you were doing. She told you what was going on with me. I know it's not the same, but I didn't know what else to do. “

Timmy remembered Crystal coming to see him multiple times everyday. He remembered her telling him about his father's wood shop. Now he understood the stories she would tell him. Timmy was now beginning to grow weak and tired.

“Dad, I forgive you,” Timmy forced himself to speak. “I need you, Dad. Please, I need to see you. I need……”

Timmy had fallen asleep. He dropped Jack's phone and slumped over onto the jail cell bed. Anthony began screaming Timmy's name in a panic. What happened?!

“Mr. Hurst, I suggest you go see your son asap.”

“Wasn’t I just talking to him? Where did he go?”

“Yes and no. It’s hard to explain. Just please, trust me and I'll explain everything later. “

Anthony hung up the phone in complete shock. How was this even possible? Is my boy ok? Maybe Crystal knew something Anthony didn't. He picked his phone up and called her.

“Hey,” she said as she answered her phone. She didn't sound like herself. She sounded like something was bothering her.

“Have you been in to see Timmy yet today,” he asked.

“No, I tried, but was denied access. Something is going on, Anthony. His mother is here with another new boyfriend. The doctor is with them and he seems….. more somber than usual. If I were you, I'd get down here. “

Anthony ran out the front door of his home and jumped into the beige Toyota that Timmy had earlier that week thought picked him up from school and sped off to see his son. Coming up to the first set of traffic lights, they turned red while he was still a good distance away. He didn't care. He flew through it barely missing a car. Every red light he came to was the same thing.

As he approached the facility, he slammed on his breaks to park the car taking up 3 parking spots. He ran in the door and past the front desk. He didn't make it very far as the doors to go back to the rooms were locked waiting for him to check in at the front desk. He spun around and made it halfway back to the desk.

“Timmy Hurst!” he yelled. “I’m his father, Anthony. I need to see him!”

The receptionist gave him an empathetic look, “Certainly, Mr. Hurst. His mother is back there now with the doctor.”

He hurried back to his son’s room and practically took the door off its hinges opening it. There were 3 people in the room; a doctor, Timmy's mother Tonya and a guy that Anthony assumed was with Tonya. He had hoped Crystal would be there waiting for him.

“What the hell is going on here?” Anthony demanded.

The doctor was the first to reply, “Glad you could make it, Mr. Hurst. As I'm sure she's already told you, Tonya has decided to end your son’s suffering. We’ve taken him off life support.”

“Bullshit! This bitch hasn’t told me a mother fucking thing. ” he turns to Tonya “you fucking worthless ass bitch. How could you do this to him? You couldn't stay off your back for one God damn weekend and look at my boy! He deserves better than….”

Suddenly, Timmy started choking and gagging. He grabbed and pulled the hoses out of his throat. He started trying to speak.

“Da……..da…”he coughs to try and clear his throat. “Dad! Thanks!”

“Baby!” screamed Tonya as she ran to his bed.

“No!” he said as he pushed her away. “Dad. I need Dad.”

“What do you mean you need Dad?!” she whined.

That’s when Timmy noticed it. His mother's outfit. She had on a pink miniskirt, camouflage sweatshirt, fishnet stockings and black combat boots 3 sizes too big. It was the same as the little girl's mother was wearing. That's not possible. No two complete strangers could have the same horrible taste in clothes. Confused, Timmy looked at his mother's male companion and it was Al. Then, he looked at the doctor, it was Officer Aacto. What the heck was going on? He turned towards his father for answers, his vision became blurry and could only see Jack standing there in his father's place.

“Billie?” Jack said. “is that you?”

“N-no,” Timmy replied. He looked around and he was back in the dark cell in the juvenile detention center. “It's still me, Timmy.”

“Damn! It didn't work. What happened? What did you see?”

“I was in a hospital room with my mom, some guy and a doctor. They were talking about ending my suffering and how she was doing ‘the right thing’ and my dad practically broke down the door coming in. My mom and dad were arguing and I woke up from my coma long enough to thank my dad. Then everything started to change. My mom was wearing the same horrible outfit the mom was wearing in the first place I woke up in; her boyfriend turned into the first guy that called my dad; the doctor turned into the police officer that helped me; and my dad……turned into you and then I was here. What's going on? Why is this happening?” Timmy sobbed.

“They were taking you off life support. “

“That's what they told my dad when he came in.”

Jack couldn't believe what he was hearing. If this is what was truly happening, it would change the way a lot of people view coma patients. Hell, it would change the way the world views our capabilities as human beings.

