Horror logo

Things I'm Passionate About Part 12

A Brent Salmon Memoir

By Brent SalmonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Things I'm Passionate About Part 12
Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

Part 12 of my passionate series of planned writing!

1. Publishing Books

One of the angles I’ve tried to experiment with as a side hustle since becoming crippled was creating books. Print on demand stuff through Amazon’s KDP service. It’s fun, it’s free, and anyone can do it. Do some research, make some books, (custom journals, puzzle books, game books, notebooks, logs for different subjects etc.), do some advertising and build a following, and let the passive money roll in through your own promotion and Amazon’s organic traffic ranking. It has worked really well for me so far and I encourage other people to learn about it and try it if you want to have some new ways to monetize your passions or businesses and side hustles. I’ve started a whole publishing company with its own site and everything and have been growing it from there. It’s still a work in progress but you can check it out here: http://nightbladepress.com

My friends tell me the name makes me very much an “edge lord”, but I don’t care, I think it’s a sweet name and very badass.

2. Lovecraft

I’ve loved the works of HP Lovecraft as far back as I can recall. Existential cosmic horror was an interest of mine before I even knew that was a thing. The idea that we might all just be a dream or a simulation, or able to be winked from existence as if we never were and never mattered is truly fascinating and terrifying. But only to the human ego that can conceive such things. That’s why I love Lovecraft’s works. He’s spawned many countless projects in other medias as well as other authors of works related to his or placed in the same universe. I plan to write about Lovecraft and his works the way I write about other pop-culture; reviews of characters, influences etc. Ideas gotten from the stories and how they might even tie into reality. I’d even like to review movies, shows, and games that are either directly inspired by his work or at least give regular nods to it in homage. It’s also in the public domain now so pretty much anyone can use it in any way to express their art or make their living, or both. We even publish some of his works in our publishing company too.

3. Rum

I’ve been trying to keep these subjects related for the last few of them in these articles, but I think it’s fair to put rum in any article featuring HP Lovecraft, especially since Kraken like creatures feature so prominently in his works and Kraken is also one of my favorite types of rum. SHUSH rum snobs, I like it okay?! I love rum; it along with Tequila are “my” drinks, on those semi-rare occasions I drink alcohol. I’d like to start writing articles about the different rums I enjoy and try, and the different stories I have to tell about them and have had happened to me while I was under their influence. There are some good ones. I’d also like to discuss some of my favorite and more famous rum connoisseurs and the different origin stories of different rum and their brands. Finally, I’d like to discuss drink recipes involving rums and my experiences with those and even meal pairings. Yes, you can pair meals with rum like you do with wine. It’s just a little different and arguably of a different class of sophistication.

That was the end of part 12! Tune in tomorrow for lucky 13!

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Brent Salmon

Dad, Dog Dad, wannabe polyglot, amateur engineer of all the things, pre-med biologist, medic, psych major, ex trauma-counsellor, programmer, artist, serial entrepreneur, occasional cyborg, and now, writer.

Facebook

Instagram

YouTube

Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.