“The human mind is truly an amazing machine. That coupled with the human spirit and the sheer will to live and we can accomplish unimaginable feats.”

“What do you mean?” Timmy asked.

“ I think you overheard your mother talking about pulling the plug and taking you off life support. So you looked for any way possible to reach out to your father. I think your mind has been sending your spirit out to find that way through these other kids. But why these kids?”

Chapter 4

Back at the hospital, as Timmy slipped back into his coma, the 4 people in the room stood in shock, silent for a few moments. Anthony grabbed his son and held onto him with tears rolling down his face. Tonya began screaming and shouting as the doctor hit the “nurse call" button.

“What did you do to my baby, you piece of shit!?” she screamed at Anthony. “Call the police! He hurt my baby, his own son! Call the police!”

Anthony said nothing. He didn’t look at her, respond to her, or even acknowledge her. He just sat there silent, holding Timmy. That only angered her even more. She pulled her phone from her purse and left the room as she made a call.

Anthony now looked at the doctor. “What the hell has been going on here?”

“Well, Mr. Hurst,” the doctor answered slightly ashamed. “The boys mother, Ms. Pastor, has denied us the access to give him any further treatment. She stated it was time for everyone to move on.”

“And no one thought to fill me in about this?!” Barked Anthony.

“ Well your visits grew more and more infrequent and we no longer have your current contact information. We reached out to you several times, to no avail. She told us that the two of you had spoken in regards to this matter.“

“You're joking, right? You’ve seen how that woman acts. There isn’t an honest bone in her body.”

“So I'm going to assume that she didn't tell you she denied us permission to perform a revolutionary new operation that very well may save your son’s life and bring him out of his coma?”

“No! She didn't!” Anthony snapped.

Just then, the door flew open and in walked Tonya. She had her mother on the phone shouting obscenities about Anthony and 2 police officers by her side. This is the kind of drama that Timmy didn't need in his room.

“Arrest him!” Tonya shouted pointing at Anthony. “He hurt my baby!”

“He's done no such thing, “ the doctor defended Anthony.

“And he's brainwashed the doctor, “ accused Tonya's mother from the phone.

“Although he's a super intelligent guy, he's not capable of brainwashing “ said Crystal from right outside of the room. “However, Ms. Pastor here was withholding Mr. Hurst’s contact info in order to bypass him in important decision making regarding their son. She had just pulled the plug on Timmy’s life support when Mr. Hurst had arrived.

“Is that true, Ms. Pastor?” one officer asked.

“Does it matter? I'm the one who came here the most,” insisted Tonya.

“Yea, in order to pick up men, “ added Crystal.

The other officer now spoke, “Ms. Pastor, we’re going to have to take a ride downtown. “

They cuffed Tonya and escorted her out to their car. Anthony wasn't sure what the charges would be, but he was sure they'd be substantial enough that he wouldn't have to deal with her for a very long time. Now it's time to find out what's going on with his boy.

“Now Doc,” he says with a hopeful smile, “let’s talk about that operation. “

Chapter 5

Timmy wasn’t sure if it was safe to go to sleep yet. Would he wake up here, or back in the hospital? What was his father doing right now? Did he know Timmy was OK? When they tried to call him after his return to juvie, it kept going straight to voice mail. Hopefully, his dad didn't do something foolish and end up in jail because of his mother again.

Jack would return soon with a change of clothes and a plan to get him out of here without the other guards noticing. They would try caning him back then. Until then, he just wait patiently. It's not like he had many other options.

Timmy started thinking about all the memories he had with his father; all those times playing football in the front yard. Were they real, or were they all just his imagination that his mind created based on stories from his nurse, his dad's girlfriend? They felt so real.

“Sallie! Get up, lazy!” demanded a teenage boy.

Timmy opened his eyes abruptly and noticed he was in quite possibly the most comfortable bed he's ever been in. It had a baby blue comforter, crisp white sheets and 4 feather pillows all with matching baby blue pillow cases. The walls also painted a baby blue with a beige, sandy beach scene painted all around the bottom. The ceilings were painted with white fluffy clouds. He could smell salt water and….strawberry crepes.

He was a bundle of mixed emotions now. He was stuck in another kids life again, which appeared to be a girl named Sallie. Although, it seemed as though Sallie had it good. He could get used to this.

“Come on Sallie, let's go outside and go potty,” the teenage boy urged.

Outside? Potty? Just then, a tan and white, red nose pit puppy began licking Timmy's face and jumped out of bed. Sallie turned and barked at Timmy as if to ask him what he's waiting for.

“Will, you little piss ant, you have the energy to help me take Sallie for a walk?” Asked the teenager.

“How about I get some of them strawberry crepes first.” Timmy replied. “I'm hungry.”

“Strawberry crepes? You mean mom's candles? I mean, if you really want to, I guess you could eat those. I thought Mama said you were going to lose your appetite.”

“Lose my appetite? Why would I lose my…..” Timmy didn't finish his question. He glanced in the mirror atop the wicker dresser. He saw a young boy with no hair, black circles around his eyes and sunken cheeks from eating little to no food in weeks. Timmy knew that boy. He was all over the news lately. He was the Vice President’s son. He was …..

“You know, you're right,” Timmy said with a heavy heart. “I’m not hungry. Let's take Sallie out for a walk. “

Chapter 6

Driving down Interstate 69, on his way back to the detention center, Jack tried calling Anthony and got voice mail again… He had reassured Timmy that the hospital had made Anthony turn his phone off while inside. They couldn't leave a voice mail, as it was full. The hospital wouldn't let them know if he was there , let alone talk to him. HIPAA regulations wouldn't even allow them to leave messages for him. Hopefully he turns his phone on when he goes out for a cigarette or leaves.

Once Jack got back to Timmy's solitary confinement cell he had a bag of brand new clothes for him. Hopefully, his plan to get Timmy out of there would work. If it didn’t, he'd end up unemployed and in jail himself. He opened the door to see the boy had fallen asleep. That was a brave move on his part. They hadn't figured out what would happen if he did. What if he went someplace else?

“Timmy….. Timmy wake up, “ ordered Jack as he shook the child in order to wake him. “Timmy…”

There was no response so Jack continued to shake him, but a little harder this time. “How about Billie? Is Billie here?”

After several attempts without a single response, shrug, moan or groan, Jack checked for a pulse. Just as he feared, no pulse. Jack immediately called for help and began CPR.

“Not on my watch,” Jack demanded as he frantically performed the life saving techniques.

The juvenile detention center’s emergency first responders soon arrived and took over. They were relentless in their attempts to bring the boy back. Jack could now only sit back and watch.

Chapter 6

As Timmy and the other boy walked the section of beach with the hyper pitbull puppy, secret service agents kept close to protect the boys. Although it's nice to have such heavy protection, it's going to make contacting his father and getting back home difficult. Can he ever get home? He’s starting to figure out what is happening, but he still didn't know why or if it would ever stop.

Timmy had 3 obstacles in front of him preventing him from contacting his father. #1. Timmy had no phone of his own. #2. This older boy he assumed was the Vice President’s oldest son and Will's brother, Mike. #3. These 2 secret service agents.

Once he got his dad on the phone, how would he explain that he was actually the Vice President’s son? How would he explain everything that's been going on when he hardly knew himself? Once that's all figured out, what do they do from there?

Jack! He seemed to have a grasp of this insanity. Somehow, he seemed to be figuring out what was going on. One problem……he didn't know Jack's phone number. His dad would.

Now who's phone was he going to use? How was he going to get rid of Mike and these muscle head body guards. It didn't take long before Timmy was developing a plan.

“Hey turd,” the older boy said breaking the silence. “I know I give you a lot of shit, but I want to let you know that I do love you. It's been a pleasure having you as a younger brother. You’ve really been putting up a good fight; a better fight than I could have. I'm proud of you. You know, I'm really going to miss you.”

Timmy didn't even know either of these boys and that hit him deep. He even caught himself letting a tear or two escape. I hope Will was somehow still able to hear that.

He gave Mike a huge hug. The hug caused Mike to start to cry a little. Then the two secret service men even let a few tears roll down their cheeks. At that point, they only one not letting the tears flow was Sallie, the puppy. Sallie, just sat and looked at them like they were all bat shit crazy.

“Are we all a bunch of girls?” joked Timmy. “Standing around crying. “

“Crying? Who’s crying?” asked Mike.

“Not me!” Timmy turned to one of the secret service agents, “Are you crying?”

The agent replied, “No sir. It was him, sir. “ pointing at the other agent.

“It wasn’t me, sir,” denied the other. “It was the dog, Sallie.”

Sallie gave out a little whine, laid down in the sand, and covered her face with her left paw. She wagged her tail and let out a little bark. Now was Timmy's chance.

“Hey, Mike, can I ask you for a huge favor?” asked Timmy.

“Sure, turd. What is it?”

“I'm thirsty, but not ready to go back in yet. Could you run and grab me a drink?”

“Sure. “

Timmy knew that one of the secret service agents would have to go with Mike, leaving him alone with the other. He’d try and convince the other to let him use his phone. Hopefully, the agent that stays back with him will have a soft spot for the sick boy.

“Excuse me, sir, can I now ask you a favor?” Timmy asked him. “Do you have a cell phone I could possibly use”

“I’m not supposed to do that, sir,” responded the agent.

Now what was he going to do? Timmy was starting to get really upset with all of this. There was constantly one obstacle after the other. Every time he overcame one, or at least thought he did, there was another two waiting for him. When would he catch a break?

“However, your brother was right,” the agent continued. “You have been putting up one hell of a fight. I'm proud of you, too. Please, be quick and don't make me regret this.”

The agent unlocked his phone and handed it to Timmy. He quickly dialed his father's number. Timmy heard “Hollow" by Pantera playing while waiting for it to connect. It was finally ringing instead of going straight to voice mail.

Chapter 7

Crystal drove herself and Anthony home from the hospital, against his many objections. Neither one of them said a word to each other from the moment they got into the car. She understood why he didn't want to leave. It had been 6 months since he’d seen Timmy. Add what happened yesterday and she’s surprised he hasn't lost his mind completely.

The silence was broken by the ringing of Anthony’s phone. He looked at the caller ID and it said “private number". He hit the ignore button and set the phone down.

His phone rang again and it was a private number once again. He, again, hit the ignore button. The 3rd time it rang and he ignored the call, Crystal became visibly frustrated.

“Why aren't you answering your phone?” She asked. “Whoever it is really wants to talk to you.”

“Private number. You know I hate that shit.”

“What if it has something to do with Timmy? What if it IS Timmy?”

Anthony never told her about the 3rd phone call. He had never told her that he spoke to Timmy on the phone. As far as he was concerned, he didn't. It was a bad joke and a huge coincidence that Tonya just so happened to have pulled the plug at the same time.

“What are you talking about?! Timmy is in a fucking coma! It ain’t him! It can't be! It's physically impossible!” He insisted.

“Physically impossible, maybe. Spiritually impossible, however? I beg to differ. You mean to tell me you didn't speak to him on the phone prior to the incident at the hospital?”

“You know I don't believe in that bullshit!”

“You don’t have to believe in it; it still happened. Didn’t it?”

Anthony sat in silence, chewing the inside of his left cheek and began tapping his right foot going progressively faster. He looked away from Crystal and began fighting back tears. His phone continued to ring while Anthony continued to hit the ignore button.

“Anthony, you should answer your phone. As much as he's calling, you know who it is.”

His phone still continued to ring. He still continued to hit the ignore button.

“No! Timmy is in the hospital. It ain't him"

Again the phone rang, but this time Crystal stopped him from hitting the ignore button.

“Timmy needs you, Anthony. Answer it!”

Anthony finally tried to answer the phone but it was too late. The call stopped. That's ok. He’d call back. He's already called how many times?

The phone was silent. Anthony missed his chance. Now what?

“How did you know?” Anthony sobbed. “What’s going on?”

Chapter 8

Timmy kept calling his father, but continued getting sent to his voice mail. He didn’t understand. Why didn't his father answer his phone? Maybe he didn't know it was him. If he knew it was Timmy, his father would answer for sure.

“Thank you, sir.,” Timmy told the agent before handing the phone back to him. Suddenly, the agent’s phone rang and the caller ID read Harris County Juvenile Detention Center. Timmy was just there! Jack! He could call Jack there!

“Agent Johnston,” the agent said as he answered his phone. A look of devastation overtook his face. “Oh my God! Are you sure?!”….(indistinct chattering on the other end of the phone) “When will you know?”……(more indistinct chatted)…… Thank you.”

Agent Johnston hung up the phone and wiped away a solitary tear. Timmy could tell the agent was extremely upset, but was able to maintain his composure. He wondered what happened .

“Is everything OK, Agent Johns…ton?” Timmy asked as he was realizing something. This agents last name was Johnston. Timmy was just in Billie Johnston’s life in the same juvenile detention center that just called the agent and gave him some bad news. Could they be related somehow?

Timmy could hear Mike’s voice calling to Sallie. He couldn't ask to use the agent’s phone anymore. He have to find another way.

“Agent Savage,” Johnston called to his partner. “I need to step away and make s phone call.”

“10-4.” Savage replied. He turned to the boys, “Hey guys, ever see a homemade katana made using a grinder?” He took his phone out and began showing them pictures.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.